We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location and hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great location and hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A very clean and nice hostel. The rooms are great with a privacy divider means that you never have to fight for a powerpoint !! KItchen and amenities are sufficient and clean. Was a little quiet when we were there but I can imagine the atmosphere would be fantastic when its full ! I would definitely stay here again. Price from memory was also pretty fair for a 6 bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    176
    54
    24
    9
See reviews for
12
45
237
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for six nights in this hostel, it got a good location in the older part of town. Lots of nice restaurants, bars, clubs and shops in the area.. Close to busstops and trolleystops.. Airport bus stops just a couple of blocks away.
The hostel is always clean and staff is very friendly and helpful with anything.. Breakfast is alright, very basic but better than nothing..
It's quiet at night and they arrange things every night if you feel like hanging out with the rest of the guests. Overall we had a great stay and i'd definitely stay there again!!!

Do NOT go on their Tijuana-tour though!! It costs 19 dollars to come and they say it's like a tour of Tijuana by night.. The trolleyride returntrip is FIVE dollars if you go on your own, not sure where the other 15 dollars went.. The guide just lead the way to bars and clubs, she wasn't really telling us anything about Tijuana itself and were making out with her boyfriend pretty much all night.. Also, she made us pay through her and we had to tip a certain amount which she took the half of..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here a few days and had an awesome time!
The small hostel, hidden between buildings in the very cool Gaslamp neighborhood is very comfortable and cosy, makes you feel just like home. The rooms were small, which meant not so many people in one room. Had some very fun roommates and made good friends with them.
Only the bathroom was a little far away from our room.
Everywhere carpet, plants and couches to chill out, a really cool kitchen and of course the typical USA hostel breakfast pancakes.
Made an amazing and fun tour to Tijuana with a cool group of people and AWESOME staff, was a great night, will never forget this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's the first time I'd been to San Diego, so was unfamiliar with the city. I'm happy to have had a pleasant experience with USA Hostels, SD. I stayed for 4 nights, the first 2 I stayed in a private room (had my own mini fridge and tv). It like my privacy but think this kind of room would be perfect for two friends travelling together. The following 2 nights, I decided to be more sociable, so moved to a 6 person dorm room.

Wow! I love meeting and chatting to fellow travellers of all ages :-) other than waking from snorers (yep next time I'll invest in ear plugs), the room was clean, safe (lockers provided - bring your own padlock) and homely. There was a great atmosphere to the place - staff were helpful, friendly, breakfast provided of a morning. Bathrooms are separate and unisex but that didn't bother me as they were CLEAN!! Hairdryers at hand too.

Activities were available but unfortunately I was jammed pack seeing other things. Buy tickets for Sea World or the zoo from staff (cheaper than at the gate). Lots of info is at reception, if unsure, ask :-)

The location is great - right in the midst of restaurants and bars. The airport isn't too far away either, nor is the train station (though it's a fair walk).

It's affordable. A place I would stay at again if there. I hear the front rooms are noisy, so my advice is to ask for a back room :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ailecSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location in middle of gaslight district handy to bars, restaurants, supermarkets etc. Booked private room which was a bit on the small side for 3 of us, but very clean and no queuing for showers or toilets. Did Tijuana Saturday afternoon/night tour - lots of fun

Room Tip: no a/c only downside in 100 heatwave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic Hostel on so many levels. Here are the highlights:

- clean, clean, clean - the staff is constantly cleaning the entire hostel. Feels so clean throughout

- great beds - the beds are comfy and offer u privacy from your chest/neck up. Plus each bed has it's own power outlet and reading light.

- industrial style kitchens with sharp knives. Gas burners, knives that actually cut!

- great free breakfast. Pancakes, fruits, bagels

- location, location, location - literally in the middle of all the downtown action.

Downside?

If there were a downside it's the simple fact that it's not located on the beach. Getting to the popular Mission/Pacific/La Jolla beaches is between 30 - 60 minutes on public transit. BUT for me it worked perfect as I prefer coming back downtown after going to the beach so as I had options for places to go downtown.

Anyhow, if you're debating whether to book at least feel safe that you just can't make a mistake reserving with USA Hostel San Diego.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff were friendly and the hostel was very clean. There was a good breakfast and lots of public spaces for such a small hostel. This is a great place if you want to party all night but avoid if you need to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob5440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Property: USA Hostels San Diego
Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing