We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice rude management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #93 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Elsie. The manager here needs to go to hospitality school she was so worried about the bottom line she forgot that customers are the bottom line. Breakfast if there is any out after 845 was the same thing for three days the milk was always warm and if there was any yogurt. There wrere only a few.the pool was filthy they said they cleaned it everyday I watched till the pool opened Friday no one.Saturday. no one.Monday no one.the staff here tries to help bit they are affraid to.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usdantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear usdantravler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is great and is conveniently located next to I-5, I-805, and about 10 minutes from I-15.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so delighted to hear that you thought our hotel was “great!” We strive to work hard in providing well maintatined rooms as well as exceptional quality service so we are glad that you took notice, As you mentioned, we are located just minutes away from our major freeways, making it very convenient for our guests to get to San Diego’s famous attractions. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for spring break and loved it. At first we thought the pool was a little small, but because it was so clean and warm my kids were in it constantly. Same with the hot tub. Breakfast was they typical fair, but always kept stocked. Even the TV was porn free, which is often not the case for this franchise. Staff was very friendly, and there is plenty of eating options very close by (and a Chili's accross the parking lot). The place seemed new, and well kept. Very close to all the San Diego attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are very delighted to hear that we are a “great place and great for kids.” As you mentioned, we have a pool and whirlpool at our property and are so happy that your kids took advantage of it. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms as well providing exceptional quality service so we are extremely satisfied to hear that our staff was “very friendly.” Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and letting other travelers know about your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Clean & quiet rooms. Great location, employees, breakfast, and best of all,...a GREAT pool that was heated and very clean. There's a Chili's restaurant in the parking lot. I highly recommend this property for all your San Diego plans. Only a few minutes to downtown and the Zoo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are very pleased to hear that we are a “great hotel!” As you mentioned, we do offer a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast, as well a heated pool and are glad that you took advantage of these amenities. We are also fortunate to be in a great location, just minutes away from Downtown and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms and exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento and letting other travelers know about your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My stay was OK but two areas that I was extremely disappointed with were the breakfast and environmental consciousness:

1. Breakfast: The food was very low quality and if you are vegetarian/vegan, there is absolutely nothing you can eat except for bread and a banana.

2. Environment: All the plates, cups, and utensils for both breakfast and in the rooms are all styrofoam or plastic and not recyclable. In the rooms, each cup and plate are also individually packaged in plastic bags. The environmental footprint of these hotels must be staggering. This was shocking to myself and others.

That said, I do agree with other reviewers that the front desk and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanc0uver-BC-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Vanc0uver-BC-Canada,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to meet your expectation.

We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the breakfast and the environment being set. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve our services through our guest feedback.

We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,
Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Ester or Bella at the front desk, Elisa the GM, great property. Stayed here two nights this month already. Clean, spacious rooms. Great free breakfast. Fair value, good location. Make sure you get a room that the bathroom for doesn't open toward the main entrance of the room, makes for tricky departure sometimes. Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: 211 is at the end of the hall next to the ice machine, ask to be on the other end....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sully94534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are pleased to hear that your room was “clean and spacious.” As you mentioned, we do offer a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast, and we are glad that you took advantage of that. We are also happy to hear that you thought our property was a fair value and that it was a good location. We pride in striving in providing exceptional quality service and we are delighted to hear that, Ester, Bella Elisa, and the rest of our staff was no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you in the future during your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during March, 2012. We travel to San Diego often and decided to try a hotel away from the downtown area. The Sorrento area is just minutes away from downtown San Diego, but is also close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla. We were happy with our choice.
The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and even though our room faced Lusk Street, it was very quiet. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare. The pool was kind of small, but the kids using it seemed to be having lots of fun! My only complaint about our room on the fourth floor was that we couldn't open the window. This necessitated turning on the air conditioning unit, which was noisy. Also, the chair in the "business area" needs to be replaced. It's like sitting in a hole!

One of our favorite excursions while visiting San Diego was a visit to the wineries in Temecula, which we reached via Highway 78, traveling through the little town of Ramona, famous for avocado and citrus orchards, wine grape production, and the most delicious cinnamon rolls I ever eaten at The Ramona Cafe.
If you love visiting gardens, you must see the San Diego Botanical Garden, located in Encinitas. It's a very restful garden with lovely California native plants, magnificent palms, and huge bamboo groves. For the kids there's a large interactive children's garden that's fun for adults too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are away from the road. Windows on the fourth floor don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idahotraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you “were happy with your choice.” We are fortunate to be in a central location that is, as you mentioned just minutes away from many of San Diego’s well known sights such as Downtown San Diego, La Jolla as well as SeaWorld and glad you were able to visit a few of those places. We do strive in providing quality guest services and are glad you took notice that “our rooms are clean and our staff are nice.” We also appreciate your bringing your concerns to our attention as they help us in better servicing our rooms and amenities to our guests in the future. We thank you again for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are happy you enjoyed what San Diego has to offer and look forward to you visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#67 of 278 in San Diego
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
27.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
5.7 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#18 of 278 in San Diego
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $117 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing