We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #117 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a special rate available from a travel service to which I subscribe. We found the hotel clean, spacious, and the people working the front desk helpful. We stayed in room 218 overlooking the pool area. It had a pleasant balcony where we sat in the early morning before breakfast. It was a good location and would be great for business or family travel. I didn't ask, but I didn't see any elevators near by, but I'm sure there would be some way to get to the 2nd floor by elevator if needed (?).

I liked that you had a voucher for a continental breakfast (note: not a buffet) which you could use as credit toward something else on the restaurant breakfast menu if you preferred. We also found having parking available at no charge a real bonus.

For the type of hotel, I thought everything was spot on and would stay there again. The only reason we didn't spend our whole San Diego stay there is b/c we had a conference later in the week at another location.

Room Tip: 218 was on a corner and overlooked the pool. It was on the back side of the property (not near the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 790 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent the memorial day weekend here. Had a 1-bedroom suite, very spacious rooms, two bathrooms, absolutely clean, everything working, everything appearing relatively new. Despite the hotel being completely booked, it was pretty quiet. Check in and out was a breeze and staff friendly and helpful. Location is great. When fully booked, parking is tight, however. Only problem I observed: the towel rack at the pool was empty by about 9pm and was not refilled, even though people complained. The pool is nice, but it and especially the hot tub are a bit small for such a big hotel. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool will have to bear the noise from the pool including the bar. Rooms at the West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Not Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

the hotel was clean and comfortable. great laundry and business room. Spa was a bit iffy. sometimes VERY hot...other times not hot enough. Staff was friendly. restaurant was a bit pricey for breakfast but only a short walk to Dennys and fast food breakfasts. Easy walk to bus to get to old town. Other than a VERY noisy air conditioner, a good stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bisbeesedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I say "interesting" because this hotel is a bit out of the ordinary. I was expecting a sort-of standard Holiday Inn but was greated instead with what felt like a 1980's resort-style property sans resort amenities. I stayed at the Holiday Inn Bayside on business earlier this year and the hotel was selected due to its proximity to our event site. Upon arrival, I found there was plenty of parking which was a short walk to the main part of the hotel. The staffer that checked us in was perfectly efficient and our rooms were clean and functional. I was given a city view room which offered a nice view of the San Diego skyline. Unfortunately, it also featured the noise of the train which is just across the street and down about a block so I didn't sleep well the first evening there. My colleague who was on the bay side didn't have any difficulty.

The room did not contain any frills and the bathroom door set-up is a bit different (a sliding door and a closet inside the bathroom). As mentioned above, it was clean and updated, though, so no real difficulty there. My bed was comfortable and the little balcony was nice for some fresh air in the mornings. There are two on-site restaurants, both of which I ate at, that are quite good. One is a standard Ruth's Chris no different from any other Ruth's Chris and the other is an Elephant and Castle which proved to be a good example of the chain and rather faithful to English pub grub (well, as faithful as one is going to get in the US, anyway). We also tried a seafood place across the way that honestly looked questionable from the outside (another huge, outdated 1980's concept) but wound up having good seafood and excellent service. We were quite surprised!

Overall, there is little to complain about with respect to the Holiday Inn Bayside. It's within walking distance of most attactions (we easily strolled to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp district, the cruise terminal, the USS Midway and the shopping village during our stay) and the airport is only about fifteen minutes away. There is also convenient access to the five to reach the rest of California. Is this a modern, impressive hotel? No. It's also in an area that seems to be trying to redevelop itself (or at least retain it's current footing in the tourism world). There are probably nicer areas of downtown to stay in. This hotel doesn't quite shake it's 1980's-esque faded quality but it's a clean place to stay with a responsive staff and reasonable prices. I would consider it if I was returning to San Diego on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank domer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Domer2007,

I read your review and realized that you have posted it to the wrong hotel. We are located at 4875 N. Harbor Drive, not 1355 N. Harbor Drive. We do not have a Ruth's Chris or Elephant & Castle Restaurant and we are also not across the street from the USS Midway. I would like to ask you to consider removing your review from our page, so that it does not confuse readers about the location of our hotel.

Thank you,

Charleene Poissot / Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was excellent in and out. The amenities were great! Wi fi, laundry and business room.I had my wedding there and the staff was wonderful.It's across the harbor and there is a great view of the water. All of my guest were pleased with the hotel. They are adding more rooms for more availability. The pool area was nice but it was too cold to use it. They have a cute golf course available for the guests.

Room Tip: Pool view doesn't necessarily mean pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very warm, comfortable stay. Staff very courteous helpful and warm. Starting from check in to check out everything was quick. Nice family getaway. Superb location and easy accessibility to local attractions. Just 5 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes to the zoo & sea world. Nice bay view. Clean and decent rooms

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Front desk there to help you choose the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhavinNMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear past guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-star review! We are glad to read that you had such a good stay in San Diego and really enjoyed our staff and our hotel. We hope you'll stay with us again if you travel back to San Diego from India!

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Was in San Diego for a US Marines Event April 29-May 3rd, and The Marines put us up in this hotel. It was clean, located across the street from The Bay, had a very good bar and restaurant attached and had excellent features. We were on the fourth floor and had no noise issues, did not hear anyone next door or above or below us. The Pool and work out room were very nice and the staff,(other than the first night we checked in when the young lady at the front desk basically said there were no convenience/grocery stores of any type within 50 miles), were friendly and helpful. There is a gift shop with most of what you need including beer/soda/water/snacks and some gifts, but if you want to walk ten minutes to the west you will find convenience/grocery stores and chain restaurants (which i did not eat at-mc'd's denny's arby's etc...) The hotel is building a new property next door which will add alot of new rooms/convention center it's suppose to open in august, but the facilities they have are more than adequate. Food in the restaurant was good and fair priced, opened for breakfast to lunch than closed a few hours until dinner. I would recommend and return again

Room Tip: Rooms on east side have a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#45 of 278 in San Diego
1,422 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $100 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing