We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaslamp stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #163 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
1 review
“Gaslamp stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

convenient location
Hazardous elevator door (didnt catch while entering & exiting)
wasnt told about the breakfast
attitude of staff not particularly helpful
very small room
would help to offer take-away coffee cup
too expensive for what is offered

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest , We're sorry your expectations were not met. Yes our elevators are original (so we're talking 1913 here) but we haven't lost anyone yet. 75% of our rooms are small (about 25% smaller than your average American hotel room) but we do have some large suites and our famous double / double rooms (two separate bedrooms sharing one bath room) 3rd party travel sites only show a few room types ,to see all the room types available one can clink on the hotel website link right here on trip adviser. You'll now see all the room types and be offered the lowest price anywhere. thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    436
    315
    165
    155
See reviews for
201
385
108
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was excellent and very close to Petco Park. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. Great quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank WILBUR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest , Thank you for the nice words. We are a small friendly hotel located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. We have a great restaurant , Brian's 24 . Our rooms for the most part are 25% smaller than your average north American hotel room. Our elevators are original, so that means they have a door and a gate . Our rooms are spotless, the staff friendly. All our room types and best rates available can be seen on the hotel web site link right here on TripAdvisor . It's the best place to see all the available room types and their lowest prices. Thank you again for your kind words and for for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALLBROOK
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite so our stay was exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thr elevator was a classic but very slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank KENNETH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest, We have about a dozen suites ,someone has to stay in them and we're glad it was you . You can find all our room types on the hotel's web site link right here on TripAdvisor . Most 3rd party web sites only show a select few . Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPANOLA
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We loved our stay at your interesting and beautiful historic hotel. I especially liked the old fashioned caged elevators. The room was reasonably priced and the beds were wonderfully comfortable.

Great staff and always accommodating.

Thanks again,

Tess Fresquez

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank THERESA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Beware of your suite with kitchenette being overbooked at Ramada Gaslamp in San Diego. They moved me to rooms that I could have gotten for $60 less each night and threw in a tiny fridge and microwave and acted like they did me a favor. I had to ask to have the parking fee waived and they refused to give an an extra night for free. Terrible customer service!!!

Room Tip: Double check your reservation before you arrive. Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest , We're sorry we did not meet your expectations . When booking with a 3rd party errors can happen with our hotel or any hotel . It's best to use 3rd party web sites to do your hotel research but once you've made a choice you'll be better off going to that hotel's chain web site and book direct . You' ll get the same rate and he hotel will get your reservation immediately with no over booking . Plus it's easier to make changes if your travel plans require it . The days of different rates on different sites are over for Chain hotels . We all have rate parity rules (same rate every where ) so booking with any hotel's chain website will result in a better experience. Again I apologize for your disappointment .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Overall we really liked this hotel and the location. I would not have considered it inexpensive, but it certainly served our purposes. We had one of the two bedroom rooms which was actually kind of fun. Even though our room was directly across the hall from the ever so quaint elevator (the original with the sliding grates that WE remember, most people would not!!), the room(s) were very very quiet--the window AC's were a little too noisy, but not unbearable. Rooms were immaculate, the bathroom had been remodeled, was good sized and spotless.

Brian's 24 next door (you can go through the lobby to get in) was perfect. We loved it for breakfast--the staff was exceptional. Fun, friendly, remembered us each time - I cannot say enough good things about them. Was the food exceptional? No, it was a pub, but it was definitely not bad!! We had a late night dinner there the evening we checked in--3 hour time difference for us, so while it was only 10PM in S.D., it was 1AM for us and we were exhausted.

A couple of notes about the hotel staff--I had called to be sure there was a shuttle from the airport and had been assured there was--however, no one said, you have to call the hotel for the shuttle. Now, even though I had told the person on the phone that we would be getting into S.D. at 8PM, he was not interested enough to ask for any information and to give us any information. So when we got our baggage, we went outside and waited and watched other hotel shuttles circling. After a half hour I called the hotel and the person I spoke with said "Oh, well, you have to call for the shuttle; I will get him and he should be there in 10-15 minutes. It was easily 30-40 minutes before it showed up.

I would not say the hotel front desk staff was unfriendly, but neither were they particularly outgoing. Most times as we came in and out, there was no one at the front desk which is unusual....Normally I have found front desk staff to be outgoing, friendly, offer suggestions, information etc. and that never happened. When we asked for suggestions for dinner, etc. no one ever really had any. I would strongly suggest that somewhere in the lobby there should be maps of the area or brochures that guests can pick up to give them an idea of what is around the immediate area, attractions, tours, etc. Thank goodness there was a map on the bar in Brian's.

Would we stay here again? Perhaps. You definitely can walk almost everywhere from this location and we did. Loved our time in S.D.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 2 bedroom rooms. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest , We're glad you enjoyed your stay . Brian's 24 is one of downtown's most popular "local restaurants" . We only have 99 rooms so the shuttle only goes out for pick up when guests call. That should have been explained better when you called to inquire . You were in our famous double/doubles, two separate bedrooms sharing one bath . Most unique and very handy. As for the front desk staff coming out of their shells I'm going to ask each of them to make me a list of 3 restaurant recommendations and grade them on their knowledge and suggestions . I'm sure we can make some big improvements here. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWBURY PARK
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The staff was exceptional, and the room was very comfortable. We really liked the old building feel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest , Thank you for the wonderful review. Heaven knows we've got lots of "old building feel" and we're not likely to run out anytime soon. ;} . Should you ever return , try booking with the hotel's web site link right here on TripAdvisor . It's the quickest route to the lowest rate possible and we'll get your reservation instantly. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#82 of 279 in San Diego
1,371 reviews
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#131 of 279 in San Diego
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Property: Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelPower, Wyndham, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing