We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #32 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We only stayed for two nights but had a great time in Rancho Bernardo Inn.
Highly recommended. Rooms are clean, staff is nice, restaurant is extremely good.
!! It is a bit far from San Diego but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    325
    136
    77
    56
See reviews for
346
472
50
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Another couple along with myself and my husband spent last weekend at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. We arrived to find a personal invitation from the manager to attend the Friday evening cocktail reception. We had delicious hors d'oeuvres along with premium wines and spirits by the pool.

We spoke with several of the friendly staff who were catering to our need. This lovely inn is set amoung beautiful trees, lush landscape and a championship golf course. We got a terrific deal on the room rates through Skyauction.com. We were lucky as we found out that the hotel was totally sold out. All in all, it is a fabulous, warm, historic California hotel with 2011 amenities.

Room Tip: Look on Skyauction.com or Luxury Link. com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pataelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I came and stayed here for business meetings (not held onsite). The property seems charming enough, some might consider the 50's/60's California Ranch style "dated" but I consider it classic, but truthfully we didn't have time to explore beyond our room, main lobby, and veranda (restaurant & bar space), and we didn't play golf, use the spa or enjoy any of the property's amenities, including what appears to be a nice kid's program.

So why are we disappointed? By the weak service of waitstaff and lack of service by front desk/security/valet staff handling (or lack thereof) of our complaints over two nights. Our first night was marred by a car alarm that went off ALL NIGHT LONG, a beep-beep-beep that cycled on for a couple minutes, off for maybe 10-30 minutes, then on again. First call to front desk was they'd send security. My second call was answered by someone who had just come on and didn't know anything about it but would send security. I slept through the alarms until the one that woke me at 5:30 am but my wife had not slept. So I walked to the front desk and the gal there said she didn't know anything about it but then jumped on the radio to someone saying "what do you know about that black Honda Civic in Valet with the alarm that's been going off?" Nice.

Second night, and unbelievably, another car alarm was going off into the night, this one being one of those with six different alarm sounds. Thank God it ended sometime after midnight, maybe that's when the offender who had self-parked his pickup truck in the valet lot and left, returned. First call, they'll send security. Second call was met with hostility, "there's nothing we can do, valet doesn't have a key, we've looked in the bar and asked everyone if it's their truck. Sorry, let's just hope the owner comes back." Third was an in-person visit to the front desk who says I'm the only one complaining about it. He radios the valet who says sorry, he didn't find keys or the owner and he's off in 5 minutes so he can't help" but they'll send security, give them a little more time, and they'll call me and tell me what they're going to do. No call...

...no apologies, no offer to move us to another room, or comp us, or offer SOMETHING.

We (including coworkers) had cocktails on the veranda 3 times and 3 times waitstaff was inattentive, one time disappearing with my wife's credit card and had to be located after we waited 30 minutes.for her return.

We stayed at a corporate-discounted room rate. I guess that's why we ended up in the "Terraces", the rooms that are outward-facing, towards the parking lots, on the perimeter of the resort (and why we were not offered a relocation?). Nice rooms, well-appointed, with attractive casework for dresser, desk and 42" plasma with digital LodgeNet, and another nice piece which set the king bed at a 45-degree angle, and with integrated night lighting. If the rest of the resort has this level of appointment then you'll be fine. But rooms 801-831, with their single-pane windows, should be avoided, due to poor proximity to parking areas.

Room Tip: Don't accept "Terraces" rooms (rooms 801-831)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vita_bene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Spa at the Rancho Bernardo Inn is a wonderful place to visit. The have a salt water pool, a beautiful garden, a jacuzzi and much more. While waiting for our treatments we sat at the pool and enjoyed a gourmet lunch and adult beverages, which was served to us under the Cabanas. Heidi who did our treatments was absolutely the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PITAup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

the stay was ok, the staff was very friendly but we came across extra charges that we did not expect. the 20.00 resort fee did not include parking, and since we opted for valet, it was even more. we were supposed to get a golf "experience" with the extra add-on charge, but it was never discussed with us, and we never got details on how to redeem it.

we had a living social voucher, which we had to prompt the front desk staff to give us all that we paid for, (kind of a pain). e.g. picnic basket, resort fee waived, etc.

dinner was overpriced for cold food (we did the outdoor bbq buffet) and most of it was dried out and overcooked.

brunch was very misleading, i was quoted a different price over the phone when we pre-booked reservations. it ended up being double what i was quoted. owch. 100 dollars for breakfast..

upon coming home i realized i had forgotten an article of clothing in my room. i called... 3 times? each time leaving a message for someone to call me back. on the 3rd day i got through to the department and they were able to assist me. which was great, i appreciated that. (squeaky wheel gets the grease).

and now, a few days after i get home I noticed 2 different charges from the hotel on my credit card, both over 100.00 that i have been trying to rectify with their almost useless operators, and the subsequent voicemail i keep getting from their billing department. this is the 3rd day i have been trying to reach S. Petersen, but she never seems to be at her desk, or she doesn't feel the need to return voicemail messages.

what was supposed to be a nice staycation has turned into one headache after another. very disappointing and i'm upset that they even have my credit card information at this point, who knows what they're charging.. :/

Room Tip: get a secluded area, the walls are paper thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchickie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Good afternoon - I have read your review and and apologize that your stay was an unpleasant one and you feel we lack the proper follow through and communication for your lost item and your room bill. It appears that we dropped the ball in providing the excellent customer service we are known for. Please contact me at 858-605-2663 or at my e-mail address Mcarew@jcresorts.com, so that I can discuss your stay with you.

Thank you.
Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I didn't see the Rancho Bernardo inn before I reserved my stay. And did I ever get a pleasant surprise. My wife and I literally felt like royalty our entire stay. There is no reason for you to leave during your entire stay. To be honest I'm not sure you will want to.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cshiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

VERY GOOD STAFF , HAD GROUP FUNCTION, FOOD seemed to be .one notch down each night. but it still was not bad .the place is solid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,288 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing