We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a very nice 3 night stay at this hotel while in San Diego for a wedding. The location is perfect, right next to the Gaslamp Quarter (hence, the name). We booked 2 rooms, and were given rooms right next door to each other, which was convenient. The rooms were large and clean, decor is fresh and minimalist, which I like. The beds are very comfortable, and the shower was pretty cool. The best part of this hotel was the staff. From the bell desk, valet, check-in and housekeeping, everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. Valet is expensive at $40 per night, but the valet staff were very efficient and informative about the area. Wifi is also not free with a standard room rate, which is unfortunate.

I would definitely consider this hotel again when staying in the downtown San Diego area.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a ocean/bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    516
    122
    38
    22
See reviews for
252
378
45
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Westin San Diego Gaslamp hotel in early July. Great location, nice room, everything was within walking distance from our hotel. It was our anniversary, and the concierge staff were so helpful! From their advice on helping us tour the city, to making dinner reservations at Mr. A's -Bertrands ( amazing ) to just being so nice to us, we were very appreciative.
I would highly recommend this hotel and it's staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I eat at the hotel restaurant on a regular basis. We thoroughly enjoy Chef Douglas' food and the fine service we receive from Ruben and Ricardo at Panzimini. This is not a trip. We live in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The stay at this hotel was great. From the time I made my reservation on the phone when they beat any online price. To the Valet guys who did an amazing job and showed professionalism and respect to me and my family, I wish I could afford to tip them what they deserved. We had always wanted to stay in this hotel since we travel to San Diego 1-2 times a year. Now it will be our go to place.


Only CON is how expensive WiFi is considering the price of the room I think it should be free

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcerv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Selected this property for its location and it did not disappoint.... Walking distances to restaurants nightlife, Broadway pier to catch the ferry to Coronado Island, walk to Seaport Village, mall next door for shopping or picking up cheap food in its food court...

We used the concierge service daily and each time was met with helpful and courteous staff... Was even assisted in getting a rental for a day at the cost of $35 which included delivery to hotel and pick up at end of day.... Amazing value considering valet parking is $40/day...

Was very pleased with room, service and location of this property... Would definitely recommend...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay there was wonderful customer service,staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, rooms were nice, comfortable, very clean. The only thing I didn't like wasvthe price of parking in the garage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsecrease03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear dsecrease03,

We definitely have the perfect location and easy access to just about anything from the nighlife you mentioned, to shopping, theaters, dining... the list goes on and on! We hope the next time you are down from Sacramento you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

After having been to the Westin Sydney Harbour I expected more from this one. The hotel is rightly located in downtown San Diego close to everything. However the cleanliness of my room wasn't up to standard and suffering from asthma, I struggle with animal friendly rooms/hotels

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nlarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear nlarue,

Thank you for staying with us last May. As you mentioned, we are very conveniently located in the heart of downtown San Diego and close to everything you could want. From shopping to night life to just simply relaxing by the bay – we’ve got it all! While it is true that we are a dog friendly hotel, we also have numerous “pet-free” floors for our guests.

We hope you will consider returning someday so we will have the opportunity to help you recreate a memorable experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#57 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing