We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casually Elegant, Cozy and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2007

My family (all 13 of us) stayed a weekend at Rancho Bernardo for our folks 50th wedding anniversary. We had heard that they recently remodelled and were looking very forward to our stay. Upon arrival we realized the folks forgot their clothes, that was a hoot, but we remedied it by shopping at the nearby mall, which was an added plus to the location of this resort.
The staff seemed friendly at all times, even when requesting feather pillows and extra shampoo's for our rooms. The most impressive aspect of the weekend was the fabulous Dining on the premises. The 2 Restaurants were equally wonderful. The staff at the Restaurants were exceptional. Service was flawless.The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful. The package deals are really the way to go, as they offer 2 meals a day at either Restaurant for 2. You save quite a bit by purchasing your room this way.
The rooms are nice, complete with 2 sink bathrooms, a small refrigerator, a safe, a large flat screen TV with cable, and plenty of extra space to lounge. You can request a lake view as well, but all views are lovely from the balconies.
Overall, a great place to spend some quality time with loved ones at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WiseOldOwlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Bernardo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,872 - 1,878 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

My husband and I just stayed at Rancho Bernardo Inn for a 4 days week-end for our 2 years anniversary, and we had a wonderful time. Everyone was very nice and the service was good. The room was very nicely renovated and spacious, with a nice terrace. We also used the Spa and we received great service and it was very relaxing Spa. I would highly recommend having dinner and brunch on Sunday at El Bizcocho, the food was absolutely delicious, some of the best food I have had and great service.
The only 2 issues we had were that we were on the 3 floor and there is no elevator and I am 6 months pregnant so after a long day it was a little hard, and the service and food at La Veranda (at least for breakfast) was very poor and slow and the food was not very good.
But, otherwise I would definetly recommend the hotel for a nice and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I booked an upgraded room with garden view on the internet, but I didn't get the kind of garden view I expected. So I phoned the front desk & complained. They upgraded our room to a larger room with the golf course view without any extra cost. They even asked a bell boy to take us and bring all our luggages to the new room. Accidently, we left our itinery at the old room after we checked into the new room. We phoned the front desk again & they said they would check. Within few minutes, the bell boy brought back our itinery.

We stayed there for one night. After we checked out & already left the city, we found out that we left our GPS charger at the hotel. I must admit that we are very careless about packing. We phoned & spoked to the security manger who said he would check & call us; and he did & he also told us that the charger was found!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 3weddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at the RBI with our two small children and had a wonderful experience. The family pool was great fun with other guests and their children.

The rooms were outstanding. The 42" plasma was a hit for our 3 year old to watch cartoons. Rooms were tastefully decorated and recently renovated.

The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived. Room service was great and they called about an hour after our meal arrived to ensure everything was to our liking. I also called to request something from housekeeping. They brought it almost instantly and then the front desk called about 30 minutes later to make sure everything had arrived.

All in all it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tkhossfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Rancho Bernardo Inn is a nice distance from San Diego, enough to feel relaxed and secluded, yet too remote if you want to go into town for little more than a day trip to the zoo, ie zipping out for dinner is quite a drive. The best thing about the location is the proximity to the Wild Animal Park. If that is a main highlight in your travel agenda, definitely stay here. The property itself is well decorated and comforting, quiet, safe,fountains and wells everywhere, and though it is nice that there are two separate pools (one for kids and one adult pool) the adult pool was in a courtyard surrounded by rooms, and lots of foot traffic. The jacuzzi next to the adult pool was great, could fit about 18 people in there if you wanted to. There was a nice gleaming mediterranean pool in sight, yet it was part of the spa, and was being set up for an event while we were there, so we couldn't enjoy it. The grounds are dotted with cheesy motel lodge style jacuzzis hidden behind fenced in mini courtyards with a single bistro table with chair and covered in dirt and floating leaves. Not so fancy, eh?

Note that this is a golf resort, and for golfers, it must be amazing, the course looked really nice. My boyfriend and I are not golfers, but never mind staying at golf-emphasis resorts, however we were looking forward to playing tennis, but guess what? The courts are under construction, and most of them have been torn down. As far as the rooms go, when they give you the option to stay on the first or second floor, always choose the second. First floor you get a sliding door and patio which EVERYONE can walk by and gawk at you, where as second floor has a balcony, and more privacy.

The room had a slightly musty odor, but a super comfy bed and nice soft pillows. Ipod dock made getting ready feel more at home. The bathroom was OK, tub and shower were really nice, two sinks and plenty of space for toiletries, they supplied Aveda products which was also a nice touch, but the one pet peeve was that the bathroom didn't have a fan, which meant it would get very steamy after a hot shower, but worse, no circulation for "odor."

We ate lunch out on the terrace facing the course, this was possibly my favorite part, late afternoon watching all of the golfers coming back from their games, we enjoyed bloody marys, a mediocre salmon and an amazing, perfectly cooked risotto (with a mysterious mushroom mousse surrounding it.)

We later in the evening enjoyed cocktails at the upstairs upscale restaurant, while we were considering dinner there. Food here is supposed to be amazing, but the environment felt a little too stuffy for our taste so we went out of the resort exploring (wish we hadn't, in retrospect dinner at the resort would have likely been much better.)

All in all I would say this is a great place for golfers, or those who want something very quiet and safe with good food and nice cocktails. This is the perfect place to come back and unwind from a day out looking at animals, and for lovebirds there is one item on the room service menu I would recommend: bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaMajestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Rancho Bernardo Inn as part of our honeymoon. Right from the off, we were well impressed.

We were allocated a large comfortable room overlooking the golf course. Room furnishings were excellent and everything seemed to work fine - including the 42" plasma screen TV. Rooms were well sound proofed, so we got a great nights sleep every night.

Staff were always helpful and friendly, especially Karen the Concierge, who gave us lots of advice and tips on things to do locally.

There are a number of swimming pools on the property, including one exclusively for adults, which helps if you are trying to just chill out.

Food was excellent, although dinner for 2 in the restaurant costs about $160+tip, with breakfast for 2 approx. $60+tip, so the tab can build up during your stay.

The only negatve for us was a couple of sneaky charges added to our bill at checkout, particularly one for $15/day for replenishing coffee making supplies in your room (we didn't even use these!).

All in all, a grat place to go for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cork_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

What a great place!!! At first I was hesitant to stay so far from downtown San Diego but this place is well worth the extra time in the car. We arrived to a beautiful room overlooking the fountain. The room was large and the bathroom spectacular. Double sinks, tub to two, and a standup shower with terrific water pressure.

We encountered a problem with the 42" plasma screen tv and within seconds the on-site engineer was there to help. When he couldn't fix the problem, we were given another room with exactly the same beautiful accomodations. A few moments later there was a knock on the door with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from the manager welcoming us and offering any further assistance if needed. Nicely done!!!

Make sure you eat outside on the veranda at sunset. It's beautiful and the golf course is lovely to look at.

Well done all around....

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $250 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing