We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfecly suits your San Diego visit for business/pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Perfecly suits your San Diego visit for business/pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our company had a corporate event looking down the beautiful golf couse.
As I was impressed by this atmosphere, I took my family (incl two kids) to this hotel and we had a great time!

(Minor upsets, if any)
1) Not in the vicinity of downtown
2) Not close to ocean (if that is what San Diego reminded you of!)

(Major Likes)
1) the view of golfcouse and the beautiful garden were breath-taking. Could have been way better if I played golf!
2) We had the dinner and breakfast delivered to the room and the service was quick and nice. Our breakfast time facing the garden was just refreshing.

Overall, I would strongly recommend Rancho Bernardo to anyone looking to spend a quality time with family.

Room Tip: 1st floor facing the garden is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    367
    151
    84
    64
See reviews for
389
526
55
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed a week at Rancho Bernardo, and enjoyed the experience very much! We had two adjoining rooms for five of us, and we were quite comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the grounds were immaculate! We used the spa and golf course, both exceeded our expectations. Beautiful place, easy access to main roads.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RBF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lovely special setting to feel secure, appreciated and comfortable with wonderful amenities, good food, relaxing atmosphere and luxurious room comforts. Staff is welcoming and helpful. The bed was outrageously comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not look out over the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRKauafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed once again at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. They have made many upgrades to the dinning & bar offerings. The old restaurant "Bizcoho" has been totally revamped & upgraded and look great. The property is as it has always been classy, comfortable, and laid back. Very easy to kick off your shoes jump in a jacuzzi and "gel" for a while. Very Relaxing. Nice spa on property as well as great golf if you are into that. I am not so I did not use this feature although saw it from the hotel & restaurants and looked as if everyone was enjoying themselves. Highly recommend this resort & 100% will go again.

Room Tip: I like the ones by the pools & spas as that is what I enjoy. Adult Pool is more quite, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOENIXFISHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Rancho Bernardo Inn is a wonderful retreat to do with your guy friends, girlfriends or partner. The location is a hidden gem nestled in the middle of a neighborhood, with this wonderful property popping out of nowhere. It is a self contained retreat with wonderful restaurants, golf, spa, etc. The rooms are great as well! The staff make you feel like part of the family and will take care of you in any way possible. I would suggest this to anyone looking to get away!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the minute we drove up to the property, we were greeted by an incredibly friendly staff, who catered to our every need. Being that it was Christmas time (we stayed Dec 23-26), the hotel was lavishly decorated with lights, festive trees, there were Christmas Carolers, an enormous gingerbread house, warm fires in the fireplaces and fire pits outside and fun activities for the kids. Our room was on the second floor with a balcony. Beautiful and clean! When I happened to mention that my husband's birthday was the 23rd, they congratulated him and later dropped off a complimentary bottle of red wine, a platter of cheese, crackers and grapes with a personalized note! Now that is what I call outstanding customer service. Any time we needed anything, they were there. The hotel had a Starbuck's on property, which made it so easy to grab a coffee, snack, etc...we also enjoyed the bar and it's restaurant which thankfully was open on Christmas night. Delicious butternut squash soup and seared tuna caesar salad! Since we were out most of the day, we did not take advantage of their spa, golf course and other amenities, but they looked amazing. The best part is that I booked this hotel online on Black Friday for $89/night! It included the parking and complimentary drinks upon arrival. We were truly knocked out by the hotel and especially it's staff. They worked as a team, were always helpful and friendly. They even found a laundromat for me to wash my clothes in the nearby area. I would more than highly recommend this hotel to friends, strangers, anyone! It definitely made our Christmas more special, as they made us feel special for staying there! Thanks a million for a great stay!

Room Tip: From what I saw, there was not an elevator from floor 1 to 2, so if you are handicap or have trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namastegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

we have stayed at the inn for the past 3 years for december days and nights and we love being there to celebrate the holidays. the decorations are amazing, the cookie decorating fun, carolers are wonderful, we LOVE the whole experience of dec days and nights. BRAVO RB Inn for a great xmas celebration. the hotel needs some updating however. the room that they put us in (after asking for a toddler friendly room) was on the second floor with no elevator. my senior mother and my son struggled with the stairs. it was also a little far from the festivities so a bit of a walk or had to call a golf cart which was not great. the room service was horrendous. the food was so gross. it was like it had been frozen and it was not cheap. it was $60 for 2 pizzas which we could not eat they were so gross. there was also a hard time communicating with room service--they had to call back several times to go over order and it took almost an hour to get the food. totally unacceptable. there were also a lot of little errors with the bill when i was checking out---i was overcharged about $80 when i went over my bill so be sure to check it. i feel mixed about RB INN--i would probably stay again because dec days and nights is so magical but would not order room service again and would keep my expectations low and be more specific about the room we need.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with a toddler or senior ask for a room that is NOT on the second floor with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelli10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResortsMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kelli,
Thank you for taking the time to review Rancho Bernardo Inn. I'm glad to hear your family enjoyed December Days & Nights, but disappointed to hear about your room placement and room service. The experience you described is not acceptable, and I will be sharing your feedback with the staff involved. We appreciate your patronage and will make sure this experience does not repeat itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing