We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Valule for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #158 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Orange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Valule for Location”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Considering that we booked last minute, the deal we got was great. However the room was a bit small but for a quick getaway weekedn trip, hotel location is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for the kind words . Many of our rooms are about 25% smaller than a traditional hotel room size . We do have lots of large rooms that can be seen on our TripAdvisor hotel website link right here on TripAdvisor . Thanks again for you business. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    429
    311
    161
    152
See reviews for
194
382
107
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For this overnight trip I wanted standard amenities and airport shuttle at the lowest cost possible in the Gaslamp District. When I heard this hotel was historic, I thought I shouldn't look any further; but in the end I wasn't completely satisfied. Here's what I didn't like:

The airport shuttle doesn't automatically pick you up at the airport. I thought it would and waited for over 30 minutes at the shuttle area at the airport until we finally decided to just take a taxi. When I arrived at the hotel, a sign indicated that you had to sign up in advance for the airport shuttle. I had no problems the following day, but I certainly would have appreciated knowing about this ahead of time so I could have made other plans.

At a certain moment, I went to the front desk and waited for 15 minutes for someone to help me. Whoever was on staff was on the phone in the office next door all that time. I waited for a bit, trying to be understanding, but when I saw they still weren't coming out, I called out just to make sure they were aware someone was outside, and all I got was a shout saying to wait while they were on the phone. I waited some more until they hung up. It was no big deal, although I was in a little bit of a hurry; but what bugs me is that I would have preferred to see a head pop through the door, excuse itself, and have at least asked what I needed and then determine whether I could wait or not. Aside from that, though, all the staff was super nice, professional and accommodating.

The room was very clean and nice and simple, but it felt cluttered. Perhaps a different arrangement of the furniture would have made a difference. My biggest problem was walking into the room with lots of bags and not quickly finding a place to drop my stuff. I was bothered by the desk having so much coffee and tea bags, etc. than it could fit on it. There was a closet, but I never got to use it.

Finally, the antique elevators were difficult to get used to. They were small and couldn't fit all my bags. That's why I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with a lot of bags, even if just overnight. No one taught you how they worked, nor were there explanatory signs on the doors, so that we missed a couple of stops while we got the hang of it. Eventually we just started using the stairs.

What I liked most about this hotel, though, was its restaurant! The place is beautiful and the food is fantastic. They have a big menu, with many comfort foods, and gigantic portions

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,
Yes to be picked up AT the airport you have to call us and tell us you are there and then we come get you. Shuttle trips BACK to the airport are on scheduled departure time and you sing up so we can make sure we don't end up with a crowd larger than the van can accommodate. If that happened we would schedule a second quicker van run (it's only 3 miles to the airport) . Glad you liked our restaurant Brian's 24 ,it's one of the most popular downtown. The elevators have been mentioned in several earlier posts .
Thank you for your business and your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our entire stay of 5 nights only to receive a bill for parking when we were informed by the hotel staff 3 times that parking was "free". Had we known we were being hit with $20.00 per day for valet parking plus our tips each time we retrieved our car, we would have parked on the street ourselves. To make matters worst, the Assistant Mgr. had a salty attitude once we addressed this issue. We have notified the Ramada Worldwide Headquarters to file a formal complaint. We left San Diego with a somewhat bad taste after checking out of this hotel. We would encourage visitors to clarify the parking issue prior to check-in. The only other problem we encountered was a clogged sink one morning that was backed up. The hotel is in a great location but we do not think we will return to this hotel when we return to San Diego next year.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view rather than a brick wall to stare at....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest, Every hotel downtown changes for parking . Most are over $30 per day. Ours is $20 per day ,the least expensive downtown as we only cover our garage fees . There's a sign on the front desk showing parking rates for the five hotels closest to us along with our parking rate. Since we've always changed for parking ,since every hotel downtown has to charge for parking ,since every guest who has showed up with a car in the last 10 years has been changed for parking one would wonder where we could find desk personnel to advise that parking is free....and to do it repeatedly?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#128 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Property: Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing