We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
891
776
308
129
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
776
308
129
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centergaslamp quartergreat locationloft roompetco parktrain tracksvalet parkinglight railgas lampwithin walking distanceper nightthe hard rock hoteldirectly across the streettwo blocksrestaurants and barstrolley stopfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed here, due to other hotels being full, so we gave it a try. Like a number of other hotels, parking is a costly addition to the bill. However, the convenience of the location to the gaslamp restaurants makes it all worthwhile

I had a great room overlooking the front. Although the room was provided with earbuds on the bedside table, which was initially disconcerning, but these were never needed. Attentive staff and clean rooms.

In summary, good hotel, and didnt disappoint. Would book again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

As soon as we checked in the receptionist was very kind and helpful. We were new to that area and she provided us with a map and her opinion of the best places around the hotel. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel was also in a great location. We were able to walk to the bars and restaurants there. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jazmin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel was very nice, clean and large room. It is very noisy as other posts have mentioned.
However, parking is $41 per day for valet, and that is the only option! This should be mentioned on the websites when booking as that is a very large added cost to your stay.
Would not stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Hilton SD/Gaslamp is a nice enough hotel.

But it was hell staying there on a weekend. There were drunk, horrible people ranting and raving in the hall until nearly 4 am. We called down about one particularly disruptive party, and I heard the security guard in the elevator area dismissing the complaint.

Outside, there'd been a drunk girl screaming at her friend and collapsing in the driveway over and over. This went on for more than an hour, and was right in front of the hotel by the taxi stand. There is no way the staff didn't know.

The room itself was nice, with the great bed that Hiltons are known for. Negatives were the big heavy bathroom door that slams shut, and the fact that the TV remote control had gone walkabout.

The front desk staff and concierge during the day were nice. I just wish someone had been actually in charge during the evening and overnight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We (family) stayed at the Hilton Gaslamp over Thanksgiving weekend. It was a reasonably priced and very centrally located base for us. We were able to easily get to Balboa Park, where we spent three of the five days of our trip, and up the coast to other destinations. I'd recommend it for the location for either conventions or touristy stays; it was "regular" business Hilton, nicely appointed and comfortable enough.

Since hotel coffee in the room gets worse and worse these days, just pop down to the lobby for your complimentary morning coffee. Also, we were "given" wifi in the room since we are HHonors members; our room was on points so we weren't supposed to have it complimentary. Since it was T'giving and not very crowded, they gave it to us. Hotels need to realize that free wifi in the lobby simply doesn't cut it any more, and give it as a room amenity as well--or at least to every membership status level.

Don't use the valet parking unless having your car brought around is an absolute necessity. For half the price we parked about a block away, at a garage, and walked to the hotel. One of the front desk staff gave us this tip. We always felt comfortable walking in the Gaslamp district, day or night. It's a car friendly city, and driving was easy.

The hotel breakfast was excellent. For the rest of our meals, we ate off property. One of the nights, we enjoyed the firepit for a while; I think it was technically closed but still burning.

The hotel is adjacent to a dog walking area--not sure if it's an official "dog park" but there were always people walking dogs there. If you like dogs, that's a lot of fun; if you fear dogs, be aware that you'll see a lot of them, and the hotel is dog friendly too.

Front desk staff was mostly very efficient and helpful. The person checking us in was not the usual efficient Hilton type, got very confused by the similar first name between my daughter's reservation and ours, even though she had credit cards and so forth to look at. It took some time to sort that out--since points were being used for part of the nights on one room, and the other room was completely on points.

The hotel is right across the street from the convention center, convenient to one of the landings to and from Coronado Island. If you're a fitness type, climbing the stairs at the convention center is a great workout; every day we saw people running up and down the stairs for exercise.

We took one evening to go to Hotel Del Coronado to see the sunset; it was well worth the trip. We took a boat to the island, and a bus to the hotel, so we didn't need to drive to and from.

Thanksgiving dinner was at Amaya La Jolla. It's relative new and we highly recommend it. Our last meal was probably the highlight of our trip, a sunset dinner at Top of the Market on Harbor Drive. It was a short drive from the hotel, with easy parking; an elegant feel, fantastic view and very good food.

There is another Hilton very near this one, so just be careful about the address if you're cabbing in from the airport.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the bayside on a high floor. Although the Convention Ctr is prominent, it was still a great view. The room was quiet and nice sized.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews