We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego's Best Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Westin Gas Lamp Quarter is San Diego's best downtown hotel. Located next to the Horton Plaza, everything that downtown San Diego has to offer is within walking distance. The hotel is a ten minute cab ride from the airport and once there you will never need a car. The rooms are spacious and well kept and the staff is responsive to your every need. The restaurant and the bar area are convenient and reasonably priced. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Room Tip: Choose a bay side room on the upper floors for maximum views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We flew into San Diego to celebrate a milestone birthday and we were given excellent treatement and service. Everyone at the Westin was top notch and excelled in all aspects of service. I have to extend a huge thank you to Matt and the front desk team for the birthday card and special gift. The extra special treatment made the birthday celebration one of the best!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a king suites for business. Great working desk nice comfortable chair for reading. Starbucks coffee in the room many fridge. Wish there was a microwave. It is in the gaslamp district so plenty of places and varieties of food. You can Brent new balance workout clothes so you can pack later for five bucks!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in one of the best locations nearThe Gaslamp Quarter in downtown San Diego.

The room was super clean and I had a room with 2 beds. The room had lots of space - a flat screen TV, and desk with multiple plug in station.

The room was super clean and sheets were high quality material, and the beds were super comfortable that allowed for 2 nights of great sleep.

The lobby was nice and large - and there was a restaurant and computers available for flight check-in and other options.
The bathroom was nice - had a modern look and a well lit mirror and a shower with great pressure and with a large square sunflower head with a handheld shower.

Valet parking was available and rather expensive but the best option. It was $40 for 24 hours and allowed us to come and go as we needed, without any extra charges. With self park you would pay every time you entered / exited. Also trying to park downtown can be tricky and any mistake and a ticket would cost you far more.

The great thing about this hotel is you can get to the various great spots of downtown just in a 5 min walk. Next to the Westin is the Westfield Mall. There is also right with in 100 yards of the hotel a Starbucks, Panera, and other numerous shops and restaurants.

Just a couple of blocks is 5th Ave - which if the popping area of downtown with all the restaurant, bars and shops. On a weekend the streets are packed with people all going out and partying.

It is also close to Petco Park and also the San Diego conference center - all about 5 min away.

Check out is easy just a key drop. I called the front desk checked the charges and they got me set and said all I have to do is drop my key in the box.

So if your headed to San Diego and looking for a nice hotel - this is a great option and at more of a reasonable price. I gave it a 5 star for it's hotel class and the location, and the wonderful staff. The staff is wonderful and make sure your stay is a good one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear surfcali,

What a terrific and very comprehensive review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am also glad to know that you particularly enjoyed interacting with the staff. We have a great team of dedicated associates and it’s always rewarding to know when our guests feel well taken care of.

Since you’re just up the road in Newport Beach, we hope to see you again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I love this hotel and I stay everytime I come to sunny San Diego.

I was booked in a room with two double beds (the hotel is sold out) and it was just not going to do so I told the front desk agent she would be my hero if she found me a kind bed room she would be my hero. Her response was "I want to be a hero today," and 2 mintues later I had a king room

BRIANA IS AWESOME!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank RSD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear RSD2,

I am so pleased that Brianna was able to ensure you got exactly what you wanted – and in record time!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was here for a conference. I can only take so much of the posturing, high testosterone conference so escaped to the pool to sit and work every day. A lovely space, with comfortable chairs. Westin is trying a new concept to be more green -- I didn't quite realize I would have no housekeeping at all over the four days (you can ask if you need to). Difficult to know how to tip since nothing was done to the room. Bar at this hotel is pricey -- $16 for a martini. The space did work well for our large regional conference. Excellent breakfast buffet. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter is among the highest-quality hotels I've visited. As a guest with a disability, I very much appreciate a hotel with staff that are respectful and sincere. My traditional room was spotless, with a large, comfortable bed, and a desk big enough for two laptops and paperwork. The hotel is footsteps from public transportation and a wide variety of dining and entertainment options.

I was impressed with the high-quality guest service the hotel offers. Guest Services supervisor Michael Manard went out of his way to help me with my disability, and bartender Rodrigo was attentive and efficient in the midst of a mob of academic conference attendees. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_LUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 286 in San Diego
1,049 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#29 of 286 in San Diego
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $190 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing