We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My friend and i stayed here for 2 nights, and there was nothing to complain about. The location is perfect, walking distance to the harbor and balboa park. And restaurants, bars and clubs just around the corner. The rooms are clean, and the beds okay, every bed has its own shelf and socket. There are some kind of social activity every day, like taco-tuesday, pubcrawl etc. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 676 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hostel is awesome! I was supposed to be there for 4 nights and ended up staying 10. Really enjoyed my time here, great social area - common room and dining room were great for meeting people. The staff were fab, getting to know the guests and coming partying with us. There were activities on every day including a trip to Tijuana over the border in mexico :) the dorms were comfortable and safe with lockers under each bed, reading lights and swipe keys. Love this place! Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Love the bed area, with personal light, wall socket and shelf... Felt like I had my own personal space. Stayed in the room next to the lounge, was a little noisy, but if your a heavy sleeper, you'll be fine... Overall enjoyed my stay, felt safe the whole time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good place to stay with exceptionally helpful staff.

Rooms are pretty nice with bunk beds each having their own light and power outlets. Fully equipped kitchen (curfew at 11p though) and free all you can make pancake breakfast with fruit and bread. Free coffee and tea all day.

Noisy if you get room facing 5th Ave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Dorm room was great with individual light, socket, shelf etc for every bed.

Clean and comfortable.

Good shower room.

Good pancake breakfast.

One staff member was pretty rude - which puts a downer on the place, but apart from that would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Guys, this is a hostel so expect a young lively atmosphere and shared facilities & not a hotel room at 2-3 times the price.

That said, we had a 'private double' room. It's cosy with mini fridge for supplies, complimentary water and (not clear in their website) there are towels for private rooms (no towels for dorm shared rooms though).

Be prepared for no windows for private rooms as they are all internal rooms. Initially a downer & disconcerting but once you realise only the dorm rooms that look to the street or back ally have windows you'll be thankful for being spared from street noise which is high during summer. It made for a super quiet setting, albeit airless but turn fan on low, its ok - in my humble opinion.

It's WAY better than the other hostel that sold itself as a hotel at 500 West on W Broadway, as these guys at USA Hostel are up front it is a hostel style.

Accept that hostel atmosphere and it's really good value in peak summer (ok so I had to book 10 months in advance)

You're here to be out & about, not stay indoors. Quiet rules betwee 11pm-7am.

Staff friendly & helpful.

Two warnings: there's 2-3 flights of steep stairs & no lifts, so don't have super heavy luggage. You have to carry it up & down b) Americanism: says 'shared Bath'. Its not, it's shared bathROOM, ie men & women in same toilets and showers (only) blocks, all with locks though.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpenmindedAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The vibe here was great - it's nice to stay at a hostel where newcomers are made to feel welcome when they first arrive.
The location couldn't be any better - bang in the middle of the Gaslamp and easy walking distance to majority of San Diego's sites.
The private rooms are clean, comfortable and have a few extras like a fridge, tv and lockers. The mattress was new and comfy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#72 of 286 in San Diego
914 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 66 in San Diego
565 reviews
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#3 of 66 in San Diego
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $34 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing