We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,816)
Filter reviews
1,816 results
Traveler rating
962
628
151
43
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
962
628
151
43
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaslamp quarterhorton plazagreat locationheavenly bedwithin walking distanceconcierge deskvalet parkingstarbucks coffeeconvention centerbars and restaurantsgas lampvalet serviceper nightpetco parkhotel restaurantuss midwayseaport village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 1,816 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel during the renovations last year and were curious to see how it was now that it was complete.

The lobby is small but nice and about average for a Westin.

On the first night we were put on the 5th floor right by the elevator overlooking the patio. All night we could hear the elevators and we got very little sleep. The room was small and definitely not as nice as the one we had been in the previous year. The following morning I went to the front desk and asked to be moved away from the elevators, the clerk was very understanding and immediately agreed that it was no problem to move us. We were moved to a room on the 7th floor at the very end of the hall which was much larger than the previous room and similar to the one we had had the previous year.

The restaurant at the hotel is horrible as it is all very heavy italian like food, without much variety as many of the items have similar ingredients (ie. basil). I have stayed at several Westin's over the years and usually enjoy their lighter menus with larger variety, I hope that all Westin's are not changing their menu's to this one.

Overall the hotel was average, nothing great but nothing bad. I think that if you were travelling to the city for business the hotel would be great. It is also central to most everything which is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re glad you were able to experience our $25 million dollar transformation. We completely renovated our guestrooms, meeting space, fitness studio and lobby. We’re delighted that you enjoyed our location, right in the heart of San Diego’s downtown Gaslamp Quarter, and steps from amazing dining, shopping and entertainment.

We worked with Starwood on two of their food and beverage concepts, opening Ingredients Grab-n-Go and Pinzimini Italian restaurant. It is disappointing to hear that our new restaurant Pinzimini was not up to your expectations.

Thank you again for your time and feedback. We hope to get another opportunity and welcome you back to San Diego and The Westin Gaslamp Quarter.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this Westin and were treated like friends! The staff was friendly, helpful and always happy to help. The staff in the restaurant were great...helpful and fantastic. Staying at the Westin was like coming home...without the chores! Everything was so close...shopping, tours, views...a great place...with amazing staff...would never stay anywhere else....and the Heavenly beds are absolutely heavenly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie55906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First of all, I must say that the service was very good.

Where this place loses a star is that it lacks value for what you pay.

Parking is overpriced, you have to valet your car. However, the unlimited in and out privileges were nice.

The in house restaurant was average, but the prices were once again too high for what you got in return.

What I liked about our room, king size bed, was that it was spacious and had a very nice decor.

What I didn't like about our room was the bathroom door. Why hotels feel the need to get fancy with the bathroom door is beyond me. There's a reason that a door exists between the sleeping and living area and what goes on in the bathroom. My fiance, bless her heart, had to number two and if not for my iPod, the stay would have become much more awkward.

They forgot to clean our room, and by the time we got back at night and called the front desk, the housekeeping staff was already gone. I was disappointed that they couldn't offer us anything other than fresh towels at the time.

We scheduled a couples massage, and it was delayed due to a missing massage table. Here, the customer service really shined as the manager called us to inform us of the delay and also told us why there was a delay. It didn't interrupt our day very much, as it was only a 20 minute delay.

All in all, I would try out other hotels in the Gaslamo district before coming back here, but it wasn't exactly a bad experience either.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all rooms met the same quality standards as ours, so you'll be fine in terms of quality of decor and cleanliness. I would avoid any rooms by the elevators, as there are 4 elevators clustered together.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vang0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We’re delighted to hear about the great customer service you received. We will share with the team as a reminder of what we do best.

We’re also delighted you enjoyed our spacious new guestrooms, featuring the signature Heavenly Bed and Bath and the NEW Heavenly Rain Shower. The Westin Gaslamp Quarter successfully completed a $25 million dollar transformation in 2012 and the first Westin to introduce the brand’s new modern design. We dramatically updated our lobby, public areas and meeting space.

We apologize for the housekeeping issue you experienced and we have addressed your concerns with our Housekeeping team.

Our overnight valet parking price is competitive in the market and on the lower end of similar hotels in the city. Unfortunately, due to our location, we only offer our hotel guests valet parking. Unlike other downtown locations, we do offer in-and-out privileges.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will look to Starwood's many brands when traveling in the future.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Gaslamp from 12/9-12/14/2012. The hotel and staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and clean. The reasons for not giving this hotel an "Excellent" review is that for the price (up scale hotel) you should be given free WiFi in the room. It was only available in the lobby. Lastly, if you have a vehicle to park, valet is all that is available and about $34 a day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is situated in a terrific location. Next to Horton Plaza for shopping and great nightlife with great bars and restaurants. The rooms were beautiful with the most fantastic showers and comfortable beds. The food was great in the restaurant especially the Tiramisu. The staff of the hotel were so helpful and friendly. Paul and Rich went out of their way to be helpful with our bags at the Bell Desk. Paul was so friendly and informative about the area and the hotel. Martha was a fantastic coordinator for our conference. She made sure we received everything needed for our conference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We’re delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our ideal downtown San Diego location, right in the heart of Gaslamp Quarter, places you steps away from amazing dining, shopping at Horton Plaza and entertainment.

We’ve shared your message with Paul, Rich, Martha and the entire team as a great reminder of what we do best. We’re also thrilled to hear about the great dining experience you had at our new restaurant, Pinzimini.

The Westin Gaslamp Quarter completed a $25 million dollar transformation in June of 2012. We completely renovated our guestrooms, fitness studio, meeting space and lobby. We’re happy you slept well in our Heavenly Bed and were able to experience our new Heavenly Rain Shower.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego and The Westin Gaslamp Quarter soon.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews