We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in the Gaslamp District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #76 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location in the Gaslamp District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Directly across from the convention center, this was a very nice hotel. The room was clean and in good repair, and the staff was generally helpful. I found it odd that, in spite of a dresser that had obviously been designed to hold a refrigerator, there was just a big gaping hole where a fridge had likely been. At these prices, a fridge is pretty much expected, but no, it took three calls to the desk to get a tiny fridge sent up to my room - which adds $10 to your stay... Really? But that didn't detract from the stay - the hotel's food and lounge were well above average. I was at the hotel for a meeting for about a week in one of the smaller conference rooms. The staff was helpful and polite, but oddly, during the lunch break, they didn't bus the tray of coffee cups and food plates that built up in the room each morning, nor did they replenish the ice, the coffees, or the drinks in the drink bucket. Again, not a huge deal, but surprising for a "nice" hotel. Easy walking distance to all the great Gaslamp district eateries and night spots.

Room Tip: The views are on upper floors that allow you to see over the convention center, but that side comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mctigup, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Walorado,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you had a pretty positive experience. Please know that we are looking for refridgerators that will fit in the dresser for our guestrooms and plan to add to all guestrooms. We will also share your feedback with our banquet team to ensure we are exceeding the expectations of our meeting attendees.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    647
    263
    104
    52
See reviews for
227
503
103
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked this hotel at a highly discounted rate but, otherwise, this wouldn't be my first choice for a downtown San Diego hotel.

Positives: convenient location right across from convention center; the beds, linen and towels were very comfortable; we had a corner room on 12th floor with very nice view.

Negatives: right next to train tracks so can hear train noise even from high floor and with windows closed; shower water temp and pressure are inadequate during peak morning hours; fitness center is small and not well equipped; other amenities (lobby restaurant, bar) are limited; $12 per day for room internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lam1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOuston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very close to the Convention Center and restaurants on 5th street. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast and lunch menus were limited and pricey for what one could get. There is a Starbucks a couple of blocks up and a convenince store across the street that sells snacks, beer and wine at reasonable prices

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Mariella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pros- great location, in the middle of downtown San Diego.

Cons - small room, smelled like a convalescent home, restroom in general looked a bit old and not taken care of. Bedding was messy right when we first stepped in.


This is hotel is not the best place to have a romantic getaway. Wish I went someplace else.

Room Tip: Valet is $40 but you can choose to park it yourself for $18 over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mctigup, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Almita M,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We apologize that your first impression did not meet your expectation, but we will certainly take your feedback to our team to ensure we tighten up where we can. Thank you again and we hope you come back and try us again for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location bordering the convention center and the many restaurants and shops of the gas lamp district. I stayed in a suite which was very large and clean but lacking some modern touches. One issue is that there is no easily accessible electrical outlet in the bedroom for one to charge their phone etc and there is no ihome or similar device. The lamps did not have electric outlets in the base and thus charging was a pain and involved having to leave my devices in the living room. The accent chair in my room had seen many better days and needed to have long been retired as the arms were discolored and unsightly. Because my room was on the 2nd floor there was a lot of noise from the street and there was a walk around balcony that allowed people to walk right by my room which was a bit troubling. The walls were very thin and so I heard the couple next door's tryst at 3 in the morning, which was no joy. Biggest gripe though is that the water was luke warm throughout my stay. I really enjoy a nice hot shower and so I was disappointed. I would stay here again though it likely would not be my first choice. The room was very expensive but hopefully this was in part due to the city being at full occupancy that weekend because my room was not a $400 room in real life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Adjacent to the Gaslamp Quarter entrance, this is an older hotel, but well maintained. Staff very helpful, and provided suggestions re transportation, restaurants, things to see, etc. Room more than adequate, but you can get tired os listening to the train crossing signals next to the hotel. Restaurants, trains, Conv. Ctr. only about 5 minutes walk, and the harbour front is about a 10 minute walk away. Wi-fi only available in lobby, and valet parking only ($40/day) seemed a little high. (but parking is very limited in this part of town).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A comfortable hotel with a very convenient location to the convention center and the gaslamp district. This makes up for its somewhat dated room décor and the fact that some noise can be heard between rooms. One must pay for the internet in the room but it is easily available in the lobby/restaurant/bar. The staff are helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mctigup, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Janice J,

Thank you for the review of the Hilton Gaslamp! We are certainly proud of our location and hope you had a great time exploring America's Finest City!

We hope the staff helped you to find some hidden treasures in the Gaslamp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
The Horton Grand Hotel
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing