We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have not actually stayed there but my girlfriend he was from out-of-town is staying there tonight. Let me just say that the concierge absolutely delivered the highest quality service imaginable. I was literally floored at the concierge's willingness to cater to my every need. Doing things that were so unexpected that I didn't even think to ask of, he just asked me if it was okay if he did that.
The concierge went way out of his way to deliver a birthday gift for my girlfriend who was staying there for me. Bravo, great job, you guys are the best. Thank you so much for making my girlfriends birthday a very memorable one. And making me look like a knight in shining armor.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just a one night stay, in town for a wedding, but was startled by the great atmosphere of the gas lamp quarter in San Diego and this hotel had very good accommodations at a very good price for a hotel in a major US city.

I have no complaints about this place at all, and would suggest that if you're looking for a decent rate and a location near the gas lamp quarter this would make a fine selection. It was a large hotel, and we were only there for one night, so we didn't really get a chance to explore, but I walked around it once before check out in the morning and it seemed to be tied to a couple of restaurants and was an easy walk into the energetic gas lamp quarter. I think it's at the end of one of the rows, possibly the Hard Rock hotel was right 'behind' it. I liked staring at that convention center across the way...a good looking place IMO.

I would stay here again if I didn't have time to explore some other options. I would love to explore this city a bit, but for my only night in town, we made a good choice picking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel has great staff who really do make an effort to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. As for those who complain about the train noises: did you look at a map when you booked your hotel? It's right next to a port and train yard, the noises should not surprise you at all.

So, why 3 stars? A few things: no refrigerator in the rooms; no fans or good means of circulating air; no means of creating ambient noise to deal with the train noise; and charges for internet service.

We had just stayed at a smaller local hotel that was able to provide a small breakfast, bottled water, a small happy hour on Friday and Saturday and included Wi-Fi service in the room charge. How is it that a massive chain like Hilton can't provide at least a few of these small amenities, but a small, local hotel can? This is a failing not just of Hilton, but most major chains. It was frustrating to see that there had once been a refrigerator, but it was removed. Sometimes, you want to put food in the refrigerator, have a piece of fruit, etc., especially when you are on the road for a long time.

On the plus side, this hotel is very conveniently located in the Gaslamp by the Convention Center and Trolley, above a popular dog-exercise area, there is coffee in the morning, there are ample computers and wi-fi in the lobby and the staff are very helpful. Also, nice outdoor seating and bar areas.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel if train noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is close to all of the places we wanted to go to. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. There are many restaurants in the area to choose from. The only thing we were missing was the pay per view movies in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The train nearby is noisy and I can hear the train go by. This kept me up all night. Valet Parking is too high and self parking is too far from the hotel. Otherwise the rooms are clean and the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We loved the hilton gaslamp. Perfect location, and very friendly front desk staff. Any time again! You can reach everything in walking distance. Great nightlife and you can watch the sunset down at the Sea in just a couple of minutes. Coffee Bean & Tea leaf coffee in the room :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XxMonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sadly only stayed for 1 night wish it was more,We arrived by train at Santa Fe station and hopped on a "peddacab" not sure where the hotel was but could have walked it in 10-15 mins.
It is right at the start of the gaslamp quarter, opposite the convention centre, the Hard Rock Hotel and the baseball ground. Seaport and USS Medway are within 15-20 mins walk. There are numerous bars and restaurants in walking distance.
The check in was very easy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed sitting in the outside bar having a drink by the gas fire pit watching the world go by, we didn't try the restaurant or breakfast because of the great choice on your doorstep.
Our room on the 8th floor had a great city view and was comfortable and spacious.
We must point out that we saw many homeless people on the streets and some indeed around the hotel which is always sad but in no way are they a threat and not intrusive. We wouldn't hesitate in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulntrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $107 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing