We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good option for downtown San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #39 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very good option for downtown San Diego”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here for three nights business in July.

Last time I was here the hotel was in the middle of serious refurbishment & it was pretty chaotic, however that is all finished and the end result is very good. The lobby, bar and restaurant are much better & the whole public space seems much brighter and airier.

I was upgraded to a corner suite, which was well appointed (standard Westin) and quiet.

I ate in the restaurant on two nights and had an really excellent steak.

Still the place to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Robh9999

I'm so glad you returned and had the opportunity to experience our beautiful new look! The new restaurant, Pinzimini, is simply fantastic. As is our new bar where we offer some very unique and fun cocktails. The public space is one of the most dramatic and extensive changes we went through and it's so nice to hear the feedback from guests such as yourself that were here in the past and then returned to see the total transformation.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    556
    137
    40
    27
See reviews for
277
408
50
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the convention center. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The location is just okay. It's a bit sketchy to be walking around the area at night. It's situated at Horton Plaza so if you like to shop then this hotel is perfect for you. If you're looking for a more downtown/partying feel then I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is great for walking to downtown activities. Check-in was easy. The Valets were great. Quick to bring your car and will accommodate holding your car when you are only running in for 15 minutes. The room was huge and clean. The whirl pool was nice but the water was a little too hot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisWinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and myself stayed in the Westin for five days in September and had a wonderfull time there.
The front desk staff were very friendly and informative, and made us very welcome, We spoke to them most days for advice on places to visit etc, and they were so helpfull and and went out of their way to advise us. The management of the Westin should be very proud they have such nice people greeting their guests, as the make a great first impression, The hotel is situated in the Gaslamp area and is only a short walk to 5th street which has some wonderfull restraunt's and pubs, also the Trolley bus stops just outside the hotel which is worth taking as it take you to the Old Town which is worth a visit. All in all we had a great visit to San Diego and staying in the Westin made it perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear nsmcnally

I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I was especially happy to know that our staff, particularly at the front desk, provided you with outstanding service. As you suggested, I am very proud of the dedicated team of people we have here, and reading comments such as yours is quite rewarding. While there’s no doubt our location is hard to beat, it’s the service and personal touches that make a lasting impression - and make guests want to return!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip over from Ireland!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here with a friend on a girls get away vacation. We had a great time in the city and the hotel was beautiful. Our view was wonderful as well. Nothing to complain about but the one thing that struck me as odd was the lack of security. We were out very late and did experience and very scary situation in the hotel lobby. A kitchen worker actually came out and chased off the man that was bothering and scaring us. At late hours I understand you cannot have a full staff but for the area the hotel was in I was shocked that there was not security in the lobby keeping an eye out for the safety of not only the guests but the employees. Anyone could have walked in at any time and no one would have been there expect a heroic kitchen employee.

Again the hotel was beautiful and the staff was very nice but the lack of security was alarming. I would stay here again though.. maybe I would pack mase though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

To whom it may concern,

I would like to take a moment and state experience yesterday while having breakfast in your San Diego, Westin hotel.

I was joined by my bother while enjoying our breakfast/ buffet , and our waitress was Ms. Korina Wise, and what a breath of fresh air , Ms. Wise added to our dining experience at the Westin Hotel. She was incredible, with her willing to do anything attitude, enthusiastic, bubbly attitude, beautiful smile and nothing less than impeccable service.

Checking on my brother and I , throughout the course of our breakfast. Making sure we were enjoying our breakfast buffet, carried my Briefcase to our dining table, filling water glasses , checking our coffee , just an amazing young waitress. Checking on us every few minutes to confirm we were happy and continent. , and boy were we ever.

Her smile and attitude is contagious , my brother and myself both said what an amazing , cheerful young lady that is without question a tremendous "Asset" to the Westin Hotel, San Diego.

I eat 90% of my meals on the road traveling, and Korena , even though she is young, is the best waitress I have Ever experienced, she is beyond excellent .. Treat her well !

Sincerely,
Steve Barnes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank S7t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple times on day trips to SD. Used to live in La Jolla for 5 years, so staying in Gaslamp Quarter is pretty nice to be back.

Hit up the Hard Rock Hotel pool parties, and then back to the Westin. Nice comfy rooms, upgraded me for free, friendly people, overall happy everytime I come in here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We love it that you always enjoy it here! Thank you for your loyalty and come back soon!

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
896 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,951 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing