We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #36 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Such a great hotel to stay at... Amazingly close to EVERYTHING! Airport, Shopping, Restaurants, Night life... What more can you ask for in hip San Diego... I loved exploring day & night! The hotel itself is modern, has super friendly staff and all the usual you would expect from a Westin... Good food and nice gym... I would definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We’re thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our ideal location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego’s Gaslamp Quarter, places you steps from amazing dining, shopping and entertainment.

The Westin Gaslamp Quarter successfully completed a $25 million dollar transformation in June of 2012. We completely renovated our guestrooms, meeting space, fitness studio and lobby. We're delighted you were able to experience our new fitness studio, featuring state-of-the-art LifeFitness cardio equipment with personal video screens and iPod stations LifeFitness Dual Adjustable Pulley equipment and a full range of free weights.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon.

Be Well.
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night for a conference before being moved to another hotel that was actually hosting the conference. It is a quiet tranquil hotel that is attached to an outdoor shopping mall. There were many restaurants in walking distance and a CVS Pharmacy. I usually look for a Walgreen's or CVS so I can buy snacks and bottled water for the room. That way, I am not forced to pay a huge amount for the bottle of water that is sometimes put in the room by the hotel so they can charge you $10 if you open it. However, the bottle of water in the room at the Westin was complimentary, as was the cozy bathrobe, the soft towels and the fabulous "heavenly bed". I would definitely stay here again and I found myself wishing that the other two nights of our trip weren't at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMC0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love hotels that have starbucks coffee and real half and half in the room, especially when I arrive in California from the East Coast. Huge help. Also love those cards that have the running route on them. Comfortable bed, nice chair with a window with sun coming in, close to the airport and other stuff (mall, restaurants, waterfront). Very friendly staff. Despite recent renovation, there were a few dings here and there, and the shower wasn't very warm. But all and all very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Many thanks for the great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with our complimentary in-room Starbucks coffee and great downtown location in Gaslamp Quarter.

We're also glad to hear you worked out with our area running map. Westin has also recently partnered with New Balance to allow you to pack lighter by providing athletic shoes and apparel during your stay ($5 per set of clothes). Shoes come with socks that are brand new and apparel is provided fresh and clean.

The Westin Gaslamp Quarter successfully completed a $25 million dollar transformation in June of 2012. We completely renovated our guestrooms, meeting space, fitness studio and lobby. We hope that you were able to experience our new fitness studio, featuring state-of-the-art LifeFitness cardio equipment with personal video screens and iPod stations LifeFitness Dual Adjustable Pulley equipment and a full range of free weights.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon!

Be Well.
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was in a fantastic location in the gaslamp quarter of the city. Great for being able to go and have a wander around, visit shops and restaurants in the area. San Diego is a great, laid back place where you'll find lots to do.

The hotel itself was brilliant, the rooms were recently refurbished and very modern and comfortable with their 'heavenly' mattress! Service was great, very attentive, parking is available but only valet parking which may be expensive but we expected this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsdothis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Great location, staff and room. We were on the 14th floor and upon check in we walked into the room in time to watch the sunset over the bay. We will stay here again when we return to SD.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view. However, there is on building on the bay side that could bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert478B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We're so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our ideal location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego’s Gaslamp Quarter, places you steps from amazing dining, shopping and entertainment.

We're glad you were able to experience the amazing sunset from your guestroom and our $25 million dollar transformation. We've completely renovated our guestrooms, meeting space, fitness studio and lobby.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon!

Be Well.
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. The rooms were newly remodeled, the pool was fabulous, the gym fully equipped, the lobby beautiful. All staff were very helpful. The location is ideal. I will mention that I did get the room for over half price thanks to Expedia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennLynn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We’re thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our ideal location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego’s Gaslamp Quarter, places you steps from amazing dining, shopping and entertainment.

We're also glad to hear about the great customer service you received. We have shared your comments with the team as a reminder of what we do best.

You can always get the best available rate by booking at westin.com.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon.

Be Well.
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Being in the Customer Experience business, we tend to be more critical than usual. We look at businesses from 2 perspectives. 1) as a customer and 2) how they rank in terms of Customer Experience.

This Westin definitely has the location advantage. A short walk to the heart of Gaslamp, short taxi rides to Seaport Village, The San Diego Zoo or a number of tourist attractions. Room was clean and comfortable. Interestingly, they do not subscribe to any "pay for movie" service. Not sure the rationale there. Some of their staff were absolutely wonderful to deal with (Danny, Rich and Tom). Staff greeted you at the door and helped everyone in and out of vehicles. Nice touch! Food was so-so and not worth the price. And the bar staff could use some personality but they were ok.

We used the spa service and while the massages were great, they take you to a cold, cement room on the 3rd floor, which was far from the desired spa feeling.

Now, I put my Customer Experience hat on and wonder about a few things. We stayed on a 'premier' floor but still had to pay for internet. Breakfast was super experience considering a local competitor offer free breakfast and you could have a better meal for much less $$ at a restaurant just across the street (St. Tropez). Check-in staff were not overly friendly and all wear name tags that identify their passion. Huh? Given the brand is "Your Heavenly Stay" what does their passion have to do with my heavenly stay? Never mind the fact that they seem so uncomfortable or unfamiliar with talking about their passion. (we love drawing attention to it just to see the reaction).

The Westin GasLamp gets an average from me but it is one of the best options in that area. They didn't do enough for me to say that I would never stay anywhere else but there. Unfortunately.

PS. If anyone from the Westin reads this and wants to discuss how we might be able to help, please reach out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review Gerry B. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to personally recognize the efforts of and great customer service from Danny and Rich, luggage attendants and Tom from the concierge team. I will ensure they all see your review and receive the appropriate recognition.

Our hotel transitioned away from pay-per-view movies January 2013, based on feedback from our guests. Our guests told us they preferred to have access to more channels at no cost, including movies, sports, travel and children's selection. We have expanded our channel selection through DirectTV and offer several movie channels complimentary with movies playing all day long.

Our new Pinzimini Restaurant offers a full service dining room for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as, a full service bar with food service throughout the day. We offer many guestroom packages that include breakfast and/or internet. As a Westin, we still make it a priority to offer Superfood items to support health and wellness throughout all meal periods.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#23 of 286 in San Diego
4,647 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 286 in San Diego
1,049 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#28 of 286 in San Diego
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $188 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing