We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel - Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #115 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice value oriented property. The accomodations are clean and updated. Access to the different buildings is a cause for minor confusion but not an imposition. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance and they are very accomodating in providing shuttle service to the airport. This Holiday Inn really does need to provide breakfast.The front desk staff is to be complimented for their knowledge of the area and their helpfulness at providing information. The hotel restaurant was convenient with good food quality and service.

A good airport getaway location with good proximity to the downtown Gaslamp area if driving.

Room Tip: Try to get in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Gary C: Thank you so much for posting your comments about your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and services we have to offer. I know that our property has a unique layout and might be confusing for guests but we do have a golf cart to take our guests from one building to another if needed. We are looking forward to seeing you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 782 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I checked into this hotel after our flight was scrubbed due to inflight mechanical failure necessitating return to the airport. All other flights were full for two days as many people bumped from the canceled flight filled up an already busy weekend schedule. The desk clerk was courteous and prompt and our particular room was nice but a tad dated. They are in the process of updating them, however, so I expect they will be even nicer should we go back. The room was still more than acceptable as it was. The location was great as it was on the waterfront but away from the more congested downtown area yet just a short drive to everything so it was perfect for us. Pool area was nice with tropical palms. Since it was the one time I neglected to bring my own WI FI device it was handy that they had computers available for their guests so I could make arrangements for the flight home. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguy25_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for an airport stopover. When we arrived at our terminal we rang up the hotel and organised the free shuttle which came within 5 minutes. All of the staff we met were genuinely friendly and helpful. Our shuttle driver Rob gave us loads of tips about the local area. My room was very nice, modern and clean. The hotel itself has a strange layout but not a problem. Didn't have breakfast but it was reasonably priced. List of television channels in the room which helps foreign guests like me! The only downside is that I was woken up quite early in the morning due to what I think was building work (but not sure). One floor of the hotel had paper on the floor due to re-decoration also but this didn't effect our stay.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed 7 nights 1 adult and 2 children. Arrived late at night, the shuttle arrived quickly. Lola was on duty and she was friendly and helpful, asked if we had a car, I wasn't planning on one as heard parking was expensive in SD and hard to find space.She advise taking the bus/trolleys and even lent us a compass bus pass. This is a very good system. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the bus stop 28 to the Old Town with links everywhere or stop 923 down town again links from there. Had a room in the old part of the hotel and its not a major hike there.If you want a taxi to seaworld or seaport village cost is approx $17. room was clean and over look the pool and and another building, also could see the harbour. Didn't use the restaurant did walk in but left didnt look very appetizing. There are 2 good restaurants within 5 minutes in the harbour plus a MCds, Dennys and Arbys very near, also a Ralphs grocery store.All in all a great stay comfy room good location and friendly staff what more do you need on holiday. (vacation).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Many of the other reviews mention that this is a property with a strange, cut up layout. This is certainly true if you are not in the newer main tower above the lobby.
The property has several buildings including a seperate pool and dining wing.
I was in the main tower and enjoyed a beautiful new room with a nice view of the harbor.
The property is within easy walking distance of multiple dining options and also offers a 24 hour shuttle to the aiport.
I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Wildcat1897: Thank you so much for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer and also the wide array of things to do and restaurants to go to within walking distance. We thank you for your business and looking forward in serving you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Not for business travelers. Several challenges. Distance to rooms ~ 1/2 block from lobby to room. Older hotel from what appears to be renovated apartment bldg. no interest or engagement from staff. Limited Resturant offering. Recommend other location well before this property. Not worth the $145 I paid. ............"..."....",,,.......bldg. no interest or engagement from staff. Limited Resturant offering. Recommend other location well before this property. Not worth the $145 I paid.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Seasoned2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Seasoned2014:
Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your experience during your stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I sincerely apologized for any inconveniences you might have experienced during your stay. We are currently undergoing renovation and we expect completion by this Spring. And maybe next time you can try and reserve the rooms in the Bayside Building. I am quite concern as well that you perceived our staff to be uninterested and unengaged. Unhelpful staff is unacceptable at any time. I discussed your comments with our Front Office Manager and will be a topic on their next staff meeting. We do have a restaurant on property that boasts a wide array of menus as well as restaurants within walking distance like the Liberty Station which is a home to 2 Breweries and about 20 plus restaurants. We look forward to serving you again during a future visit to San Diego and enjoy the wide array of things the area has to offer and provide you with the quality of service I wish you have received in the first place. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited San Diego over valentine's day weekend and stayed here in the new building at the hotel. Rooms were very clean, bright and new. We had pretty views of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom really nice. Only complaints had to do with sound. The windows don't keep out the sounds of traffic and you can hear neighbors on both sides and above you. Staff was very helpful and gave great tips for exploring the local area on foot and recommendations for restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. Keep up the great work.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 859cherylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#146 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing