We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Gaslamp Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #40 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Westin Gaslamp Quarter”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great hotel with good service. The only drawbacks are they do not have pop machines on the property only thru (expensive) room service. They also charge you $36 dollars a day for parking, but you can go in and out as you like.

Room Tip: Bring your own beverages and park somewhere cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review John P.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your experience and our services. Our hotel does not offer vending machines on the guest floors, however, our location is conveniently located very close to a grocery store and several convenience stores. Based on our guest feedback, they preferred to have the empty refrigerator and the option to bring or purchase their own items versus a stocked minibar that didn't quite cool like a refrigerator. We do offer refreshment center on demand through In Room Dining and it is tailored to your personal preferences.

Thank you again for your review and feedback - we truly appreciate you choosing the Westin Gaslamp Quarter as your home away from home.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    573
    141
    40
    27
See reviews for
286
416
54
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The heavenly beds were great! A special thanks to Paul the bellman. He treated me like royalty and always made sure I was we'll taking care of. Thanks Paul for making this trip worry free. He even went above and beyond and carried a package to the post office for me. Thanks again Paul you were awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Rmwake -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share you comments with Paul and his team. I am delighted to read he left a lasting impression with you and was able to ensure your entire experience was awesome.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The week at the Westin Gaslamp was a truly wonderful experience. Gabe, front desk who checked in was caring and very helpful. He was also the person who we checked out with and he was courteous and helpful in getting our car and made sure that everything was in order for checking out. The rooms were excellent! The restaurant and lounge were exceptional. The location is deal to shopping restaurants, and transportation. We ate there four times enjoying the food and service from Kimberly. Our conference was at the hotel and things went very smoothly from the sessions, posters, to receptions. I have not been to the hotel in years so was pleasantly surprised with the remodeling and service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Michael O -

Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to personally recognize Gabe and Kimberly. I am happy to hear they left you with such a great impression. I am pleased to read you enjoyed Pinzimini Restaurant and Bar. We have been open almost a year now and the new design, food options, location of the bar and energy continues to get great reviews from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Diego.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This location is right next to horton's plaza downtown and next to all the night life in the gaslamp! Loved everything about my stay, I believe this is the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calijewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Calijewel

Thank you for the great review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be ideal for everything from shopping to nightlife, and all within a few steps from the hotel! We know how vital a good nights' sleep is to feeling refreshed and rejuvenated - and our signature Heavenly Bed definitely delivers!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Gaslamp Quarter soon.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came here for a weekend away together last year. While the hotel staff and the room were great, they were currently doing a renovation and it was a bit of a mess. The location was fantastic, within walking distance to many great bars and restaurants. We even walked over to the local village for dinner and the view. I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleB638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
MichelleB638 -

Thank you for your review from May 2012. We were at the end of our $25 million renovation when you were here last. We officially completed the renovation June 9th, 2012. We hope you will come back to San Diego and give our property another try. The new look, feel and atmosphere is quite amazing.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a solo trip for 4 nights over Easter weekend. I would stay here again, and I would recommend it to others.

The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the location was excellent. I slept well in the bed. Didn't try the restaurant, pool, or gym, so I can't comment on those.

I was able to walk to 75% of the things I wanted to do, and the other 25% was easily accessible via trolley/bus/tour. The Old Town Trolley (hop-on/hop-off tour) stops just yards from the hotel. Hundreds of restaurants are within walking distance.

Cons - As with many hotels, the walls aren't exactly thick so I could hear others occasionally, mostly just toilets flushing (they have VERY strong flushing...) and the pizza man who knocked on my neighbor's door very loudly, and frequently, at 3am. Also, there is construction/improvements going on at the attached Westfield Horton Plaza. This didn't bother me, but it might be an annoyance to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
KristinaD27 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and within our city. The Old Town Trolley Tour is an amazing way to "see" and learn about San Diego. It is a guest favorite and you can buy the tickets on property from our Concierge.

It am happy to read the Horton Plaza improvement project did not affect your stay. Most of the really loud work is completed and has minimally affected our guests. This project is going to be a great improvement to our area and the Gaslamp Quarter. They are hoping to be completed by mid-2014.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Gaslamp Quarter and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed at several Westin hotels across the U.S. and I have consistently found these properties to be modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff at this property were very friendly, the room was in perfect condition and as usual the bedding/bed was amazing. I would argue that Westin has some of the most comfortable beds in the industry and ALL hotel chains should aspire to their standard! The only issue I found with this property was the speed of the Internet connection if you purchase the "High Speed Lite" version (which is the least expensive option). The speed (based on www.speedtest.net) for downloads was just shy of .58 mbps (folks this is not much better than dial up) so if you need faster connections for business applications, then this won't work for you. Other than this, the property is in very good condition and well worth the price paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Calguysactown -

I would have to agree - the Westin Heavenly Bed is amazing and the best in our industry. The bed and all its components can be purchased exclusively at Nordstrom’s, Pottery Barn and westin-hotelsathome.com. Enjoy the comforts of a Westin hotel in your own home.

We hope you will continue to choose Westin's when traveling and the Westin Gaslamp Quarter, in San Diego.

Remain Well,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
927 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing