We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
February rates from $179
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Midands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quite nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Conference time and a superb venue from accomadation to food. Great staff very helpful and the humming birds are amazing. I hope to return on the not too distant future steals like you have never seen them and wine to complement

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took a late summer break with our twin 8 year old children, and had a very pleasant stay. This is an old school hotel, very laid back, with excellent service at all levels. Our kids enjoyed the tents in our room (though they barely fit!), and we could have used an extra 100 sq. feet with this set up. The value overall was good, but I wouldn't call it great. The food was just okay, and overpriced for breakfast. The kids plan worked well, and was a descent value. This is a wedding crashers dream hotel, as we probably saw 4 wedding parties in the 5 days we were there. The golf course was barely played, and easy to get on. The greens were in good shape, and course was challenging. The immediate surrounding area did not interest us, so we spent our time either at the pool, golf course, or drove to the coast. Avoid Lego Land unless you are so into Lego's that you must see the city scape creations. This makes any Disney park a huge value in comparison.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

beautifully decorated for christmas---love the fireplaces burning, garlands with lights, the 17 trees.
the whole property was charming and there were lots of little private spaces and gardens to sit on a bench or cuddle :) The landscaping is beautifully manicured.
The rooms were good, maybe a little upgrading would be nice in the bathrooms but the whole property and the spa make up for them!
Spa treatments were great--the massage in the outdoor garden cabana room for no extra charge was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The rooms closest to the spa are older and a little noisier due to all the people going to parties and events. There are reception hall is right next to the spa. The staff is the nicest and friendliest in all of San Diego. The place is super romantic for you and your significant other. The place goes all out for Christmas. Their spa is the cleanest and prettiest in all of San Diego. You won't be sorry you chose this place.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the spa are older and a little noisier due to all the people going to parties a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a lovely, distinct atmosphere! I loved the rustic Spanish style. The grounds are just lovely, fresh limes growing on many trees, I even found a little navel orange tree.

It was cool, (Nov. 27 - Dec 1), so we didn't use the pools, but they were wonderfully maintained and very inviting. There are many fountains throughout the property, so as you're walking you hear the relaxing sounds of water at every turn. The landscape lighting is just wonderful. Lanterns hanging from all the large mature trees are just so pretty.

We were there for my husband's work conference, so there were no children that we saw. Apparently they have a huge Christmas draw as they were decorating with fresh green everywhere.
I'm not a golfer, but many were golfing and the range looked very nice.

The spa looked fabulous, but a litte too pricey for me.
The fitness center was pretty nice with a variety of machines and well laid out space. Very clean

The room was very nice. Everything has been updated, and extemely comfortable.

For the two of us travelling, it was just lovely.
I highly reccomend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really liked staying at the RB Inn. It was a very nice surprise. It was very comfortable and even kid friendly for being a hotel catering more for adults/golfers. All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and always offering any help if needed. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't want too much outside noise, do not stay in a room by the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Pretty nice hotel. Especially good for golfers because of the adjacent golf course. But I am not a golfer and had a good time too. Nice rooms, well-appointed. Nice public areas, with the Spanish hacienda themes throughout. Rooms are clean and quiet too. Hotel is big, though, and was overrun with kids and people in general when I was there. Similar with the parking - because of the crowds you have to park far away (not terrible, though). Location is not the best if you are targeting the coast or downtown San Diego, it is simply far away from these. Service pretty good and ditto for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pools, these can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,673 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#