We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Andaz San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (1,521)
Filter reviews
1,521 results
Traveler rating
320
476
345
194
186
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
476
345
194
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour restaurantjames hotelhistoric hotelrooftop terracerooms are smallfree airport shuttlevalet parkinggas lampan older hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulpetco parkbars and restaurantshorton plazabriansgaslampprivilegesnightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,521 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Terrible small dark rooms. Poor management, while the manager told me that there no other rooms to be had aside from the room without a window and an equally small room on the first floor guess what - plenty of rooms to be booked online... believe the bad reviews and stay away!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mich613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear guest, Now logic would tell a person that you can not have a hotel guest room with out a window , simply would not be legal in any state in America. That being said I'm sorry your stay was not an enjoyable one for what ever the reason was. When you're not happy , you're not happy. It's not something hotel managers want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked this hotel very quickly one night when we were driving from Palm Springs to San Diego
It was located in a good location and was about $100 a night. The room was pretty creepy though. The window completely faced a brick wall. The shower was the smallest shower I have ever seen in a hotel. My boyfriend is about 6'2" and couldnt move in the shower at all.
The room was about 50 square feet.
I didn't expect much and I definitely didn't get much.
It's an old hotel but if you are on a budget and want to stay near the gaslamp then it's not too bad

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetTpie10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest , Thank you for your review . Many of our rooms are small ,about 25% smaller than your traditional American hotel room but bigger than your average Parisian hotel room . Our joke is if we were in Paris we would be the big guys. We do have lager rooms but apparently we have managed to keep them well hidden . You can see them and all our room types on the hotel's website link right here on our TriapAdvisor listing . It's there that you'll find the lowest rate and the biggest rooms . Thank you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Some of the rooms are very small, but fine for someone or a couple not planning to spend a lot of time in the room. Well located in the Gaslamp district and close to the convention center. My first room had a door connecting it to an adjoining room and the noise from that room sounded like it was in my room, but the staff cheerfully moved me to another room that didn't connect and it was perfectly quiet. Don't miss the incredible roof deck!

Room Tip: Avoid a connecting door to another room unless you know the people in the adjoining room - and they are quiet! The gap under the door is big enough that the noise from the other room sounds like it is in your room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herm8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest , Thank you for the nice review , I think we only have 1 or 2 rooms with connecting doors , handy if you know the other party (or want to get to know them) not so handy if you don't . Yes the roof top is a treasure . Glad your stay worked out and we thank you for your support. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located. The elevator is very vintage with metal gate, so if you have issues with closed spaces, use stairs. The lobby is beautiful. The adjacent restaurant is awesome. The rooms are old, little sinks and showers. There was dust on top of doors. I felt like i went back 50 years. Air is noisy. But again you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Ask for an room that looks out not inside the courtyard, otherwise, it is very dark and feels like a cell
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridaprincess65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest , Thank you for the nice review and for your support . I can assure you the dust patrol will be deployed. we do have smaller rooms ,with old elevators in a hotel with a great location and a wonderful restaurant,and all for an affordable price. Thanks again and visit our new web site via the link right here on wonderful TripAdvisor . It doesn't get easier than that. Thanks again for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews