We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had business meetings at the Rancho Bernardo Inn for 3 days and found the overall experience outstanding. The ambience that felt like old California, coupled with wonderful and friendly service made the stay memorable. Rooms were nice sized, although I did move to a second floor location to enjoy more privacy. The only drawback was the construction that was going on at the restaurant and entry, however it was only a minor inconvenience. Overall, I would host business meetings here again or come back for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    350
    142
    81
    61
See reviews for
372
504
50
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I brought a group of 30 people to Rancho Bernardo Inn for a corporate relaxation/golf weekend. It was a HUGE success! From the event planning to the check-out, and everything in between, the weekend went off without a hitch.
I HIGHLY recommend Rancho Bernardo Inn for a small or large gathering. The dinner event we held on Saturday featured the Italian Buffet, and quite simply, it knocked every guests' socks off. It was outstanding! And the luncheon buffet on Sunday was just as good.
Our event planner, Heather Reitt, tournament coordinator, Matt Lofgren, and reservations manager, Diana Turner, were a pleasure to deal with. Each of them were personable, knoweldgeable, helpful and professional. I have nothing but good things to say about them, and the entire experience.
Additionaly, the golf course was in top shape, the guest rooms clean, nicely appointed and on the very roomy, the grounds impeccable, the food amazing, and the service outstanding We could not have asked for more.
Another item noted, there were many events being held that night besides our own group. What was most impressive is that while there were numerous private functions going on at the same time, as a guest of an event, you would never know it. There was never a problem in manuevering around the resort, bumping into other groups, or sharing space. The Inn handles simulataneous events flawlessy, and you were made to feel like you were the only event taking place.
The weekend was such a success, and each of the employees so happy, that we are bringing the group back next year for a repeat performance!
A HUGE thumbs up for Rancho Bernardo Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went as a part of a company golf/team building weekend. The Inn is terrific for groups: great golf, food, meeting facilities, staff, and amenities. Even though there were are least 4 other rather groups/events at the Inn at the same time, the layout allowed us to do everything without feeling like we were tripping over anyone. Staff used well placed signs to keep everyone moving in the right directions. Our event coordinator reported that dealing with the Inn staff was a breeze. Prices were no bargain, but fair in this market. Rooms were well appointed, comfy, and quiet. I think the Inn is dog-friendly (as I saw a number of pooches). Overall, an excellent experience for our group. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My employer, Kaiser Permanente, provides us with top-notch venues for our educational conferences. The "Thrive" concept certainly applies to this resort, with numerous areas to relax and sit, a family and adult pool, a spa, and a very nice conference center. I would be inspired to learn golf, to be able to enjoy it here. One added benefit for me, was that the conference area was a 15 minute walk from my room, so I was able to exercise easily during the course of the day. The room was spacious and comfortable, the restaurant food was quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Rancho Bernardo Inn is in tip top shape thanks to new renovations. The rooms are lovely with private balconies or patios and each building is only two-stories high, which give an intimate feeling. The buildings are dispersed around the property and getting lost is unavoidable and half the fun! The outdoor spaces are just gorgeous with firepits, cozy sitting areas, and lovely gardens. We were at the resort with a group and all of our meals were provided by the resort. Every meal was delicious ... perfectly prepared and served. The banquet rooms were well appointed and each of the ones that we used had private gardens for cocktail hour. Our room was very clean and private. The bathrooms have everything required but aren't luxurious but we don't find this to be very important. We played the golf course which was a lot of fun! We also went to the spa for massages and really enjoyed it. The women's locker area was a little cramped but the massage area was lovely. A great all-round trip and experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRO487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came here for a weekend with my girlfriend. It was very relaxing and the restaurant was awesome. We had a king room and the bed was very comfortable. Although I did not golf, I wish I would have because the course looked epic. I guess Ill have to come back and try it again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 4/12-14 on a golf trip with a big group. Everything went smoothly, from checkin to check out. Nice rustic feel. Quiet. Played golf, hung out in the bar, ate at the restaurant. Had a nice group reception in one of the quads. Food was nice... split a rib eye and scallops with a friend. The grilled cheese was excellent in the bar, as well as the quesadilla. The golf course was really fun and challenging, and the service was top notch. Hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing