We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive and Gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family happened upon your inn online, as we were attending my grandson's Surf Soccer Tournament in the area, and thought we would take a chance. What a remarkable four days of beautiful memories, thanks to the gorgeous surroundings, and consistently gracious staff, delicious meals...to the extent we cannot wait to return. You all went above and beyond to make us feel highly valued and deeply appreciated as guests. It was amazing to watch the 2 day transformation of entire grounds into Holiday magic!!! Deepest gratitude to you all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gammey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Bernardo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

My recent stay at Rancho Bernardo was as pleasant and pleasing as my first stay 25 years ago. Rancho Bernardo has undergone more than a facelift for its next 50 years. The Golf Course remains very well groomed and challenging. The restaurant's food items are new and innovative and are excellent. The staff have been very well trained in the art of customer service including remembering your name. The location now surrounded by suburbia is still quiet and peaceful, with many fine dining establishments within a stone's throw. If you have been before go again. You will delight in seeing how an older property remains competitive.

Zack the young host in the grill and bar is a person well versed in making your breakfast and lunch on the terrace most enjoyable. He will be a star one day.

Even though it was a business trip it was so very relaxing to stay at Rancho Bernardo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The grounds are lovely and staff helpful and friendly. The Concierge even located a local pub that was a hangout for the San Diego branch of our college ex-students association, where we could watch a televised football game. The patio of our comfortable room opened directly onto the grass of the golf course. Our room was private and quiet with a great view. I recommend rooms in the Greens (700's) for the best golf course views. Other buildings have great courtyards. Some are adults-only, others welcome families. The property has three pools and three hot tubs. There are three restaurants; the casual Veranda with excellent outdoor patio dining and the innovative Avant upstairs. There is a third café we never tried. Outdoor fireplaces are everywhere and the Veranda also has many outdoor propane heaters making it comfortable to enjoy a drink and live music any evening of the year. There is plenty of trouble-free parking and the location is a reasonable driving distance from beautiful Del Mar beaches, great La Jolla shopping and Torrey Pines hiking. The resort has a nice conference facility and are very accommodating for parties, weddings and special events.

Room Tip: The Greens building has the best golf course views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarpleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

From the moment I parked the car everything was amazing. I enjoyed the hot tub and dry sauna in the Ladies' locker room and then headed out to my massage. After a very relaxing massage it was on to lunch poolside - gourmet grilled cheese and potato soup since it was a little on the chilly side outside. Then I checked into my hotel room - excellent customer service at the front desk. My room was amazing. It overlooked the spa grounds and included a large bathtub and shower including Aveda products. The room is extremely large and offers other amenties such as a lounging area and a patio with chairs and table. I even received a surprise of room service for my birthday. That night I had a glass of wine and dessert at the bar and again the service was excellent. Not enough good things to say about Rancho Bernardo Inn. I will return there for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the spa grounds or golf course.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the experience at the resort. The room I had was very nice as it overlooked the golf course -- nice individual sitting area outside of each room. I think the room must have been newly renovated and I noticed an area on another floor closed off with workmen/tools outside. Very comfortable and spacious. The facility is actually several buildings, but I understand from some of the other conference members that their rooms were just as nice.

The conference area was nicer than most, however, they seriously need to fix their temperature controls - we froze no matter how many times we asked for a warmer temperature. I had the opportunity to golf -- rented clubs,etc which I thought was reasonably priced. The golf course was nice and in OK condition - the course could stand a bit of work.

Finally, one of the highlights of the trip was the dinner setting -- we did not have conference dinners but rather groups of us ate at their outside facility. The food was good but it was really nice to eat outside on cool nights with fireplaces and gas heaters more than offsetting the nippy air. Great service topped it off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building that overlooks the golf course.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyGolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Didn't know how delightful and pleasant this visit was until after the second night. Our room was overlooking a fine golf course and was very spacious with nice amenities, bathrobes, whirlpool, & special mirrors. The fitness center was larger than most and spa treatment area top notch. Inside the Inn was a fine restaurant, outdoor eatery, and an inside café. The grounds were professionally maintained with the location offering valet or self parking. An excellent choice to stay that was suggested by a relative.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course were exceptional
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgemza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were meant to stay elsewhere when a family member suggested we stay here. What a sweet treat after driving across county for two weeks. Husband played golf while wife enjoyed the Grounds and Spa. Our room was upgraded w/out asking and we had a balcony room overlooking the course. Food was lovely; service impeccable. We spent a refreshing two nights here and will return as well as brag about the place. The only negative was that the mani/pedi treatments - were underwhelming for the price. Wife had been to many spas where these treatments (for the $$$$ price) were much more involved. It is suggested that they look into giving more for the value.

Room Tip: There are many room and suite options. THE GREENS unit overlooks the gorgeous course.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $250 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing