We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a mix of passion and non-passion. Front desk personnel lacked heart. Focus seemed to be on one-another each time I approached. In addition I had a very special promotion and had to inform them of all it offered, even though once I mentioned they seemed to find it quickly on their screen, including at check-out. The staff in the lounge area and the restaurant were exceptional. Both helpful and passionate. The hotel appeared to have gone through an upgrade but still looked a bit tired in the room and hallway areas. The lobby area had a trendy appearance. I just did not get that wow feeling from my stay. With so many choices in the area probably will pick elsewhere on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego. We understand you have many choices when selecting a hotel and we are glad you chose us. Thank you for your kind comments about our lounge staff. They truly enjoy what they do and are so energized to be in their new space (bar and restaurant). I am sorry to read your experience was quite the opposite with the front office team and have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with the team to evaluate what we can adjust to ensure we are meeting and exceeding the basic expectations of our guests throughout their entire experience.

Thank you for your time and feedback. It is through guest feedback like yours that we can revisit our standards and ensure we are at our best all the time.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    540
    129
    39
    25
See reviews for
267
399
48
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I checked into the W and it was so awful I checked out 30 minutes later. As I am a platinum guest I had the hotel make me a reservation at the westin but there are 2 in san diego and the W driver took me to the wrong one.

A good mistake. The westin gaslamp had just been redone and was lovely. Good service ,great room,great stay.Was there 4 nights

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback with Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear of your arrival experience at the W Hotel, however, am glad things worked out the way they did and we were able to accommodate you here at the Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We truly value you as a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest and I am extremely happy we were able to meet and exceed your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should your travels bring you to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just returned from a very nice weekend trip at Westin's San Diego Gaslamp Hotel.

They recently remodeled the hotel with excellent results. We booked 2 rooms, one for my wife and myself and the other for our son.

The reservation request was for connecting rooms on a high floor on the west side (quiet side) of the hotel.

What can I say? Everything went well.

The valet people were all friendly and proficient.
The check-in lady hailing from Sweden was friendly
as well. I believe her name was Sofia?
In fact, I found all the staff at the hotel friendly in an energetic way. A good thing I must say!
The hotel is adjacent to the Horton Shopping Mall,
making it a convenient place to visit.
Our rooms on the 15th floor were inviting, having been done in neutral colors. The beds were comfy
as were the chairs including the one at the spacious desk. The fridge was a nice convenience.
The partial view of the ocean brought much light into
the room.
The bathrooms functioned well.
However, the water pressure at the sinks could have been a little better but nothing really to complain about.
Our room service breakfast was adequate and the same could be said about our dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Both were convenient but I think there are better opportunities outside the hotel.
I have read the complaints here about the hotel, most of which were dwelling on the hotel's problems prior to its remodeling.
However, our stay being post-remodeling, we found
all those problems absent.
The entire staff did their work in a friendly stress-free manner. The hotel's valet parking, entrance, lobby, reception area, bar, elevators, hallways, rooms, and restaurant were remodeled with a modern inviting decor.
We have recommended this hotel to several of our friends.

Room Tip: Upper floor (15th or 16th) west side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

overall we had an excellent stay at your hotel. your staff was very helpful. areas for improvement: the temperature in the workout area is kept too warm and we complained that the refrigerator in our room smelled. even after it was cleaned by your staff it still smelled

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego and for sharing your recent experience with Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read our staff was helpful and you had an excellent experience overall. We recently completed a large air handler project that has already improved the air flow within the building, including the WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio. I apologize this fix was taking place while you were here. We have seen a huge change in a matter of days. Thank you for providing us with the feedback and we hope you will come back and visit us again soon and see the difference.

Be Well,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stay'd at the Westin Gas Lamp Quarter's the hotel itself is wonderful, located just right, Horton Plaza walking distance as well as the Gas Lamp Quarter's, the only issue that I had was that the pool closed at 10:00pm, by the time we returned from dinner the time my kids had in the pool was so limited, needs to stay opened later

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canyon92807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback about the Westin Gaslamp Quarter. I am happy to read you enjoy the overall experience and location and apologize the pool hours were not conducive to your needs. Being a downtown property, we have to follow the local city ordinance in regards to noise and therefore the pool hours are set accordingly (6am - 10pm). Noise travels very easily and loudly off the buildings.
We hope you will visit us again if in San Diego.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

For a recent trip to San Diego, I opted to use some frequent flier miles I had saved up to help defer the cost of a hotel. The limitations of this approach led me to select the Westin Gaslamp Quarter hotel based on its excellent location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter.

Approaching the hotel, I had the only difficulty of the entire stay there. The hotel entrance and its valet service area can best be described as a "chaotic mess." Cars were left everywhere, taxis attempted to skirt through the mess into the attached Westfield Shopping Center. The valets themselves seemed to be a bit confused, not even having the tags to hand out and making us wait in our car until they could return with them, but also not informing us that was they case.

Once we got into the hotel, the results of the remodel were immediately apparent. The very clean, well appointed rooms and an immaculate lobby and restuarant area help to correct our first impression caused by the valet mess.

With everything new, there's very little to say about the room experience beside the fact that it was practically flawless.

Checkout was a breeze, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful for all of our questions and needs.

As we were leaving, I overhead one of the valets standing around say "It looks like it's going to be a quiet sunday." and then I promptly had to wait 15 minutes for them to bring me my car.

I'd recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place in the Gaslamp Quarter and don't mind walking a block or two from a nearby parking ramp... I also implore the hotel to retrain/replace their valet parking service to correct their major flaw as soon as they can.

Room Tip: AVOID THE VALET PARKING! It's a ridiculously expensive utter mess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor recapping your experience at the Westin Gaslamp Quarter. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all it had to offer, location, new restaurant/bar, coffee shop, lobby, etc. The transformation is truly amazing and we continue to receive feedback like yours approving of the end result. I am glad our staff left an impression of being helpful and friendly with you, as they too are so proud of our new product.
It is unfortunate to hear of your experience with the valet team. I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with them and will continue to work with the team to make corrections to ensure a smooth and warm welcome, as well as, an appreciative and quick departure.

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly through guest feedback that we are able to make adjustments and improve our services.

Be Well,
Alyssa Halverson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visit San Diego every year and this was our best stay yet! The service was great. The room was perfect for our stay. We spent 4 days at this hotel and enjoyed every day there. We would recomend this place to anyone who is going to be in the Gas Lamp district.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fborrego79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing