We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for Me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #123 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good enough for Me”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Missed plane in San Diego due to a 5 1/2 border crossing. Called the hotel and they had a room, shuttle service to the airport and a restaurant that was open until 10:00 PM. Worked for me. Room was clean and comfortable and faced the pool. Balcony had two chairs and the coffee pot worked. Sort of your standard HI, but that was all we needed. People were friendly and the food just what we needed after being in Mexico for 4 days. A bit on the expensive side ($173.00) but so it goes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    289
    141
    52
    41
See reviews for
234
158
32
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had a chance to stay here for a week in early August and was very impressed with the facility and the staff. The restaurant was outstanding and food was top notch and the service was as good as it gets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The front desk was very helpful. The rooms are cramped and outdated. Depending in what price you get it at you ,ought enjoy your stay. The pool is heated is nice and heated. The location is great depending on what you're planning on doing. No elevators....depending on which wing your are in.

Room Tip: No elevatos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sav4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear sav4you: I appreciate your comments regarding your recnt stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am happy to tell you that we would be undergoing renovation this fall to include replacement of all case goods and will feature modern and contemporary artwork. Unfortunately all poolside buildings on our property does not have any elevator and I do apologize for any inconvenience. Our location is centrally located, we are so close to the San Diego airport and only about 5 miles from downtown and only a couple of miles from Liberty Station which boasts a wide array of restaurants and bars for young and old alike. We look forward to serving you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

When I stayed here in December I felt right at home. The room was typical of the type of hotel Holiday Inn is but the feel felt like the holiday inn was like a fancier hotel. This holiday inn IS in the perfect location, close to the hotel (less then a 5 minute taxi ride) and across the street to the cruise ship terminal (if you are going on a cruise out of San Diego STAY HERE!) The public transit is very close. Either the 923 bus stops at the north end of the hotel or the train service ( Sorry I forgot what its called.) Lots of value for your $$$.

Room Tip: Either way cant lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradise555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I were stranded at San Diego airport after a canceled flight and found the Holiday Inn Bayside online. It is very easy to get to this hotel from the airport, or anywhere in San Diego really - it is really central and easily accessible. They offer an airport shuttle and the hotel is brand new, with spacious, clean rooms, and all the necessary amenities. We were very pleased with this hotel. I believe there are other, older buildings that are part of the hotel also, and have read bad reviews on those rooms. The new side is fantastic, though!

Room Tip: book a room in the new tower only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a complicated property. Holiday Inn Bayside is comprised of three separate buildings: the tower on the west side of the property, the two-level building in the center, and the brand new tower on the east side of the property. The two-level is the oldest building and surrounds the pool and mini golf green. To be clear, your booking method will determine the building and type of room you're assigned to. We booked through Hotwire which automatically books you into a smoking room. We called ahead of time to request a non-smoking room and were assured the request would be granted but were assigned to a first-floor room in the two-level building which smelled musty/smoky. We requested another room and were reminded that our Hotwire reservation was for a smoking room and that the only other room that was available was a king bed room. We took it and they agreed to deliver a roll-up bed at no cost. Fair enough.

Service is good and the staff does its best to work with an aging property. The large inventory of smoking rooms is problematic as is the attempt to disguise smoking rooms as non-smoking. Those sensitive to cigarette smoke should look for a non-smoking property.The pool area is well kept and all rooms in the two-story building (the oldest, ugliest, and smelliest) have almost direct access to the pool or a private balcony (a trade-off, I suppose). The on-site cafe served up a good breakfast and the staff was enormously attentive. The location doesn't work well without a car but is a great alternative for families visiting Mission Bay and Sea World on a budget and with a car. Parking is free but limited. Don't bother logging on to the free wi-fi. It's slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear juststartedtravelling: Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. Although I was pleased that you were satisfied with our services, I do want to apologize that we were not able to honor your request for a 2-bedded room non smoking. We do the very best to accomodate all requests however sometimes we get into unfortunate situation of not being able to do so. I am also happy to announce that we would be undergoing renovation of the other buildings to include new case goods that would happen starting this fall. We hope everything would be done by early next year. We sincerely like another oppotunity to win back your good faith to the hotel during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at one of the "kids suites" where they have bunk bed for the kids. It's a great idea yet it looks more like an after thought.
In our room it has a king size bed and the petitioned "kid's room" where the bunk bed is. The petition makes the room cramp because the petition wall is about 2 feet to the King bed. If we knew the layout was like this, we'd prefer 2 king beds.
We expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OctaneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear OctaneGal:
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt that the kid's room was not what you expected as it is the just the size of a regular room with a wall partition to separate thequeen size bed and the bunk bed. I apologize if you were told it is a kid's suite and not a kid's room. With regards to the price, as indicative of the hospitality industry, rates vary depending on season and availability;therefore, rates can be very competitive or deemed high in comparison to other properties. We always do our very best to achieve the best possible rates for our guests. I truly appreciate your feedback and I hope you give us another opportunity as I would love to welcome you back. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#139 of 278 in San Diego
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing