We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #27 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
“We loved it!”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We are locals and this is the third time we stay overnight because of their wonderful events. This time we came back for their Halloween event. It was great and our sons had an awesome time! From the decorations, to the trick-or-treating, to the not-so-scary hunted house and many activities they had for the children, this is the best place for our children to celebrate this fun holiday. The rooms are so comfortable and elegant, and the staff goes out of their way to make sure the entire family enjoys the stay: our two sons slept in a tent (they placed in our room) with sleeping bags, cookies and milk :) Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaGuillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    388
    155
    88
    67
See reviews for
414
548
58
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our family just stayed here over the weekend for their Halloween event. The kids had so much fun at the event that featured carnival games, face painting & more. The room was beautiful & our back door opened to a grassy area & fountain. The staff was very friendly & the food was great. We are definitely planning on staying here again in the future!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

A massage in a private casita is a must. Then lounge by the pool in a cabana and have appetizers and a glass of wine. Dinner at Veranda on the patio at sunset is wonderful. the staff is very welcoming. My family and I always enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I couldn't have asked for a better time to celebrate my husband's birthday. We enjoyed the spa, gourmet restaurant and wonderful service at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. The staff went the extra mile to ensure our stay was exceptional. I am disabled and while the grounds are beautiful with rolling hills and wonderful plantings, the staff made it possible for me to get around with ease and comfort at my beck and call. Totally refreshed and ready to meet life's new challenges, we will return, hopefully often. Thank you so much for the best time

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonamiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Fantastic! We had our conference here.....between meetings it was relaxing and beautiful. Rooms and staff are great!! Have to try the spa!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsobiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. The service from check in to check out was stellar. The employees really seem to like what they are doing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The food was excellent. We ate on the Verandah and the wait staff was very attentive. The golf course is beautiful and extremely well groomed. If you are looking for a romantic getaway or a golfing weekend - this is the right spot for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank believerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Rancho Bernardo experience was less than average at best. Rooms were tired looking and were in desperate need of an update especially in the bathroom / shower fixtures. The walls must be very thin as we could hear every conversation from the room next to us. There is a $15.00 resort fee that I did not agree with. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

The golf course was not up to my expectations for a $75 greens fee. 3 greens were closed which was disapointment

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler123Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Good afternoon, I wish to apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We offer a quality resort and we are of the Preferred Resorts family. I would like to discuss your experience and restore your faith in us. Please e-mail me directly at jgates@jcresorts.com.

John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing