We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit out of the action but great otherwise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A bit out of the action but great otherwise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

A beautifully landscaped place with a real upscale rancho feel and a wonderful service. Good food and a well kept pool. Rooms were great and spacious, especially for the European, even thought the place is a while our of SD and the airport. Recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HooyooMooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    368
    151
    84
    64
See reviews for
390
528
55
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

While usually not a fan of food in California (I think it is too bland) the food at the Rancho Bernardo Inn was very good. Sadly did not have time to enjoy the pools or the golf course but they looked very inviting. The hotel is nestled (or shoehorned) in to a neighbourhood in Rancho Bernardo and does not look too inviting on the drive up there but it is a bit of an Oasis and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We Stayed at the RB Inn for two evenings. Our room was large, with a sitting area, balcony overlooking the golf course and had a bathroom with separate shower and tub. The grounds were beautiful and both pools were enjoyable. We truly were able to relax and recharge the batteries here. The only negative was that our room was never cleaned despite hanging the "service room" tag on the door AND personally asking for service at the front desk. Another minor problem was at "The Bar", a sports bar where there is never happy hour yet upstairs in Avant, you can find $3 craft beers and reasonably priced apps on a mission themed veranda daily from 4-6:30. A sports bar with no happy hour? Come on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddesro1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen C, Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the great comments on your guest room and the resort ambiance. I do apologize that housekeeping did not clean up your room. Since we have two bars on property and Avant being the newer of the two, we offer happy hour in AVANT and we offer our "Daily Delights" special food and beverage menu downstairs. Both bars have multiple TVs for sporting events.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a hidden gem. You'd never guess how nice it is from a drive by. It's a bit rustic but in a very classy way. The service was top notch. The restaurants were all so good and the golf course was pristine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Exceptional service from the time we pulled up to the serene property to packing our bags into our van and everything in between. All the staff members were professional & friendly. Food at all the restaurants were exceptional. Rooms were fabulous. My children 13 & 9 had a great time. They had all kinds of things for kids to do. There were family friendly meals at all the restaurants.
I recommend Avant Restaurant. Their farm to table menu is exceptional and knowledgeable staff were friendly and professional.
My husband and I wanted a resort that is relaxing, serene, and luxurious. This resort has everything we ever wanted and more. My husband is booking his team retreat at this resort in November at this moment. I recommend this resort and is looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank engzrbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at RB inn for quit some times now and I'm amazed every single time with the stuning views and relaxed atmosphere. Exept the last visit, due to a black widdow on my terras I enjoyed every single time I stay there. Only comments I have is the WiFi connection in " green " accomodations is not appropriate to work with. My cellphone, laptop and iPad didn't pick up any signal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackie, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I spent 4 nights here last week for a technical conference. The staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were nice however this location is not close to San Diego or the beach. I was told that a cab ride to the hotel from the airport cost $80 by one of the other conference delegates.

Do not take a low sports car here... I have no idea how you would get it into the parking lots or down the service road with causing serious damage. The roots have heaved the asphalt badly and the approach to the rear parking lot is WAY too steep.

The resort has what appears to be a spanish nautical theme circa 1492. The rooms are in several buildings. I stayed in Valencia, when I opened the door to the building I was overcome with a musty odor. The carpets down the hallway are worn and stained. Room service plates littered the hallway for over 12 hours.

The room I had was clean but worn. The tiled shower was clean. The place had early 80s decor.

The WIFI connection was awful. It had intermittent connectivity and was difficult to conduct business.

The food from the onsite catering department was acceptable but not exceptional.

This place needs a complete overhaul. The buildings need to be completely face lifted. For a worn out resort, $199 / night + parking was too much to pay. I would not stay there again if given the choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottfromBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen C, Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Scott, we appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and nice grounds. The charm of our resort is a Mission Style theme with lush landscaping and adjoining golf course. All of our guest rooms have had new carpeting installed in the last year, and upgraded bed linens. Most all rooms have completely renovated and tiled bathrooms with the balance to be completed by year's end. I certainly understand your concerns about the carpet in the Valencia and want you to know we are in progress of replacing all interior building hallway carpets. We are also adding more WiFi access points to our property so this will alleviate our connectivity issues. Our front and largest parking lot has the most level parking, so we hope that you will return and give our resort another visit in the near future to see our improvements.

Best Regards,
Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing