We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and decent convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location and decent convention hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As other's have stated, the location of this hotel is very good, especially if attending a conference at the convention center or a nearby hotel (as I was). The room was large and clean and overall I was happy with the property.

I imagine this is standard at all Hilton's, but they do charge $12 / day for internet PER DEVICE. My reservation said 'complimentary high speed internet' . After asking about this on my first day I was told this applies only in the lobby but that they had recently changed the policy regarding multiple devices and that I would only be charged once per day. But sure enough was charged for multiple devices and then had to argue with the front desk on check-out. It's unbelievable that they think it's reasonable to charge $24 (or more) / day for moderate speed internet. That's more than $600/month! A small, non refrigerated bottle of water was also $3.50 in the room. Staff at the front desk and concierge were cordial but certainly not welcoming. So a good conference hotel, but there are certainly better options if you're on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonergan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    680
    281
    112
    56
See reviews for
257
539
104
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whether it's for business or pleasure, this hotel is a very nice place to stay. It's a short walk to the convention center as well as to the restaurants and shops in the Gaslamp Quarter. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the rooms are very nice.They do charge $40 per night for parking which I found to be a bit much. There is a big public parking lot about a block away that is far less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the tracks. The clanging of the trolley cars might be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This property is in an awesome location. Across from the Convention center, walking distance to major shopping and the bay area tourist locations. The gaslamp area is full of great bars many with live music and supurb restaurants. Holloween was really great.
The loft room we stayed in was a corner room at K street and 5th. Remodled, large and clean. The breakfast was comped because we are Diamonds otherwise it is overpriced. Walk up the street and find some nice local dining. The happy hour across the street was long and dirt cheap.
This IS the spot to be in San Diego but it did have issues. The lobby is a bit grubby and needs refurbished. The carpet going up the stairs has dirt ground in it. The furniture is worn and should be cleaned more often. Even the clerks desk chair visible through the office door had the stuffing coming out of it. Every morning the lobby coffee was empty. On check out day a bellman was no where to be found yet there were three, yes three, valet parking guys. Got tired of waiting and took my own luggage down using two different elevators.
STILL, next time I go to San Diego I will stay at this property rather than the huge, shiney Hilton three blocks away.
Absolutely ride the trolley and see the whole city.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooking K street was good. Do not know where the others overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I apologize for the wait time involving our bell service as we try to anticipate heavy check out periods and schedule accordingly. We do have new furniture in place throughout the lobby and restaurant area's and are in the process of upgrading our outdoor furnishings. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Location could not have been better and the price was right. Gaslamp district a block away. Mini-mart across the street offers everything from breakfast to liquor and everything in between. World Market is nearby and provided all the wine we could drink. Pool is small, but clean and in full sun during the day to keep the water ideal. Workout facility has new equipment and was never crowded. Rooms are spacious and compfrtable for a family of 3. If in San Diego again, I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at the Hilton Gaslamp Quarter Loft Towers and i have to say it was an amazing night. Great location close to all the good clubs and bars. Clean rooms and great room service.This is a location we will stay at again some time soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your five star "Incredible" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review and sharing your comments on our new Loft Suites. Thank you also for your kind comments on our clean rooms and great room service food. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel was in walking distance to Padres baseball field. Pretty nice hotel for a 3.5 star. Clean rooms nice bathroom clean, with nice toiletries. Bar, dining area not so good drinks tooooo expensive and bartender no good sorry but yuck on my 30 dollar Bloody Mary's!!!! Gross. And the service in there was horrible. But besides that I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district and several area attractions including Petco Park. We appreciate your comments on our clean rooms. I apologize that you did not enjoy the bar experience. We do offer happy hour pricing and dinner specials throughout the week and look forward to serving you to your complete satisfaction on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I love visiting San Diego. Since we live in snow country, we've regularly taken January trips to SD to celebrate my birthday in much warmer weather. Our of our prior trips have included dinner one night in the Gaslamp Quarter. This was the first time we decided to stay in the downtown area and this Hilton stay was a nice one.

It was very convenient to stay here one night and use the proximity of the hotel to walk a few minutes up to restaurant we had chosen to dine in.

We ended up with a nice rate and a room to match. However, it didn't start out that way. The room originally assigned didn't meet my wife's desire for views. We were assigned an upper floor and our view was of a portion of the rooftop of other parts of the hotel. A visit to the front desk brought a worker up to our level to show us a couple of other room options. The first one met my wife's approval, it was of the downtown area. The room had a wonderfully compfy bed and was quiet. I'm an earlier riser, even on vacations, and my wife likes to sleep in. This room was somewhat of a mini-suite. I made use of the outer area to sit on the sofa, surf the web, and read the paper.

The only downside to this hotel is the exorbitant valet parking costs. I found a parking garage two blocks away and paid $10 to self-park.

I highly recommend at stay here. We will return on future visits.

Room Tip: We prefer the north-facing rooms with views of the city. South-facing higher-floor rooms, those wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing