We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I never miss this place when I visit SD”

Green Flash Brewing Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private San Diego Brewery Tour
Ranked #64 of 427 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I never miss this place when I visit SD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great place to sit have a few beers, watch people, and watch the sunset and maybe even see a 'green flash'. The prices are very reasonable and the outside seating is nice. It has plexiglass to block the wind.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kortkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
306 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great Green Flash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Green Flash is one of the bigger microbrewers in San Diego County. Unlike the very arrogant (pun definitely intended) large microbrewery in Escondido, the folks here are very friendly. My husband and I came here to get the sour taste of our bad experience in Escondido out of our mouths.
When we entered this large facility that is easy to find, we were warmly greeted at their tasting area. There were no tours being conducted at the time of our visit, but this did not bother us as we were really interested in seeing what it look like inside and having the opportunity to taste as many beers as we wanted to.
There is an extensive menu of beers listed on a huge board behind the counter. It is easy to read and most are available for tasting (usually $1). One can get a full pint for $3-$6. If you have any questions, the brewery’s employees will be pleased to answer all of them.
Some of our favorite Green Flash beers are Saison Diego Ale (an unfiltered golden farmhouse ale, brewed with Seville orange peels, Chinese ginger and grains of paradise), Grand Cru Dark Ale (a Belgian-style Dark Ale) and Trippel Ale (a rich, pale malt flavors provide a solid base for zesty hopping. Trappist ale yeast contributes the fruity, spicy profile of classic, monk-brewed, Belgian ales).
Avoid the poorly marked brewery in Escondido and make Green Flash one of your first microbrewery stops. Going here will make you glad you did.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Great beers and experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This brewery was awesome. It was easy to find and had plenty of parking. The brewery is a great space, very open and light.

They had a food truck out front, which was a creative way of bringing interesting food to the brewery as Green Flash does not have a kitchen of its own.

The tour we took was excellent, the best among breweries we visited. For one thing, it's well organized leading you in a circle around the brewery and finishing back at the tasting bars. The experience was also very personal especially considering that Green Flash is a large brewery. We also toured Stone, which was a nice tour too, but was less personal as we were talked to through a microphone where our Green Flash tour was conversational and well led.

Everyone was very friendly and informative. Our tour guide and beer pourers were happy to answer any questions we had, from the brewing process to tasting notes.

And the beer... Awesome. So many different, unique and delicious craft brews. A great selection of everything from IPAs to Saisons. We were thrilled with what we tasted. Best of all, they had the most reasonably priced growlers and growler fills of any of the breweries we visited. We walked out with two full 64oz growlers of our favorite beers for under $30.

I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to experience the brewery scene in San Diego. We had an excellent experience and will gladly go back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peahez15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer with no nonsense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

First off, I live near Green Flash Brewery and also near Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens. If you want great tasting beer, in a no nonsense setting, go to Green Flash. If you want to have a sit down restaurant with so-so beer, go to Karl Strauss Brewery gardens. Green Flash has their tasting room located in the interior of their brewery. You will enter a large open space and be able to see the huge secondary fermenters that look like missle silos. You'll find a large bar with a large number of taps manned by beer hosts. Above them is an extensive menu of beers available for tasting (usually $1) and full pints ($3-$6). There is some seating outside and there may be a gastro truck (fancy name for expensive roach coach) parked nearby offering tasty grub to go with your beer selection. The best time to go is the weekends when the place isn't as packed during the week by folks from Gen-Probe and Qualcomm, at 4 PM onward. Remember, you're coming for the beer at GF and you're not here to be amazed by some "En Fuego Burger" ($15 at Karl Strauss) smothered in a beer based sauce, because that's all their beer is good for. It's the beer is why you're here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank So_Cali_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Brewery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beer was delicious, many different kinds of beer to taste and a comfortable, fun environment. Not to mention it's only 3 blocks from work! I definately plan to hit Green Flash again sometime soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLundy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Flash Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Green Flash Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing