We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, housekeeping not tops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, housekeeping not tops”
Reviewed February 24, 2006

I stayed at the Hilton Gaslamp for nearly 3 weeks while on a business trip. Overall, this was a good hotel. I was however disappointed by housekeeping. The second day of my trip, I dropped some cake crumbs on the carpet and they were still there when I left. It's not that they were somewhere hidden in a corner, but really in plain sight. The bathroom was always cleaned, but I didn't always get replacements for the towels that were taken away. The Fitness Center is a little bit small and generally crowded in the morning, but at least it's free. Only 3 treadmills! The location is great, the hotel is right at the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter and opposite the convention center. During large conventions, it tends to get really crowded and very noisy. There are huge gaps under the door, so ask for a corner room which is nowhere close to the elevator and less people walk by. If you are a light sleeper, be aware that the train tracks cross right in front of the hotel, and there are frequent cargo trains during the night, always honking (I never understood why they need to honk at 3am). Staff at reception was generally helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JulieMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    669
    270
    107
    54
See reviews for
244
522
104
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2005

I stayed here for a buisness trip. I saw the $5 bottle of water by the coffee maker. Never touched it due to the outrageous price. One month later a $5 charge appeared on my credit card. Hotel wouldn't change it. Nice looking place, but not very professional. Be careful...and be sure to check your credit card statement.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Plantgirlmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Chief Concierge at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 15, 2006
This guest's experience is clearly an isolated incident and is not indicative of our high service standards. If the guest would like to contact me directly at mdenton@hiltongaslamp.com, I would be happy to ensure that their account is credited for the bottle of water that they did not use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2005

This is a very nice hotel situated in the heart of San Diego, minus the traffic and noise. I spent here 2 nights and I really enjoyed it. My room, at the 8th floor, was clean, large and well furnished. The bed was comfortable and the bedding first quality. I did not eat in the hotel, so I can't speak about the food, too many great choices near by. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a very nice hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Bibescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Great position for exploring San Diego. We combined it with a stay in the Mission Bay area. Ignore the comments about not taking children - the hotel was very kid-friendly, concierges helpful etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank helr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

After reading through all the reviews on this hotel, I was skeptical. My husband and I spent one night at the Hilton and wished we had stayed more!! The location cannot be beat - right next to all the action of the Gaslamp but far enough away to not be loud. We were there the weekend of the Padres and Chargers playing at home and had no problems with noise. My only slight complaint is that the concierge was less than helpful in finding great places to eat. Fortunately, we are adventurous and just wandered around until we found something - and we had tons of choices!!! I would definitely stay here again in the future!!!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

My husband and I have traveled to San Diego many, many times and usually stay at the beach. We decided this time we would try something different. We found this hotel on priceline and only paid $100 a night for this hotel. It is tough to argue with the location or decor of this hotel. The area is great, the lobby is modern and elegant and the rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. We had a king room and found it was good sized and the bathroom was large. The only problem was that you could hear everything from the hallway in the room. It was so bad that the second night my husband shoved an extra blanket under the door so that the sound would be muffled a bit.

I was surprised to hear that others did not find the staff to be rude. I stood at the front desk for almost five minutes, alone, waiting to check-in while the staff talked between themselves. We were given a very nice room, and the bar tender was very nice when we went down for a drink in the evening. However, the next morning I went to the front desk looking for a newspaper and the man there told me to go across the street while an entire stack of newspapers sat next to him! I couldn't believe it. The whole feeling of the hotel is very snotty, and although the building is gorgeous, the people and service left a lot to be desired. For the price, given the San Diego market, it still is a good deal, but we did not have a very good feeling the time we were there.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Vagabond23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

My wife and I chose the Hilton because of its great downtown location for our recent trip to celebrate our first anniversary. It is close to many restaurants, shops and a short and very convenient drive to the famous San Diego zoo (a must see). The staff were always willing to help us with recommendations to quality dining in the Gaslamp District and always gave us an overview of things to see and do. An excellent choice is Lou and Micky's next door. We at first were reserved in a room in the tower on the executive floor (12th) but found ourselves upgraded to one of the rooms in the four story Enlcave. The rooms were very nicely decorated (ours had a balcony), quiet and you need a key to get into this section. My wife particulary loved the king size bed that was very comfortable and the large oversized bathroom. We would definitely return to the Hilton in Gas Lamp again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BusTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,196 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing