We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #30 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Great and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came here for a weekend with my girlfriend. It was very relaxing and the restaurant was awesome. We had a king room and the bed was very comfortable. Although I did not golf, I wish I would have because the course looked epic. I guess Ill have to come back and try it again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    341
    138
    79
    58
See reviews for
361
490
50
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 4/12-14 on a golf trip with a big group. Everything went smoothly, from checkin to check out. Nice rustic feel. Quiet. Played golf, hung out in the bar, ate at the restaurant. Had a nice group reception in one of the quads. Food was nice... split a rib eye and scallops with a friend. The grilled cheese was excellent in the bar, as well as the quesadilla. The golf course was really fun and challenging, and the service was top notch. Hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I were able to stay here for 2 nights as part of a business retreat she was attending (I got to tag along!). We found this to be an awesome and truly enjoyable place. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The trees, plants, flowers and fountains which decorate the courtyards, grounds and terraces were incredibly well kept and beautiful. We also enjoyed a spa day and massage which we loved. We would recommend this place to anyone and cannot wait until we can go there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a wonderful palace in the hills of San Diego. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were very livable for my week long stay. The housekeeping staff did a very good job keeping up with my always-changing, on-site meeting schedule as to not disturb either an early morning....and the next late morning, and even a day of sleeping in. Great people, and the florists there even put together a special request for me for our meeting. I thought I might be disappointed by being next to the "family pool", but I was impressed by the privacy of the room. FABULOUS!! VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SrGrandeViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

There is a beautiful way to tour the grounds if you take the time. With fountains sprinkled throughout the ground you can read about these fountains and enjoy the sound of the falling water amidst the lush grounds. It is all very tranquil, restful and in harmony with the INN.
The room was well done. Our room was actually better than a room we had at Pebble Beach on our last trip. As far as customer service is concerned we were treated properly on every occasion. We are not high maintenance folks nor do we think the world should revolve around us because we are paying for a room. The rest of the property was well done and the golf course was fun to play. The stay was a great two days and worth a look by you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I chose to stay at RB Inn as I was going to be staying over a weekend for business. It was a great choice. Staff were so pleasant. I was staying in the Fountains building where the rooms were huge :-). However, it is around the back of the resort but at least you can park your car there. Not a building for anyone who has problems taking the stairs as there is no lift to the top floor, but not an issue for me. The food was great and plentiful. The servers, Seth and Christopher, come to mind as being extremely helpful. The Veranda Restaurant was fantastic with views over the golf course. I would definitely try to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulties in using stairs, ask not to be put in the Fountains Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent hotel for a getaway. Did the golf stay and play. Veranda Cafe is outstanding. Brian Shank has an outstanding staff. The food is great! Ask for Leslie as your server in the evening. But you will not be disappointed with any of the staff at this restaurant. Course is a good test of golf although the rough is a little high for a resort course. Outside staff at the course are excellent and very helpful. Starters are great!

Room Tip: We chose the Valencia Suite for an upgrade and was well worth the cost from a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#47 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#50 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing