We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Outstanding Staff Interaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Staff Interaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort in connection with a conference, where I had an exceptional experience with one of the staff members.

I was at the “adult” pool with the intention of enjoying some quiet time reading and swimming while my husband attended his conference sessions. A group of adult guests had gathered at the pool who were very boisterous, and doing “cannonballs” into the pool, which could serve to disturb some of the guests. Someone must have called Security, because soon thereafter the Head of Security and one of his associates appeared at the pool to talk with these guests.

He handled things very diplomatically, calling the guests over to the side of the pool so that he could talk with them quietly, and not embarrass them in front of the other guests. It was clear that he was telling them to keep things down, but he did it in a very courteous manner. As he walked by me, I thanked him. He asked me if I was by myself at the pool, and I said “yes.” Then he asked if I might be more comfortable enjoying the less crowded atmosphere at the spa pool; because if so, he would get me in at no charge. He asked for my room number, and said he would make sure they had my name at the spa reception.

I was so very impressed with his style in quietly handling this problem, and making sure that the other guests like myself were accommodated in a first-class fashion. I took advantage of his kind offer, and spent the rest of a very quiet afternoon at the lovely spa pool, thanking my lucky stars for being at a resort that truly has their guests’ best interests and comfort in mind.

I would add that the lady at Spa Reception greeted me by name, and made sure I had everything I needed for a relaxing afternoon. She was delightful.

I must commend you for the training your resort does with your staff, and the outstanding customer service that results. It is the thoughtfulness in this entire interaction that certainly makes one want to return to your resort again and again.

Room Tip: This resort is dog friendly, yet the rooms never make you feel like you are treated like second clas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    368
    151
    84
    64
See reviews for
390
528
55
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I recently attended a three day conference here at RBI. Grounds, food, staff and golf course all exceeded my expectations. My wife and I even tried the Spa one day and found the Salt Water pool the best place to escape from all of the conference stress and people. We cant wait to attend this conference next year!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less vibration and noise. And the Greens building is next to the golf course and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Recently stayed here to attend a wedding. It's a great location for such festivities.
Beautiful grounds. Nicely kept 50 year old buildings.
For the price, ( $179 plus) the room size and in - room amenities were a little disappointring. The walls between rooms could benefit from some soundproofing. And it was a bit of a surprise to have to pay $16 a day for self-parking.
But overall, a nice place to stay for a day or so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BroMattAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Highly impressive resort. Breath taking grounds. Professional staff.
I would recommend this resort for events, a couples weekend, a place for rejuvenate your mind, or a place to spend quality time with a love one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 183anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
313 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My second visit to Rancho Bernardo Inn and again was pleased with it. The room was in a quiet wing ( Valencia) and the staff was very helpful. The adult pool was very busy the first day ( weeding and reunion parties) but nice the second and third. There was a secluded hot tub we found , so we used it more. The new restaurant is great as well as the Verandah. We played golf late one day and it was great and we got in 18 in under 3:30.We used the valet parking and they were attentive . All in all I was pleased and will plan to return.

Room Tip: ask for room location dependent on what you want. Quiet,Busy, Near the kids Pool etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had about 60 people ages 18 mo. to 80, come for a reunion from all over the country and we were all extremely impressed with the location, services, staff (very very friendly and helpful), food, golf, rooms, etc., especially for the room rate we got. It was a perfect fit for us all, with many places to gather in large or small groups. We loved the fact that there was an adult pool and a kids pool, and the golfers were all very pleased with the course and its staff. I am picky, and would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlnjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and the staff and hotel are excellent! Wi-fi was included and late check out was accommodated. The breakfast is great. My favorite part is the veranda, which faces their golf course. There is a wonderful fireplace and it is relaxing in the evenings. The food at the restaurant on site is really good too. I had the pizza and a apple blue cheese salad. Both were very tasty! the rooms are big and provided a comfortable sleeping environment. The trek from the lobby to the rooms though can feel a bit creepy at night as the buildings are not attached and the paths are poorly lit. But overall it is an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby or veranda area so you don't have to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing