We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Average for an older hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #124 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average for an older hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in the older 2 level building, the rooms have been re-decorated and I was very pleased with the little patio outside overlooking the pool. Staff were all great and very helpfull. The only 2 issues I had was the bath tile around the tub was very moldy, they had used slate uneven tile around the tub and the cauking was terrible. The other issue was the cafe, the server I had for breakfast was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Malcom,

Thanks so much for your nice review and for staying with us! We do think our poolside/putting green patios are great and glad you enjoyed it. I will share your positive feedback about our front desk to the Guest Services Director. I have emailed you privately to address the issues with the caulking, so hopefully we can get that resolved right away.

Thank you,

Charleene Poissot, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    259
    121
    48
    39
See reviews for
213
134
26
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OC, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Room smelled very stale when we arrived. Furniture and decor is way outdated. Kids were in the parking lot after 11 pm with their skateboards making a lot of noise while people trying to sleep. No hotel security in sight to stop them. Called the front desk as I forgot to checkout online and they could care less and felt staff is lacking in genuine customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Here2daygone2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear past hotel guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than pleasant. Please contact me at cpoissot@holinnbayside.com, so I can obtain additional details regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed there for my anniversary, view was great toward the water although you also have a view of the roof tops below. Room had plenty of space and bathroom was super spacious. Hotel staff was courteous and very efficient (valet, bellman, check in & out)

Room Tip: high floor, renovated bathrooms, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 568WIllieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Bayside June 16-19 for a long needed vacation with the hubby. The location was great!!! Many restaurants nearby, and the hotel has an onsite restaurant and bar, both of which were excellent!! We stayed in the two room suite, and it was spacious and very clean. Hotel has a great sized pool, hot tub and a pool table and a mini golf course. Plenty to do when not sight seeing!! Only issue was that there was no parking spaces open the second night of our stay, since we didn't get back until after 7pm. We were told by the front desk that we could park in the pay parking lot next door to the hotel, and we would be reimbursed. Considering most hotels charge for parking and the Bayside has free parking, it wasn't so bad ($6) and we were reimbursed. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. We hope you'll be back again soon to enjoy our great city!

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for our first night in San Diego over Memorial Day. It was a quick drive from the airport. We didn't stay at the hotel long, as we got into town late, and moved up north early the next morning.

A few comments:
- Awesome location! right on the bay.
- Super friendly front desk staff
- room was clean, fairly large, comfortable, quiet - we both slept well
- walking distance from some restaurants; most of the places on the bay were closed by 10pm.

there was a pool and a mini-golf course, but we didn't have a chance to check them out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have not long returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We were a little concerned about what we might find due to the number of negative comments, we were very happy and couldn't understand the negative comments. We had previously spent 7 nights in Anaheim staying in a place that was supposed to be higher class but found this hotel much better. We had an oversized room which worked well for our family of four, spacious and clean would have been good to have balcony but we didn't stay in room much anyway too busy seeing the sights. Complimentary shuttle to and from airport and train station was a bonus and very handy for us, we found all the staff very friendly and helpful in particular the guys who drive the shuttles and gave us great info. on how to get around to our attractions good location for us for seaworld etc. We had a few meals in their restaurant and found them to be of good quality and huge portions staff very attentive, bonus that the kids ate free when we dined and even better to get vouchers for discount at breakfast which we enjoyed every morning. Outdoor pool area was good although could be a little bigger and kids 4 and 11 enjoyed playing mini golf, while we watched with a nice beer from the poolside bar very handy, the bar staff are fantastic and service was great. Overall enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KIWIEM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear past hotel guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments! We loved reading your review, because we really felt it highlighted the features and services we are most proud of. We hope you'll stay with us again when in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot / Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed on business for 1 + 2 nights; room was large and functional but a bit tired; food in hotel was ok; lots of places nearby to eat out on fresh seafood; staff were pleasant; all in I may stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherBusinessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear AnotherBusinessGuy,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#135 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.8 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing