We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #144 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“San Diego Birthday”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Courtyard was better than I thought. We are visiting San Diego for my daughter's birthday and she wanted to go zipline. I looked for a place to stay and the courtyard by mariott was available :-) I didn't know what to expect; bit was delighted to find it clean, comfy and friendly staff. There was a bit of a line that seemed to take much to long. Everything else was great!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday visit at the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo. Our close proximity to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and it's awesome zip-line makes us a popular choice for a lot of their visitors. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo! We hope you'll come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    70
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
57
34
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My mom was in a handicap room. The hallway to the room had stairs. Ramp was down around the corner. Our rooms air conditioner keeps shutting off. No free reg.coffee! I never buy starbucks. The room had the small pot with black cups! Hint..I never drink from a black coffee cup! Is it clean? Breakfast $10.00. Buffet! No thank you! I do think all courtyards are this way..this franchisee is misguided

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.

The Courtyard by Marriott brand introduced a new food and beverage outlet called The Bistro several years ago and most hotels have adopted this model. We offer Starbucks coffee drinks and a variety of cook to order breakfast and dinner menu items. While we no longer offer a buffet, the selection and quality of the Bistro has received mostly positive feedback from guests.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to convince you to give us a try the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are very well kept, and even though it's by the freeway you don't hear it inside. Everyone was very nice and polite, the pool looked nice but we didn't use it. Breakfast was pretty expensive but good. Only downside was our bed wasn't very comfortable at all, rather hard actually.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo. We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Overall nice hotel. Very clean. Staff was very nice. The pool and surrounding area was clean. Within walking distance of very nice restaurants. Downfall is it is directly beside the freeway. I would stay here again. I almost forgot to mentione, when the phone rep from Marriott helped to book my stay, she booked two nights, then used my free rewards for the 3rd night. Because of this, I was told the 2nd night that I would have to pack up and move to another room. That didn't happen.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Cons: Location

Pros: Location, renovated interior, a park with a pond right outside

Location is both a good and bad. The bad is the building is right next to the freeway. The good is it's walking-distance to supermarket, stores, restaurants, and banks.

The interior is modern and clean, and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. WIFI is free and the signal is good even when your room is the last room in the wing. There is plenty of free parking too.

Each room has a frog and microwave. There is also a small sofa and desk next to the bed. The bathroom is standard.

Room Tip: Get a room in the wing farthest away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I am always pleased when I stay at a Courtyard Marriott! The rooms are always nicely decorated, the beds are super comfortable, and the bathrooms are very clean as are the rooms; room was very quiet. Stayed here with family before going to the Safari Park. Ate breakfast on the way to the park which was quicker; many to choose from nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful1LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

As expected Marriott quality; clean, comfortable, quiet room. We stayed for one night on our way to safari park.

Enjoyed their hospitality They do have onsite restaurant with Starbucks brewed coffee We enjoyed some of the breakfast. (they also offer full service breakfast, which we did not utilize). There are many local restaurants and breakfast places (we got some Einstein Bagels).

One our way back from the safari park we picked up some great fresh strawberries and watermelon. Delicious.

We had two queen beds--- comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingtoPlaces123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
5.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo

Property: Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
Address: 11611 Bernardo Plaza Ct, San Diego, CA 92128-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#89 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
Courtyard Rancho Bernardo
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing