We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Located in walking distance to all the night life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #40 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Located in walking distance to all the night life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay there was wonderful customer service,staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, rooms were nice, comfortable, very clean. The only thing I didn't like wasvthe price of parking in the garage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsecrease03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear dsecrease03,

We definitely have the perfect location and easy access to just about anything from the nighlife you mentioned, to shopping, theaters, dining... the list goes on and on! We hope the next time you are down from Sacramento you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    486
    116
    37
    21
See reviews for
235
356
45
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

After having been to the Westin Sydney Harbour I expected more from this one. The hotel is rightly located in downtown San Diego close to everything. However the cleanliness of my room wasn't up to standard and suffering from asthma, I struggle with animal friendly rooms/hotels

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nlarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear nlarue,

Thank you for staying with us last May. As you mentioned, we are very conveniently located in the heart of downtown San Diego and close to everything you could want. From shopping to night life to just simply relaxing by the bay – we’ve got it all! While it is true that we are a dog friendly hotel, we also have numerous “pet-free” floors for our guests.

We hope you will consider returning someday so we will have the opportunity to help you recreate a memorable experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

AC machine is very noisy. location is good, shopping, restaurant are very close. 20 minutes walk to the midway museum. Very friendly front desk staff. The swiming pool is not big, but feel good. My daughter enjoy it .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan_jxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear duncan_jxt

I was very happy to read that your daughter enjoyed our pool! I was also pleased to read that your encounters with our front desk staff were memorable. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back someday.

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Loved the room and location.We are Gold Members so enjoyed the late check out option. The bed were comfortable and bathroom was more than adequate. But $40 a night just to park our car????? Really??? We are already paying a pretty good amount to stay at the hotel and to pile on additional charges because you drove a car is ridiculous. That is the only reason I will not be back and the only reason for the poor rating.

Room Tip: Any rooms are nice. Be sure to call about 5 minutes before leaving room so valet can retrieve your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear David M,

First I'd like to thank you for being a loyal customer and member of the Starwood Preferred Guest program. As a Gold member, I am glad you have taken advantage of the late checkout benefit so that you can enjoy your room and the local attractions a little longer. We are so conveniently located and within walking distance to most attractions that parking is at a premium in downtown San Diego. However, I hope that because of our location, you were able to avoid taxi cab fares or having to pay for parking at additional lots while out and about.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip for two nights. The hotel was very well-maintained and the room was spacious and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. The hotel's location is excellent, adjacent to Horton Plaza and within a block of the Gaslamp Quarter with a myriad of restaurants and clubs. The only negatives were the lack of free internet and the lack of dedicated elevators to the lower and upper floors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at the Western Gaslamp for 3 nights on the 14th floor.
The hotel itself in clean, modern and stylish. I found the room spacious and very comfortable.
The hotel staff are very helpful and polite. The gym and pool area was great with a hut tub to enjoy.
Free wifi in the lobby. You need to pay in the room.

Short walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. 15 min walk to Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum. Balboa park and San Diego Zoo are not walkable from the hotel. We took a cab to the zoo which cost around $13 each way. If taking the kids to LEGOLAND there is no shuttle transfers from San Diego. We caught the Coaster train from Santa Fe depot, short walk from hotel. Catch the Coaster train to Calsbad poinetta then a $14 cab ride to LEGOLAND itself.

Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Chris C,

It sure sounds like you had a wonderful time and really took advantage of all we have to offer - both in the hotel and throughout our wonderful city! With our prime location and year-round perfect temperatures, you can pretty much plan a return trip anytime and be ensured of a great experience.

Hope to see you again soon!

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at the Westin Gaslamp for a family vacation for 7 nights with my SPG points in July 2014. I can't say enough about the incredible level of service within all aspects of the hotel. From all the valets (Tyler was great and so funny), to Catherine and Julianna, the concierges (they knew me by name and did so much to make our vacation perfect), to the housekeeping staff. I'm so glad I picked this Starwood resort for my vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Rene D,

And we're so glad you chose this hotel for your family vacation! I never get tired of reading about our guest's experiences and particularly when some of our staff are mentioned by name. I assure you I will let Tyler, Catherine and Julianne know how much you appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Until then, be well...

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#39 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#25 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing