We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #115 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights and it was very comfortable! Everyone was prompt and very courteous. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect so many things to do in a 10 mile radius. The tavern across the street was very good. If we are ever to travel to San Diego this would be the place stay. Thanks for the great time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmiller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 782 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first ever visit to san diego, this hotel was in the heart of the San Diego. Our room was nice and clean, great service by the front desk staff. We look foward to going to san diego pretty soon this coming year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Holiday Inn Bayside is very conveniently located to the airport. I arrived a little early to check in, and the fellow at the desk suggested some fun and/or delicious things to do nearby, which I did. He was right, he sent me to the Ocean Beach area, which is exactly the kind of weirdo California farmer's market vintage clothing vinyl LP bike shop tattoo parlor area I wanted to visit while in town.

The accommodations are quite nice, and the staff are very helpful. I was surprised to find that no microwave was present, but there was a fridge. When I went to the front desk to ask about a microwave, they offered (at no charge) to lend me a microwave for the duration of my stay, and even brought it to my room for me. It didn't work, but I didn't really need it more than once and they were certainly quick to offer me a replacement.

Great scenery around the hotel, though I didn't use the pool it looked nice. The TV was a good one and the wifi reception was just what I'd expect. I would have liked to see a microwave in the room rather than having to hunt one down. Hotels that charge half this much seem to be able to provide them. Even so, one was available, and that was the only gripe I had with my stay here. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzkarasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for your very nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed our location close to Ocean Beach and the friendliness and assistance of our staff. I do want to let you know that we have 57 new rooms coming on board this summer and they will all have microwaves. I hope you are able to return to San Diego for a longer visit and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located across the street from the harbor and close to the airport. There is a restaurant on-site that is open til 8pm that serves decent food. Rooms were up to date with large flat screen TV. Found everything to be clean and comfortable. Beds are firm with nice bedding. Loved the fact that our room had a small fridge and coffee maker. They are in the process of adding additional rooms so there is some contruction going on but it doesn't really effect anything since the new construction is on the far corner of the property. Next time I'm in the area I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DADuv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad you had a good experience at the Holiday Inn Bayside and found our location and amenities to be a plus! Please come back and stay with us again whenever in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place... I took my girlfriend down to San Diego and this was the hotel we chose, Holiday Inn is a great brand and it was in a good area, so why not? Wrong. First, there were no single beds available and the whole top floor was under constriction, which certainly is not anybody's fault, its just an inconvenience, so we asked to be moved away from it and the girl graciously moved us to the other building which is where things got out of hand. I laid down on the bed and my girlfriend points out that there was a short curly black hair on the pillow next to my head... gross right? but I'm a patient man so I just moved to the other bed, but as I get in I see yet another hair... not okay... so I go downstairs and request different sheets and so while we were out they were changed only for us to come back and find ANOTHER HAIR in the bed! Unbelievable! But it was 1:30 in the morning and neither of us were in the mood to leave so we asked to get a different room... and surprise surprise! Another hair.... now, once, I can understand. Twice is pushing it... but four times?!?! You people are lucky that I want this to be shown, otherwise there would be a stream of profanities being typed right now...I'm that livid. WHen I demanded a refund the very rude night girl told me that I was getting charged for the night because it was so late. So I have spent the last three days trying to get my money back, and only getting brushed asside. I have been to countless hotels throughout my life and I have NEVER seen one THIS bad... not even shady middle of nowhere motels are this bad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than pleasant. Your complaints have been reviewed and addressed by all necessary departments. I'm sorry you were unable to get a single King bed during your stay, but unfortunately, the room rate category that you booked does not guarantee bed type. I hope that your next stay with any IHG property is a pleasant one.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is a very good one if you are flying in and taking a cruise he next day. It is convenient, clean, good shuttle service, an easy morning walk to Shelter Island, and all around a pleasant experience.
The restaurant is open late for dinner and the food beats airport food by a long shot. I would choose this hotel again if I fly to San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkellyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I'm glad you found our location and services so convenient for your needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you back again at the Holiday Inn Bayside.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights.
hotel is clean and comfortable
we used the hot tub was wonderful after a long day of sightseeing.
we chose a room on the 5th floor,clean and updated.
we ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant,we had a coupon for discount ,the meal was very good.staff kind and helpful.
we took the trolley tour right outside the hotel,and the hotel shuttle to the pier and air port.,we didn't have a car so we walked a lot.there is a holiday in next to cruise port and pier would have suited us better.

Room Tip: we chose a 4th or 5th floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside! I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our bay view room and our amenities. Our expansion will be complete by June of 2013, so I hope you will consider coming back and staying in one of our brand new guest rooms.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#146 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing