We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #73 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great location in Gaslamp district of San Diego. Staff was extremely helpful. Because my room was not ready when I arrived after 3:00 PM, I was given a $20 credit to use in the dining room or to apply to my bill. Very pleasant and accommodating staff....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall -- Great location across from the convention center but the bathtub could be cleaner. The light bulb was out in one of the lamps. More attention to detail. Internet should be offered free of charge especially for all HHonors customers. Staff was cordial but no one really went out of their way to accommodate customers. The breakfast bar is a bit pricey. Need to consider a lower cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank t2dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mctigup, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Gaslamp. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take it to heart to ensure future guests have a more positive experience.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I should start out by saying this: I hate to be nickled and dimed. I'm fine paying for upgrades and 5 star places and even ridiculously overpriced popcorn at the movie theater, but I hate it when I am ambushed into paying for things. Like what you ask? Parking fees will piss me off every time. The same goes for "facility use" fees and extra charges for room service on top of a crazy high tip that's automatically added in and this place has all of those things. I think I can chalk it up to the fact that this place is mainly business travel oriented and so the folks coming and going don't bother fighting the silly expenses because it's not on their dime. Still...don't say I didn't warn you when you see the mandatory valet at $40+ per night.

Having said that, when I checked in and my reservation couldn't be found (thank you to Southwest's "Jackpot" Deals, which aren't) the front desk staff were awesome and really helpful. Checked me in without batting an eye or charging anything extra. They were helpful, personable and capable - loved that. Everyone I ran into at this place was pretty great and mostly helpful with a nice attitude, right down to the probably underpaid valet who was forced to face people pissed off at the outrageous charge every time a car pulled up. Would I prefer to give the $40 to that guy? Absolutely.

Still, decent place, very convenient to the convention center, very clean and nice staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParadiseAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great place to stay, but request a room on the opposite side of the property away from the tracks. The trains run all night and are extremely loud. If you are staying in the GasLamp Quarter, it is a very convenient place to stay, with walking access to the downtown restaurants and bars. It is also close to the trolly line with access to the maritime museum and Old Town San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Typical of any pet friendly hotel, it had a hint of urine aroma. Especially in the hallways. The website is misleading as to what is included and what is an additional charge. Location is close to Gas Lamp and Convention Center. Many homeless people hangout in front near the jogging trail. TV channels are limited to the basics. I guess if you travel a lot, and have the "honors" card, you're taken care of a little better. If you travel occasionally, you get penalized. Much like the airlines.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have not actually stayed there but my girlfriend he was from out-of-town is staying there tonight. Let me just say that the concierge absolutely delivered the highest quality service imaginable. I was literally floored at the concierge's willingness to cater to my every need. Doing things that were so unexpected that I didn't even think to ask of, he just asked me if it was okay if he did that.
The concierge went way out of his way to deliver a birthday gift for my girlfriend who was staying there for me. Bravo, great job, you guys are the best. Thank you so much for making my girlfriends birthday a very memorable one. And making me look like a knight in shining armor.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just a one night stay, in town for a wedding, but was startled by the great atmosphere of the gas lamp quarter in San Diego and this hotel had very good accommodations at a very good price for a hotel in a major US city.

I have no complaints about this place at all, and would suggest that if you're looking for a decent rate and a location near the gas lamp quarter this would make a fine selection. It was a large hotel, and we were only there for one night, so we didn't really get a chance to explore, but I walked around it once before check out in the morning and it seemed to be tied to a couple of restaurants and was an easy walk into the energetic gas lamp quarter. I think it's at the end of one of the rows, possibly the Hard Rock hotel was right 'behind' it. I liked staring at that convention center across the way...a good looking place IMO.

I would stay here again if I didn't have time to explore some other options. I would love to explore this city a bit, but for my only night in town, we made a good choice picking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,185 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#29 of 286 in San Diego
5,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $177 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing