We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for our San Diego Trip. The hotel is nice, great bar and pool/lounge area. Rooms are clean. Great restaurants across the street. We walked the harbor area and walked across the street at night for pizza!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, so next time I would ask for a room by the pool/lounge area which is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twogr8ize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    288
    140
    52
    41
See reviews for
232
158
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times. It is located in a good area not too far from the airport. Service was excellent and the room with a balcony overlooking the bay was excellent.The pub on site is good and the facilities are great. Ruth Chris/Chris ruth steakhouse next door really good. Handy for the Coronado ferry and also the trolley stop is only a few minutes walk for downtown or all the way to mexico and the outlet centre. I stayed for work so was out most of the day and did not use the leisure facilities.
Good recognition of Platinum members.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main building with a balcony and looking over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when I came to visit my son at Camp Pendleton. It is located overlooking the harbor and only a mile from the airport.

The shuttle driver gave a very nice first impression for the hotel. Very friendly and informative. The front desk welcomed us with smiles. We stayed in the older portion of the hotel and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. The room was very neat and clean. Plenty of towels and great water pressure. The beds were very comfortable. We had a nice view of the harbor.

We ate breakfast at the Point Loma Cafe which is attached to the hotel. We received a $12 credit for each of us. The breakfast was amazing! Delicious and plenty of it. Our server was friendly too.
We ate dinner in the bar area on our last night. Once again, friendly service and great food.

The hotel is in a nice location. We went to the San Diego Zoo one day. The next day we went to Little Italy and then over to the Gaslamp District. Short cab rides to all.

We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleT3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I booked this hotel via the marathon sponsors of my run. I was expecting what you normally get from an average hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. My room was very spacious and clean. I loved the floor to ceiling wall length windows. So bright and airy, so California. It is in walking distance to the marina across the street that offers restaurants, even though the hotel has one as well and the beaches were just a 10 min drive. Airport is just on the edge of the property and 6 miles is old town and downtown. I will definitely stay here again for next years run and some weekend getaways in between!

Room Tip: 3rd building in the new section are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfarr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Really kind of average and old hotel, at least at the up grade room they gave me as a platinum member. No welcome drink or a bottle of water. For a budget hotel is ok. If you want something more up date isn't. Internet is slow and the lobby is quite far from the "old" section.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear OCZ: Thank you so much for posting your review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I'm sorry to hear that you were not recognize as a Platinum member of our IHG Rewards Program. We appreciate your business and I apologize that you were not given the IHG Rewards standard amenity. We also try our very best to provide you with the best room we offer but we can only do so with what our inventory would allow. If I felt your experience was typical, I would not warrant a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that we may provide you with the style of service and accomodations we wish you have received in the first place. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean, pretty nice lodging. The breakfast credit at the cafe that is on site is quite good. Not fancy, but above simply 'functional.' The location is convenient to a lot of destinations. I have frequent lodging needs for San Diego and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erictheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a weird layout of hotel. You go in to register at a really nice looking lobby, then we had to get back in our car and drive down past three drive ways. The middle part of the hotel is old with outside exposed doors and then the other part is aging, but nicer. Still not as nice as the quality of the lobby however. We had to walk across the parking lot, through the gym past the bar to get to the pool. The pool was cold and hot tub was not very big. Seemed like when I viewed the property on line from lobby pictures this was going to be a really nice hotel for the money, but the lobby is the only part of the whole compound that is that nice. I would say it is over priced for what you get, but not horrible. The $10 for parking is kind of high since they are not assigned per room. The hotel was clean, just old.

Room Tip: The kids suites are fun for the kids. There are bunk beds a desk and tv however the wall only goes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisem306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear denisem306: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for any confusion you encountered with the layout of the hotel. Due to the different construction and expansion that our hotel had, many people are surprised to find that the hotel has a unique layout and not your traditional hotel that people are accustomed to. Rates vary depending on season and availability, therefore rates can be competitive or deemed high in comparison to other properties in the area. We will always do our best to give our clients the best possible rate. I totally understand your frustration with the hotel parking fees. Unfortunately there are costs associated with maintaining parking lots and structures, particularly in densely populated urban areas like San Diego. We would certainly like another opportunity to win back your good faith to our hotel during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#135 of 278 in San Diego
1,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing