We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've stayed here several times, and always been extremely happy with the location, room, and service. It's a fantastic base for exploring San Diego, and walking distance to more places to eat and drink than you can explore in one trip. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for a few extra days following a conference at a different hotel. When we walked in to inquire about rates and availability, Jordan at the front desk was amazingly helpful. He was there again when we checked in and even loaned us a book about the history of the Gaslamp Quarter. In all our travels, he was one of the best hotel staff members we have ever encountered.

We booked a suite in their loft rooms. It was a bit awkward to get there (up a set of stairs [which really needed vacuuming], across a terrace, then up an elevator) but this would only be a problem if someone had mobility issues. The property itself was nice with lots of outdoor sitting areas. We liked the lounge with the outdoor fireplace.

Room: Very spacious, and although the decor seemed a bit outdated, it was very comfortable. The pillows were high-quality.

Bathroom: Very large with lots of counter space. But, the lighting was terrible - it could use at least another fixture. It had a large jacuzzi tub, which we didn't use. The shower was huge and very nicely finished. The problem? Almost NO water pressure. It was so bad, I had to rinse my hair with a paper cup full of water. We joked that someone else could sit in the shower and read a book without getting wet.

Wifi: Excellent signal.

Ice/Vending: Very conveniently located but the vending machine dispensed warm drinks. Having the small fridge in the room definitely came in handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumshoe_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Terrific location, best hotel for access to the convention center, the Gaslamp quarter and the trolley line. Spent 5 nights here and couldn't have been happier. The staff were all very nice, especially the concierge; and the front desk could not have been more professional - You rock Jordan! We had read some negative reviews regarding the noise from the adjacent trains and trolleys; but, they no longer blow their horns at the crossing, and although we could hear an occassional trolley the noise was not an issue at all. The rooms are a bit smaller, but not cramped by any means. We had a room on an upper floor that even had a small balcony with chairs and a great view of the town and harbor. Petco stadium is only a few blocks away also. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel is only 12 stories so upper floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TL41018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I couldn't ask for a more conveniently located hotel. Just across the street from the convention center. I believe it is closer to the convention center than the hotels that are actually attached to the center. The Hilton is situated in the Gaslamp area and near hundreds of restaurants and bars.
The room itself was wonderful, extremely spacious and meticulously clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again without question!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank saltedradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your five star "Absolutely perfect" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and clean rooms. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a really great experience with this property, despite what I initially thought I was staying in. This is a smaller property - so it doesn't have a massive gym, lounge or separate bar/restaurant. The staff was really nice, and despite the fact that I had three separate reservations for the same week (ooop s - bad planning) they managed to keep me in the same room and my key never needed to be keyed again. Impressive. Breakfast was nice and decent selection --- they had a weekend special omellette that was amazing (egg white, real salmon, goat cheese and spinach), had a decent sized gym, and a good sized room. The real bonus was that I thought it was the closest hotel tot he convention center. For me it was a 5 minute walk --- without the hassle of being in a larger convention hotel with 500+ rooms. The walking distance to restaurants was right at your door. Avoid the Cine Cafe across the street if you are looking for food or wine. It's expensive. (Head to World Market or Ralph's).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Heard great things about this Hilton since it open many years back. Was actually one of the first cool 'boutique' type hotels to open in Gaslamp. It has held its own with the current crop in the area. Location is great in terms of the Convention Center, PETCO park and Gaslamp. Lots of great restaurants in walking distance. Broken Yolk a block down is a great breakfast spot.

Good base of operations if you have business in SD. Valet was the tough pill to swallow at 40.00 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outof714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

So first things first-
very nice hotel. nice furnishings, location is key for going out or to any location in downtown san diego. lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance which is even better. beds were comfy even the pullout
cons-
parking is stupid expensive $40 a night to park at their hotel otherwise you walk down the block and move your car all damn day in a parking garage. street parking is supposedly free on weekends but impossible to find
even with the parking i'd stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $108 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing