We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #119 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights while attending a US Navy reunion. Check-in was a bit slow but employee nice, professional and apoligetic.The new front lobby building is an outside walk from the hotel tower as it appears they have combined 3 diffferent hotel properties into one. Room was in the far tower on the 4th floor. Very little/no street or airport noise. Room clean and spacious. Only minor complaint was that room was not serviced daily until late in the afternoon and the elevators were slow. Newer TV with HD channels. Meeting rooms were comfortable and in same tower. Looked at the pool, it seemed nice and they had outdoor billard and ping-pong tables nearby. Did not eat at the onsite resturant, and there was many food options nearby. Navy Exchange/ gas station across the street for those with proper military ID's.

Room Tip: High floor room in largest back tower. Middle two story tower had rooms with direct ouside access, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    291
    142
    52
    41
See reviews for
236
159
32
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The PROs: Location is great. Price was great. It was clean.

Cons: thermostat made the room either really hot or freezing. Set the TV to sleep and it never happened. Had to turn it off in the middle of the night. One of the lights didn't work. Overall it felt a little run-down in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear David_Justin: Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience or frustration you experienced during your stay. I truly understand your aggravation dealing with the thermostat and the TV not working properly. I would like to tell you that we would be undergoing renovation to include replacement of all case goods. We expect completion by early next year. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that we can provide you with the style of service and accomodations I wish you had received in the first place. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A lovely stay in the new part of the hotel. So clean and comfortable. The issue with the shower was delt with promptly. The only slight complaint was getting back from a day out at 4pm to find our room as we left it. The beds had not been made etc. The next morning we got a knock on the door at 08.20 from housekeeping? If you do go we so recommend Jimmys Bar opposite. The. Food was just delicious and the atmosphere great. The only other comment I would make is the pool area needs updating, maybe a bigger pool to accommodate the extra guests with the latest addition to the hotel,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very convenient location for the airport, downtown, restaurants, and shopping. They just remodeled the main building it is very nice. The other buildings were in need of some remodeling but it looks as if it is coming soon. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilike2travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

THE hotel is brandnew, but kind of cold atmosphere.The room was ok, not too big but we booked with breakfast and had to leave at 6 in the morning and there was no possibility to get a breakfast to take away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Susanne K: Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback during your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am so sorry to hear that you perceived the hotel to have a cold atmosphere. Our design team is continually working on making the hotel look modern and contemporary and inviting for all our guests, adding more features since we opened the building on July 3rd. I also want to apologize that you were not able to take advantage of the breakfast since our Point Loma Cafe opens at the time you were leaving. We could have given y ou options for breakfast if you mentioned to any of our staff member that you won't be able to avail the breakfast that came with your reservations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My little Family and I stayed at this particular San Diego Holiday Inn during a weekend getaway this past weekend (August 9-11th) based on location. It is located a few miles from downtown San Diego, a few miles from the beach, a few miles from the freeway, a few miles from Cabrillo National Monument and most important there are some great restaurants in close proximity.
From Interstate 8 to the hotel it can be a bit intimidating with all the traffic especially at night when we arrived but it is manageable if you study your route a head of time. Arriving at the hotel I found temporary parking for check in to be a hassle because there was no designated area for check in and it can get pretty crowded outside the lobby; luckily there were some open parking spaces around the corner. Speaking of lobby, the lobby is located in the new tower; it is very nice, clean, and up to date. The front desk person was very polite and welcoming even after being swamped with a rush of people all at once.
Our room was in the old tower, it was night and day compared to the new tower where the hotel lobby is at. It looked like it had seen better days being a little outdated. Parking is very limited especially if you check in late. Inside the old tower there are two elevators but only one went to levels 1-4 the other is for level 5 and meeting rooms. The elevator is very small and when it gets busy it’s faster to take the stairs. We stayed in the 2 Queen room. It was smaller than expected and felt a little cramped. The bathroom vanity area is small but functional. The bathtub/toilet room has a little more room. The towel rack inside the bathtub surround was bit strange, but the shower did not soak the towels. In general the room was quiet and served its purpose. Having a fridge in the room helped a lot. One thing I wish the room had is ability to open the window because it can get a bit stuffy in there. I needed to print some tickets from a computer and was able to at the business center, the only problem was the business center, at least one I could find, is in the lobby way across the property from the old tower.
After traveling with a crying baby on board and navigating through traffic I wanted to relax with drink at the bar before bed so I went to the lounge just to find it closed for a private party! Luckily the café was next to the lounge so my journey was not a waste and I was able to pick up food to go. By the way the food at the café is excellent!
This Holiday Inn is good place to stay if you are planning to explore the city and surrounding areas. The cost of the room where we stayed may be a little overpriced for the quality of the room. We would definitely stay here again but will stay in the newer tower or poolside rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ_MRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear AZ_MRG: Thank you so much for your review and talk about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature. First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. While it is always our intention to provide the best guest satisfaction, we sometimes fall short of even our own expectations. I'm sorry that you were not informed of the business center located in the 3rd floor of the back tower where you were located at. I'm pleased to hear that you find our Front Desk staff to be polite and welcoming. Our Point Loma Cafe has excellent food choices and very economical. We would definitely want to welcome you back on your future visit to San Diego and explore the area and enjoy the amenities and service we have to offer. I am also happy to announce that we would be undergoing renovation to include replacement of all case goods and we expect completion by early 2014. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Missed plane in San Diego due to a 5 1/2 border crossing. Called the hotel and they had a room, shuttle service to the airport and a restaurant that was open until 10:00 PM. Worked for me. Room was clean and comfortable and faced the pool. Balcony had two chairs and the coffee pot worked. Sort of your standard HI, but that was all we needed. People were friendly and the food just what we needed after being in Mexico for 4 days. A bit on the expensive side ($173.00) but so it goes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#141 of 278 in San Diego
1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing