We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place to stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The service was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the food was delicious. A particular shout out to Megan in the restaurant, Kevin the pool bartender who provided very attentive amazing service and the car valets who literally run to get your car each and every time. We will be back, thanks for providing us with a dream vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    333
    136
    77
    57
See reviews for
357
477
50
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Worked a conference at this inn, and it was beautiful. Really feels like first class service. I can only imagine how beautiful it would be to have a wedding here. Definitely a lot of walking up and down stairs and hills to get to some of the spots, but its a good exercise! the pools are beautiful and food was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akayj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Practically every aspect of our stay was perfect and I thought it was a good value as well. The balconies are a nice size and the food was very good. The only negatives I can this of is that the pool could use a little more clean-up during the day and the pillow were not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Note that there aren't any elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolkoshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Let me begin by stating that the reason my wife and I stayed at the Rancho Bernardo Inn was because we were invited to a wedding and all guests and family members stayed here by default. The Rancho Bernardo Inn caters to wealthy, older golfers (not so good for children). In other words, if you are not wealthy, older and/or a golfer, you may not be a perfect fit.

Rancho Bernardo Inn is a very lovely complex. There are numerous buildings that serve a variety of purposes. It does take a bit of getting used to to navigate the grounds. There is literally an army of workers who seem to be Spanish speaking (I presume Mexicans due to the Inn's proximity to Mexico) who do all the heavy lifting. They clean, scrub, repair and manicure the grounds. They are bright and cheerful and seem to appreciate being acknowledged with a friendly hello.

Our room (704 in the Greens) was on the ground floor. It was quite large and well-appointed. In fact, I might apply the phrase "luxurious". It was done in good taste with muted elegance. We faced the golf course but the golfers formed part of the ambiental noise, not at all unpleasant. The patio was the perfect place to sip a morning cup of coffee (Keurig one cups are provided) and contemplate nature. There are numerous eucalyptus trees that host swarms of flitting nightingales.

Getting back to wealthy golfers, if you do not play golf and are not wealthy, there are a couple of hints coming your way. The coffee shop or cafe is much less expensive than the buffet. They serve up scale Egg McMuffin and Starbucks coffee at reasonable prices. For lunch, they have various salads such as Cobb and Chicken salad. The food is fresh and good. The ubiquitous tip cup is everywhere, even at the rehearsal dinner bar paid for by the family which I consider to be in bad taste. They say that they charge for wireless Internet access but in fact never do.

Coming from the east coast we "shuttled" (SuperShuttle was very good at $27 pp one way from the SD airport) to RBI but did not have a car. The place is not in easy walking distance to anything but if you don't mind a but of a hike, you can walk down a mile to the main drag, hang a left and walk to a small shopping center with a Starbucks, Albertson's and restaurant. The neighborhood is quite nice and if you're from the east, you will find how the locals accommodate the scarcity of rain with lawn and garden techniques.

I could go on and on but to what end. This review is more for people who know nothing about the Inn and don't golf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We came for a wedding; we're coming back for more. Not for the golf, although we heard it was quite good. Not for the tennis, as they've turned the courts into a spa. Not for the 4:00 pm check in and 11:00 am check out. Not for the $200 incidentals fee that they automatically tack on to your room, although they refund it on check out. We will come back for the ambience, the food, the adults-only pool, the handicap accessible room where our son was so comfortable, the relaxed time-has-stopped feeling in the cozy nooks where one can curl up and read a book, or sit quietly alone or with friends to...just be. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The property itself was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Here is the lowdown:
+ Great location and amenities. Restaurant has great food! If you're a runner, there are nearby trails! Room is nicely decorated and clean. There was a refrigerator, and there was complimentary water on our arrival - very convenient. Staff is wonderful!

- The rooms where we stayed are beginning to show their age. Slight "old hotel" smell from carpets perhaps? Bathroom had old fixtures and tub, and the faucet was a little leaky.

Overall the +s outweight the -s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntnlTravelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel room was gorgeous - the bed even had special, soft accent lighting under it... The food was great. The drinks were tasty. The staff is unbeatable and all seem to be ecstatic to work there. The coffee shop has yummy breakfast and sweet items. There are small seating areas all around the resort to escape and enjoy. I attended a conference here and would go back on vacation... just missed being away from the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#47 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,367 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing