We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business retreat was sweet!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Business retreat was sweet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

Just back from a business getaway to the Rancho Bernardo Inn.

This is a great spot to hold a business meeting and retreat.

The place was renovated 2 years ago, yet some of the room details could have been paid closer attention to. The caulking around the shower for instance, was sloppy and some of the tile work crooked. Holes patched were obvious as well.

The rooms are quite comfortable and well appointed. Although the walls are very thin and you may easily hear the snorer next door.

Aside from those minor annoyances, the hotel shines.

The lobby has comfortable seating areas and gives a hacienda feel.

The staff is warm, helpful, and friendly.

The food, while adequate in the restaurant, was quite tasty during our meetings as well as at the nightly parties.

The bar is cozy, albeit a bit dated.

The spa is highly rated and was praised by all.

Golf was also well enjoyed by my collegues.

Meeting space is great for a group of our size (300) and is in a seperate building, away from the main rooms. This made me feel as though, once the meeting was over, I was really able to get away from it all.

All-in-all, I'd recommend Rancho Bernardo for it's comfortable surroundings as a business/golfing/spa retreat.

  • Liked — Business facilities and spa
  • Disliked — thin walls in rooms
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    368
    151
    84
    64
See reviews for
389
527
55
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

For full disclosure purposes, I use to work at the front desk there so I can still get employee rates from people I still know there.

I have stayed at the RBI several times over the years, the most recent being at the end of December. There are many things that are good about RBI and a couple that are not.

Good:

- The grounds at the Inn are beautiful from the moment you drive onto the property until you get to your room and then from your room to the restaurant or the 1st tee or the spa or the bar (you get the idea).

- The rooms are very very nice, depending on where your room is located. The best rooms at the hotel are 600 Building (upstairs), 700 building (upstairs), 500 building (upstairs facing the golf course), then 600 downstairs and 700 downstairs. If you cannot get into one of those room assignments the quality of the rooms drop off considerably in terms of size and location.

- I love the room service at the Inn. Very quick and very very good. Breakfast is the best and I recommend the eggs benedict.

- Personally, I think the staff goes out of its way to be friendly and accomodating to guests. I know this because I remember how much that they would get on you if you were not. It's highly encouraged to be friendly to guests.

Not As Good:

- Any of the rooms that were not mentioned above. For the standard price of the room it is not worth it.

- The cost of the drinks in the bar. For the cost of the drinks you would think that you were downtown at the W or the Solamar. The bar is a great setting with lots of seats and TV's and a pool table but the cost of the cocktails is high.

  • Liked — Room, Room Service, Free Wi Fi, Service
  • Disliked — Cost of Drinks
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

From the moment you step into the lobby you feel the history of this old California resort. We had a great stay at this resort, and will return on our next visit to the San Diego area. Rooms were above average, with renovations done to everything but the bathrooms. The bathrooms were the only thing I would change at this resort as they don't fit the rest of the resort, and need to be updated. The staff was very helpful, and the on-site facilities were great. The grounds were very tranquil, and the spa was nice. The golf course was average but considering it was five minutes from your room to the first tee I couldn't complain. The location though north of downtown was very easy to get to and only about a 25 minute drive to San Diego. It was actually nice to be in a quieter area. This is a good resort for families or couples as they have a couple pools, and it is very relaxing.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naport44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

Let me start by saying I am the type of person who values free meals, good lodging and practical things like wi-fi above looks. Having said that, this is a pretty nice place. We stayed a night for our anniversary and it has the looks of a classic Inn-type establishment. Their pool and jacuzzi's are open until 11 which is great and the room was pretty nice as well.

They charge a fee for wi-fi, local calls, any and all food (no vending machines at all) and just about anything else you can think of. Beware that they try to include this "resort fee" on your bill automatically, I asked for it to be taken off. HDTV in the room, but no point since they only have limited channels and I don't think any of it actually was HD. They of course have a golf course and spa on site (kind of the point for most people) and I am sure the ladies love this type of place. Bottom line: for a romantic getaway where you can enjoy a few rounds while the wife gets a rubdown this place is for you. For any other travelers, go with a more practical choice.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — The fees
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jnorlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

The Rancho Bernardo is a very nice, Old California style property. It is huge, spread out over several acres on a hillside. The feel of the property is really impressive, with gardens, fountains, pools, nice smells, etc.. It ranks up with some of the prettiest properties in California, with a gorgeous golf course attached.

Small pet peeve. They must need a team of full time landscapers, but they should do a better job raking up dead leaves, which are really littered all over the place.

Per an earlier review, it is true that the pretty pool in the pictured on the hotel website is only for paying spa clients. Don't worry though, there are several other nice pool areas (some with jacuzzi's) including the one adjacent to the room where we stayed. (154)

The rooms are nice, and partially updated. I say partially because the furniture in the room, including the bed and TV are top notch. They also have two separate vanities, both with electric outlets, which is very nice. Oddly, the bathroom area seems very out of place with the rest of the room and the property as a whole. There is an "old money" country club feel about the place, but the money must of ran out in the bathroom. The limestone vanity, mirror and light fixtures are nice, but the floor and shower are the old, small, ceramic tiles that must be original with the property and are showing a lot of wear. (60's era perhaps) The shower and tub itself are just horrible. They do the have the customary curved shower rod, but the water controls and drain are really old and falling apart.

On a more positive note, our room faced one of their pools and had a private patio and access to the pool. This was really nice, especially if you bring children.

I would not pay the normal $240 asking price for this place, but for the $70 I paid on Priceline, I really feel like I got a steal.

Do be prepared to pay $12 for parking and a $15-20 resort fee daily when staying here. ($15 when reserved through Priceline, but normally $20) The resort fee does include unlimited wired or wireless internet and use of the well equipped exercise room.

The resort is really off the beaten track. Only stay here if you have reason to be in this part of town or plan on getting in a few rounds. It is at least 30 miles away from downtown San Diego or the beach.

Hint..There is a large shopping area, including a grocery store and a bunch of all types of restaurants a couple of miles away that you must drive by on the way here off I-15. You'll save a bunch of money if you skip their stores and restaurants and drive over there.

Outside of some issues in the bathroom, I really loved this place and would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — scenery and landscaping
  • Disliked — bathroom in room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiser39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We just came back from our stay at Rancho Bernardo Inn this weekend (10/08). I must preface that I hate staying in hotels (but one cannot travel and avoid hotels); and I'm somewhat of a germophob (OK, a lot). I am extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness and customer service. Here is the scoop!

We got a great rate of $150 per night through Hotels.com.
We arrived late, so it was not easy to navigate the place in the dark.
The room was decent, but nonetheless I brought my Lysol (wiped all the door knobs, the remote control and toilet). For those who stayed there in 2006 and talked about "tired rooms" and construction, it's all done now.

It has a rustic/Spanish (not Mexican) feel to it, perhaps you can imagine being in Europe or in the country somewhere. It's nice overall, but keep in mind that it's not a new place (although they've updated their rooms).

Here are few complaints:
The beds were HARD.
The pillows were strangly filled. Mine was hard as a rock and it felt full of knots. Another pillow was "deflated".
The comforters were not stuffed well either (some won't keep you warm).
The fan in the bathroom was very loud and rattled (old perhaps)
The air conditioning was the same as the fan.
The sales lady in the golf shop was snooty.

If you are not as picky as I, and the above mentioned won't bother you, than you should try this place.
Make sure you get a reduced rate though.

The grounds are beautiful and the waiter we had was very helpful. Can't say the same for the hostess (probably her young age had something to do with it).

My husband kept complimenting me on finding this place, so he liked it. He is even planning on bringing his sales team there for some R&R.

Overall, it was better than I expected and considering the fact that these days it is rare to find a hotel that lives up to its rating, I would give them a B-/C+. Trust me, I've been to Ritz Carlton and St Regis, etc, that got even worse ratings from me.

FYI - the location is in a residential area
Make sure you ask and confirm what's included and what's not.
In San Diego most hotels charge for parking (be aware of this).
Never be afraid/intimidated to find out how much something costs before you agree to pay.

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Topenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

I'm a San Diego local who had to stay here while my house was being fumigated. My family (my wife and I and 2 year old son) were so pleased with the experience from check in to check out words cannot describe. The Rooms were pristine and the beds are out of this world comfortable. When staying there we didn't think we were 5 miles from our house, it felt like a vacation in a foreign country. The restaurant is top notch and all the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. If you want comfort and class on your next trip this is the place to be.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing