We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #40 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this property over July 4th weekend. After checking around this was one of the better priced hotels within the area. It was well located in the heart of the Gaslamp sitting next to several restaurants, a mall, and a CVS. It also was close to the I-5 which made it very easy to get around the area when visiting.

We picked the Executive King which was large and had a decent size fridge in the room. It also had a large patio that was one of the largest we have ever had connected to a hotel room. Overall the room was clean. We noticed a small spider on the bed the day of checkout but no other issues during our stay.

The staff was very friendly specially the valet staff which we saw everyday. On some days it seemed to take longer than we expected getting our car but when the staff noticed us waiting they apologized, offered us water, and tried to get our car to us quickly. You can call ahead to the valet desk to have your car ready, but we were not told of this option until halfway through our visit.

Although the staff was great, paying $40 a day for valet was disappointing, and quashed the pretty good(in comparison to that weekend) rate we had. We saw a self parking garage across the street for $20.

Overall, other that the price for parking we enjoyed our stayed and would return on a future trip.

Room Tip: Park at the garage across the street for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buckeye1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms are dated. Small with small beds. There is very little art in the rooms & the only lighting was a single bedside lamp & fluorescent bathroom lighting. Not the usual Westin standard by my experience. We are SPG Gold level but were only given a mid level room with only a view of the roof of Horton Plaza. We wish we could have stayed elsewhere but it's hard to find a room in SD on a moments notice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neuromri511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Neuromri511
I was disappointed to read that you felt our rooms missed the mark. I can assure you that all our beds are standard king or double size and the rooms are actually a bit larger when compared to other downtown hotels in major cities and to other hotels here in San Diego. The lighting options include the bedside lamps you mentioned, in addition to a floor lamp, desk lamp and pinpoint reading lights built right into the headboard for guest convenience.

Throughout the hotel you will find many works of art in addition to the living Vertical Garden located in the lobby where guests are encouraged to relax and recharge.

I hope you will consider a return trip as I feel we have much more to offer than your recent experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I rarely write reviews but this was such an incredible/unforgettable stay that I simply had to say something. I just came back from a 2.5 weeks vacation so I apologize for the delay! I stayed here for 2 nights June 20-22. Before I had even step foot on properly I received a surprising phone call from (FD) Jeremy. He simply called to ask about specific rooms I wanted for my mini family reunion/ bday trip that to me is unheard of, clearly its a great start. I drove 6hrs from Phoenix to San Diego and when I finally arrived at The Westin my family and I were greeted by the valet and lead to lobby to check in with the kind and gracious Hitomi ( FD Agent). Her welcome into the Hotel made me feel like I was home, she treated my family and me as if we were long time friends. Again the staff was 2 for 2!! Later in the evening I headed down to the restaurant to place a carry out order and the gentleman whom greeted me and my sister was the restaurant supervisor ( I wish I knew his name) he was great and attentive. So thank you Sir for taking great care of us. Again Hitomi and Jeremy without Staff as you, I doubt my stay would have been great and memorable so Thank you!!

Also the make a green choice is a great option, and housekeeping was wonderful about providing us with extra towels and toiletries.

Room Tip: The bay view is not only nice it is also a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear ambegue,

What an awesome review! I was thrilled to read about your experience and want to thank you for taking the time to post this. For us, creating great memories is what "it's all about" and I can’t wait to share your story with the staff, and particularly with Jeremy and Hitomi.

We’ll be waiting to welcome you back the next time you make the drive over from Phoenix. Until then…

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I recently spent 10 nights at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter ( from June 25 - July 5 ). As a Starwood "Preferred Guest," check in was a breeze, assisted by the gracious and very personable Assistant Front Desk Manager Jeremy. I was quickly taken to a very nicely appointed room on the top ( 16th floor ) floor, with partial views of the Bay and very good amenities, including that unbeatable Westin "Heavenly Bed!" Because the hotel is "pet-friendly," for three nights I shared my room with a 110lb Cane Corso ( Italian Mastiff ) named Lula, who I co-own with a dear local friend. And they even provided a large "Heavenly Dog Bed" for her. I must also commend the Concierge, Marina, for going the distance in every request I made, from making an appointment at the Department of Motor Vehicles to giving me recommendations and "insider" tips of great local restaurants! And the Housekeeping service, as provided by the lovely lady who serviced my room during the majority of my stay--Luisa--was as good as any FIVE STAR LUXURY HOTEL I've stayed in around the globe!! Though the rooms may be in need of some "updating"--particularly the seventies-looking bathrooms, I give this excellent hotel two big THUMBS UP if you're visiting "America's Finest City!"

Room Tip: Become a Starwood "Preferred Guest" and you'll automatically get a room on the top ( 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dcdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everyone was so helpful. Rooms were adequate and large. The servers in the breakfast buffet area were wonderful...Concierge was knowledgeable and the front desk check was a breeze. Valet parkers were prompt and friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsimons2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just one night here on the 4th July at the end of our SouthWest holiday. Great welcome, and a surprise upgrade with a view to the bay (and fireworks!). I had to fly out early the next day but the concierge was a great help with getting a cab. Meanwhile my wife was given a late check-out and loved the pool. Thanks to everyone for giving us a great, if short, stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roos1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear roos1ter,

You’re very welcome! Hopefully your next trip will be a little longer and you’ll get the opportunity to experience everything our great location has to offer. Theater, dining, shopping, sightseeing, day-trips to wine country, sporting events, night life… whatever your interests are, there’s something nearby!

We hope to welcome you back someday.

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Out of all the hotels in Gaslamp I chose Westin for the 4th because I have heard so many good things about this hotel and the location can't be beat. First of all, I was greeted within 15 seconds when I walked into the lobby. Neil at the front desk was very engaging and did his best to ensure that I was going to have a pleasant stay.Second, the pool was very inviting,clean, and had a great atmosphere for both couples and families. Third, My dining experience gets an A plus Even though the restaurant was slammed, my server was very accommodating and made sure my needs were met and my dish was served in a timely manner. I ordered the Margherita pizza and Caesar salad, both were excellent, and the prices are very reasonable. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank Driggio1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Driggio1987,

I’d have to agree… we do have the best spot in the Gaslamp! I love reading about our guest’s experiences - especially when specific staff members are mentioned! I assure you that I’ll share your feedback with Neil. I was also happy to know you enjoyed dining in Pinzimini. It’s a favorite with both our guests and the locals.

We look forward to your return!

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#64 of 286 in San Diego
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $134 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing