We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #167 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed November 20, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small room with no dresser, no microwave, no little refrigerator. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Ideal room for just a place to drop at the end of a busy day before going out for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The dresser is incorporated in the desk, We had them custom made that way to save on space. Most standard gust rooms don't have mico/fridges but many of the larger rooms do . You would have to visit our web site link right here on TripAdvisor to see the larger rooms . Apparently we keep them well hidden on other sites. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arrived early and was able to get a room, lobby was pretty nice, tiny elevator,
walked into the room and wow very small!!!
few seconds later housekeeping knocked and asked if I wanted service. What?
Over all I don't think I would stay again, I booked with employee rate and still paid more than not being an employee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank VANNIPHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest , Thank you for your business, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We do have larger rooms but you must visit the hotel's web site link right here on TripAdvisor to view them. It's there you'll also find the lowest rate. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Terrible small dark rooms. Poor management, while the manager told me that there no other rooms to be had aside from the room without a window and an equally small room on the first floor guess what - plenty of rooms to be booked online... believe the bad reviews and stay away!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mich613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear guest, Now logic would tell a person that you can not have a hotel guest room with out a window , simply would not be legal in any state in America. That being said I'm sorry your stay was not an enjoyable one for what ever the reason was. When you're not happy , you're not happy. It's not something hotel managers want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked this hotel very quickly one night when we were driving from Palm Springs to San Diego
It was located in a good location and was about $100 a night. The room was pretty creepy though. The window completely faced a brick wall. The shower was the smallest shower I have ever seen in a hotel. My boyfriend is about 6'2" and couldnt move in the shower at all.
The room was about 50 square feet.
I didn't expect much and I definitely didn't get much.
It's an old hotel but if you are on a budget and want to stay near the gaslamp then it's not too bad

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetTpie10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest , Thank you for your review . Many of our rooms are small ,about 25% smaller than your traditional American hotel room but bigger than your average Parisian hotel room . Our joke is if we were in Paris we would be the big guys. We do have lager rooms but apparently we have managed to keep them well hidden . You can see them and all our room types on the hotel's website link right here on our TriapAdvisor listing . It's there that you'll find the lowest rate and the biggest rooms . Thank you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#119 of 278 in San Diego
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
The Horton Grand Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
860 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing