We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is in the PERFECT location, right across from convention center and trolley stop. You can easily walk it in two minutes (even with luggage in tow...). This is truly in the heart of the Gaslamp, everything is within easy walking distance. There are cabs everywhere if you want to venture out, but there is really no reason to need one. There is also tons to do in the day (walk across behind convention center to the little shops and see the sights), and at night it's an easy walk to any great restaurant in the area.

The hotel is beautiful inside and out, great lobby to hang out in and the rooms were really nice. Who can beat Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities too? ;)

Perfect place, perfect decor, perfect price. You really can't beat it.

Room Tip: It might be louder if your room is facing 5th avenue, we stayed on the convention center view side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    655
    264
    104
    53
See reviews for
231
508
103
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed for a medical convention. The hotel is right across the convention center, in the heart of Gaslamp, one of the best areas of San Diego. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean, really good. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. You are within walking distance of many trolley stations and bus stops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabloadrianlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

While not memorable (I was only there one night), the service was great, the room was spotless, very quiet (never heard the train), and the bed was comfortable. Valet was quick and courteous. My only complaint was that the only place to buy water was across the street at a convenience store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiltongirl357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Clean well located hotel at reasonable price. Train is right beside didn't bother us but beware of that side of the hotel if your a light sleeper. There are good restraunts and stored nearby. Easy walk to the waterfront and area feels very safe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our 2 night stay was enjoyable. Registraton desk service was polite and friendly at both check-in and check out. We were unable to checkout through their express checkout over the phone because the line was busy but checking out at the desk was quick and easy enough. Room was nice, nice size and clean but there was a clear plastic lid from a disposable razor from previous guest on the restroom floor. Since it was clear, I'm sure that's why it was easily missed. Kingsize bed was fairly comfortable but pillows had no umph - look fluffy but quickly flatten when you rest your head. No refrigerator in room made was a slight disappointment. But there was free coffee maker and typical restroom enimties. Location was perfectly placed at the end of the Gaslamp district so no problems with noise. Lots of places in walking distance - convention center and all that the Gaslamp district has to offer. We had a nice view of the convention center with the small view of the water. On the 9th floor we were not bothered by noise. There was a $40/night for the garage. We enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am happy that you had a great stay at the hotel and found our staff to be polite and friendly. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We look forward to your next visit to the San Diego area and serving you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I knew I was in for "an experience" when I walked in the room (6th floor) at this property and saw ear plugs in little plastic bags on the bedside table. Each of the three nights I stayed at this hotel, I was awoken in the middle of the night by the train crossing bells. San Diego has a commuter rail line and, apparently, there is a railyard for freight trains nearby, both of which use the same track. Besides this, the hotel was nice, comfortable, and in a great location for walking to nearby restaurants, shopping, and the convention center. As another reviewer noted, the $40/night valet parking is a bit high. Next time I come to San Diego, I will probably stay at the Hilton Bayfront. It is not as convenient, but having stayed there before, I know that there is not a noise problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the other side of the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvhtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. Our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district along with several other hotels in the area are adjacent to local transportation hubs and I'm sorry the train crossing kept you awake. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the loft section of the hotel. Absolutely gorgeous rooms, retro chic style. Rooms are large, bathroom is huge, with nice amenities. The lit closet is a nice touch. Enjoyed the elegant touches in the room. Our room faced the Hard Rock, so it was noisy on the weekend, but we were so tired, we didn't care. Hotel is in great location for walking the Gaslamp district. Also one block away, you can catch the trolley tour. Buy your ticket from the hotel...recommend a 2 day ticket, as there is so much to see. Spend one day hopping on and off, then the next at Balboa park. Lots of great resturants walking distance from the hotel. You can get by without a car, ours stayed in the lot.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the Hard Rock if your there over a weekend. Some clanking pipe noise too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threecatstolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am happy that you had a great stay at the hotel and enjoyed our Loft room accommodations. The hotel does enjoy a great location within walking distance to several area attractions.
Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,050 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing