We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa day with overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
“spa day with overnight stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place. We checked in for spa appts at 11;30, not expecting to get our room until after but, it was ready and we got an upgrade! Lovely people everywhere that we went. Kind and attentive, very sincere and helpful. It seemed that they were happy working here. The whole resort was spotlessly clean. The spa was very nice and my massage was great. We ate at the Veranda and enjoyed it very much. Again, nice staff, good food and a great relaxing atmosphere. Our room was lovely and had everything we could have wanted including a Kerig coffee maker and fridge. I would recommend this for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    375
    152
    87
    65
See reviews for
399
532
57
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed here on an overnight business trip to Rancho Bernardo. This is a difficult hotel for me to review because it is not a cookie cutter, "looks like every other hotel in the chain" type of place. It is a very unique property, full of charm and quirks.

First, it is located in the middle of a residential neighborhood, complete with 25 mph speed limits. I was anxious to get to the hotel, check in, and relax after a long flight and lots of traffic, but I quickly realized I had to slow down before I even arrived and slowly and carefully navigate neighborhood side streets before arriving at the property.

When you do arrive, you will be stunned because it really is a remarkable property. There are several buildings with a wide range of accommodation types. It is very easy to make a wrong turn in the grounds and find yourself in an unfamiliar building. As it was, I had a room facing the family pool. ( It was a quiet week, so there was no noise from the pool.)

Check in was quick and my trip to my room was brief. The room was comfortable and stylish. The exterior entrance is normally a red flag for me, but this was very charming. There's not much to say about the room, so be sure to check out my photos.

The restaurant was expensive with slow service for dinner, but was delightful for breakfast. We also enjoyed the cafe off to the side of reception.

Overall, I would certainly stay here with my family, and off season, it is great for business trips. I'm not sure I would tolerate it if I was there for business and everyone else was having a pool party until the wee hours. Call ahead and see how busy things are before booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a great experience with our conference at RBI. Everything went smoothlyand accurately from the start of the sales process to the event management to the receipt of the final bill. It's a beautiful facility and the service and food were top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a conference and the property is nicely maintained. The meeting facilities were very nice and the staff did a great job of making sure that things went smoothly.
In general it was a great place but very expensive for what you get. The rooms were large but very dated and in much need of updating. Other things were kept in good condition including the pool which we used regularly.
The one big disappointment was the cost of drinks in the bar. They charged us almost $50.00 for two glasses of wine and two mixed drinks. Normally we would be at the bar each night of the conference but after the sticker shock we did not go back. For the money I think you can find a better place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smclain4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Impromptu getaway for wife's birthday. Reservationist at hotel was helpful in describing room options, spa facilities, dining, etc., and was super accommodating when placing the reservation. Staff on arrival was welcoming and helpful. The common areas are fantastic classic California Spanish and even the newer upgrades of the restaurant and spa are first rate. The one slight drag was the room. While clean and large (and possibly recently redone) it could use the touch of a first rate designer (shameless plug - hire my wife!). Grounds while beautiful had a few rough patches that are in need of a bit of landscaping. Oh and the hotel is an event destination so expect to see a few weddings and hear celebrating going on into the late night hours - but that's life so get over it.

But these are minor nits. The pluses far outweigh the minuses and their real strength, like all top rate organizations, their people (at least the folks we came in contact with). Reservationist asked if we were coming in for a special occasion and I mentioned it was my wife's birthday. At check in they confirmed this and we thought nothing of it. Around 5pm an unexpected knock at the door and low and behold a bottle of bubbly and some strawberries. Well played RBI! Took the edge off the room issues. Then dinner. Book early if coming on a Saturday night as the Avant is hopping. We had 8;15 reservations but ended up dining earlier at the bar, ordered small plates and had the best time and better food - outstanding. Staff was just fantastic, gracious and accommodating.

So I never bother to write reviews but was so touched by the little things and extra effort - especially the bar staff at Avant - management has done a good job in setting the tone and expectations. Kudos!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcwacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful resort. Great size room, big tub. I had the room with balcony, with fountain view. Very quiet and private. There are several pools, and hot tubs throughout the property. Between the bldg near my room, there was a small hot tub and I could enjoy all by myself. It was great. I also received the complementaly drinks. I walked around the resort and the view was specutacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kudoku_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I accompanied my husband to a conference he had to attend at Rancho Bernardo. It was a lovely reminder of how resorts may have appeared long ago. While the amenities were very modern, the decor and the peaceful quality was truly amazing. The staff were wonderful and gracious. The grounds were simply stunning. Trees lined the walkways, and beautiful fountains adorned several areas. Great golf, nice pool and well suited for the conference my husband attended. We will definitely be back for some R&R next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmartin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing