We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Gaslamp Quater in August with my 2 teenage children. Concierge and front desk staff were terrific! The room was lovely and the main floor lounge area was really inviting. The pool and excercise area were also very nice. Great location. Would stay here again anytime if traveling to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    540
    129
    39
    25
See reviews for
267
399
48
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everything you need or want within walking distance. Clean room with refrigerator and safe. Great bed, pillows and shower. Service was exceptional with all those we encountered. Michelle at Pinzimini restaurant was amazing. She went far beyond our expectations and we will visit her again on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to personally recognize Michelle for her exceptional customer service at the bar. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in San Diego and most importantly, here at the Westin Gaslamp Qarter. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Attended a conference held in this hotel. It's a nice hotel. We had a basic room on a lower level overlooking an outdoor patio. I liked the quiet airconditioning, with good temperature control, fairly comfortable beds, and the place was relatively quiet most of the time. The conference layout was better than some I've been in with better spacing between attendees. For the most part the lighting and PA services worked well. And the temperature wasn't freezing all the time. Our conference was catered, and I thought that the food was pretty good, compared to other conference buffet meals. The Gaslamp Quarter is a good location if you like sports bars and that scene. There are other restaurants along 5th Avenue, but the sports bars dominate. Horton Plaza has seen better days. Still, we were there for meetings, so having an interesting place for dinner after was good.
On the down side, there was a party out on the patio on Saturday night with loud music going until 11:00pm. And someones room service tray was left sitting in the hallway for almost a day. The exercise room was reasonably well equipped, but quite stuffy. They have this deal where you can borrow their gym suit and sneakers, but it's not something I would want to do. This is a pleasant hotel, but it doesn't have a whole lot of wow or character. It gets the job done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel, while nice and well located has a major flaw - a lack of sound insulation between rooms and very noisy toilets - as a result you're treated to the constant sounds of people taking a pee in adjacent rooms followed by the jet engine flush of the toilet. It seemed to surround my room to the left, right and above! Not a good hotel if you're going to be sitting quietly in your room getting some work done. I was on Level 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anth0ny_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay. It is unfortunate to hear you were impacted by noise within the hotel and specifically the toilets. While we do our best to mitigate all noise, ensuring a restful stay, we missed this opportunity with you and I sincerely apologize. We are looking into options to help address this issue.

We truly value your business and your feedback and hope you will give Westin hotels another try in the future should your travels allow.

Sincerely,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great location in a wonderful town. Lots of eateries all around.
Easy access to transport, local transit facilities and the wharf.
It was kind of crowded the day we came in, taking a little time to get to our room.
I've been working downstairs in the lobby during the late morning,
and have to say, they have a great asset in their bellman Paul.
San Diego weather is all one could wish for.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall experience. Thank you for taking the time to personally recognize Paul, one of our luggage attendants. I will ensure he is properly recognized within the property and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should your travels allow.

Be Well,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Westin Gaslamp Quarter for 4 nights when attending a recent conference at the Convention centre. The hotel itself is not much different from any other large, major hotel chain. We stayed in a large room on the 10th floor overlooking the inner Broadway circle, so this helped to keep the noise down.
The room itself was large with a king sized bed, a couple of armchairs, and a computer desk, standard TV. There was a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee provided, a small fridge in the room and a safe. The bed was clean and comfortable, pillows great as well. Room was very clean and housekeeping did a good job every day.
The concierge was very helpful with assisting with directions and providing a map, trolley information and directions to the various sites that we wanted to visit. The location of the hotel is perfect! we prefer to walk when we can, so the 7 block walk to the convention center was not too bad ordinarily, but a little tough to take for a couple of days when the temperature hit over 100! We we able to walk to many restaurants and shops in the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park for a Padres game, and the trolley station. Loved Ralp's grocery store just a few blocks away for snacks and cold drinks which were kept cold in the fridge. The hotel itself is right next to a shopping mall with Macy's, Nordstroms, Banana Republic, Aldo, etc so good for an afternoon of retail therapy.
There was an iron and ironing board in the room, but the board is a little on the small side ~ not an issue if you are doing touch ups, but will be challenging if you have any large or overly long item to press. Bathroom and shower were clean and satisfactory. The rooms perhaps could stand some updating, but are neat and clean.Internet was about 10$ per day for ordinary or 15$ for high speed access, buy a 4 day package if you can and are staying for more that a couple of days, it is a bit cheaper.
Not so sure that i would stay here again, there are a lot of hotels to choose from in this area, and we only stayed here as it was paid for. We stayed at another hotel for 4 days prior to coming to the Westin, and preferred it to the Westin except for the location. All in all, I could stay here again but would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: pick a higher floor, quieter. Our room overlooked Broadway circle, so we still heard traffic noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel!
-great location, next to Horton Plaza
-large room with a huge TV and free water bottles
-walking distance to everything downtown
-friendly, helpful staff
-cheap parking in a lot just around the corner
-everything in the hotel was clean, comfortable and perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadrachsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing