We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for convention, and a pleasant atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for convention, and a pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Three nights here. Great bed. Comfortable and spacious room (in the Lofts section, a separate building from the main one). Nice pool, heated. Two minutes walk to convention center. Restaurants all around. Walking trail, and parks nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    674
    276
    110
    56
See reviews for
254
532
104
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was excited to go to San DIego for a company meeting. The Gaslamp is the historic portion of this California city on the water. It was the old train station back when...yes...it was all gaslamps. They have taken the old luggage carts and made them into interesting planters filled with dessert succulents. Lots of great things to see...the San Diego Zoo is not far away. The airport is right in town...and plenty of places to eat in the Gaslamp district. Yes, the train is close by but I never heard a thing. The pool is outside, and unheated. So only good for part of the year. The rooms were spacious and clean. I had one meal at the restaurant and it was fine. The meeting rooms are just off the second floor, and my ony note was ll the windows in the meeting rooms looked dirty. Might be the salt air. All in all, a good experience. I would go back. I felt a little ripped off by the expensive cab ride to the airport. A hotel shuttle would be a nice addition. My room was being made up just as I returned from all the morning meeting...when I wanted a anp...so the staff could be more in touch with the occupants itinerary, which is easy when they are there for meetings! Great view overlooking a very active dog park....and I was missing my bow wow kids...

Room Tip: Go for the park view. Higher rooms have a little balcony with opening doors, if you like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellharbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Gaslamp. The staff was friendly, attentive and available. Overall my impression of the hotel was between very good and excellent. I'm sure if you chose this hotel, you'd find that it would meet your expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I thought this hotel was great! It's in a great location in the Gaslamp area! Really at the beginning of the Gaslamp area. It has some unique touches around the hotel a great terrace (could be a little better ambiance though) the terrace has a some historical touches as well! The pool is nice, I don't think it's heated though. Our room was beautiful overlooking the terrace and the city behind the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with directions, forgotten toothbrush, wifi and really anything we inquired about. The hotel itself is really nice and updated I would recommend this place most definitely and would stay here again! The only thing I could say could be better is I found the bar service to be extremely slow, but that can be overlooked! There's lots of restraunts and bars just outside the hotel! If you get a chance I would recommend going to Corando island! Just beautiful and great views of SD from there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug8213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our team members. The hotel really is the "perfect" location for convenience to the dynamic Gaslamp district, Petco Park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and I apologize for any challenges with our bar service speed and I will review this with our team. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I was eating dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, and thought I saw something small and brown out of the corner of my eye. So I out my glasses on and watched a cockroach run up to me and hide under the leg of my chair.

I waited to see if it would move. It didn't. So I took off my shoe and nudged it's butt, and when it ran I smashed it.

The waitress walked by a few minutes later, and I told her she needed to get some napkins. She asked why so I pointed to the dead cockroach and she hurriedly cleaned it up.

And guess what kind of discount she gave me....
Nada. Nothing. Zip. Zilch.

At least my hotel room was nice and comfy. But I had to check the hotel bill for accuracy. They tried to bill me for something I didn't have. Other than that, the staff were wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issue that you encountered during your stay in our restaurant. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was on the 12th floor and had a great view! The room was huge and so comfy and clean! I had view of the train and has ear-plugs on my end table as described in other reviews. However, I never needed them. I never heard anything. Maybe being up that high made a difference. I did hear other people complain about the bar noise they heard all night. Again, I didn't notice. The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly & helpful. We could walk anywhere from our hotel - shopping or restaurants. The convention center was right across street so very easy for the convention I was attending. Valet just outside entrance could get taxis for us right away so no need for a car. For a very nice expensive restaurant, I did think it was silly that they charge $3.50 for the bottled water in the rooms. Most hotels have bottled water as a free convenience for their guests now. Plus, there was a charge for wi-fi and it was a ridiculous amount. Being there on business I found that very frustrating. Besides being nickel & dimed for things, I really did enjoy this hotel and especially the location.

Room Tip: Get a room on highest floor possible - think 12th was the highest floor. It was a wonderful view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_McSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This isn't the best, and slightly overpriced. The rooms are small and old and need updating. The bathrooms need vents for humidity. The pool/spa not worth going to. Tiny and ugly. Great service though. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rahwa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,122 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing