We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm but not neccesarily comfort and convenience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #164 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic charm but not neccesarily comfort and convenience.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm actually surprised at myself for not rating this one tick worse than I did, but overall it wasn't a terrible stay. I'll point out the good before the bad. Free hotel shuttle service is provided and their drivers are very cordial. My experience during my 4 day stay was that every member of the staff (including housekeeping) that I met, was very helpful and friendly. Lobby area, although not huge, was very inviting and gave me a good first impression. I arrived a bit early and the host offerred to store my bags until the room was ready. He said it would be about half an hour so I had a quick lunch next door and when I returned, it was indeed ready.Although this hotel is 100 years old (literally), the hallways and common areas have been updated and kept up very nicely. Rooms (at least mine) are very small but adequately furnished. There is a rooftop terrace that is quite relaxing to go and view the city while relaxing. The large flat screen TV worked well and channels were multiple. Now for the bad. As the hotel advertises, the elevators are original to the early 1900's and as such, are interestingly frustrating. To access, you have to manually open a door, slide the cage screen back and then read a book while it takes you on the slow extended ride to your floor. The beds in the rooms are "extremely" firm. If that is to your liking, you will sleep well. In my case however, my back was less than happy. If you value sleeping in remote solitude, please, please bring earplugs. I have stayed in places with paper thin walls before, but this puts them all to shame. I had the pleasure of being next to a couple that, I'm convinced, their only reason for being in that place in time was to copulate 24/7 while voicing their excitement not in a quiet manner. Needless to say, I had the honor of listening to this as if they were laying next to me. The shower stall (no bathtub) is adequate for someone of approximately 100 pounds or less. But at 6'2" and 300 pounds, it was an experience. Although it was only in the upper 60's while I was there, there were times I needed to turn on the window A/C unit to cool the room down a bit. It made funny noises and didn't appear to be putting out much cool air, so I turned it off and survived. The restaurant next door (Brian's 24, which I will review under a seperate listing) provides room service for the hotel. I utilized room service once during my stay and found the order taker very friendly and the speed of delivery better than average. As my opening statement said, I probably could have rated the place a little lower than I did, but surprisingly I had a decent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors will save you from the extended travel times via the antiquated elevators. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickyonejustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review , yes we do have a great location, with a friendly accommodating staff , our restaurant is one of the most popular in the Gaslamp . All out beds a queen size Sealy posturepedic Setra Sleeper's . some rooms only have shower stalls ,some have jacuzzi tubs . The elevators (as may have been mentioned in one of two past reviews) are small and slow .
thank you for your support and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    439
    319
    168
    161
See reviews for
206
391
109
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want a funky hotel, this is the place! Location is excellent. Noise level on the weekend can be bad as every drunk in town is in the gaslamp district, but I love this place. It reminds me of living in downtown SF. There is a bar/restaurant 24/7 with great history! Joan Crawford danced on the bar when it was in her house. The elevator is the original. I'm glad they kept it running.
This hotel won't be everyone's cup of tea, but I will always stay there when I'm in San Diego!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovespicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,
I couldn't have summed it up better myself. Thank's for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I didn't have high expectations but was pleasantly surprised. There were 7 of us on a family holiday so had 2 suites with 2 bedrooms in each suite. The rooms weren't huge but they were nice and the kids liked the elevator. We all enjoyed the view from the roof and the location is excellent with good restaurants and the shopping mall in walking distance. My only complaint was that I forgot my jacket in the closet when we left and I wasn't able to have it returned after phoning twice. Overall decent hotel for the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, We have your jacket . You booked two rooms via a third party agency so we don't have your telephone number ,we called that booking agency and they do not have your number either . Please call the hotel and ask for Dennis and we will gladly ship your jacket back to you . We did try to contact you via TripAdvisor message , but no luck . So give us a call and we will make it happen . Thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#133 of 278 in San Diego
579 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Property: Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing