We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love it!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Love it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent everything was good we arrived at 1 am and they helped us get to our rooms and were very kind. The pool was great, even though nobody was there the life guard was still ready
The room were open space and even had bunk beds for kids too the kids loved it. The room had beautiful balcony with a beautiful view of the beach

Helpful?
Thank Gqadir
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    38
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
99
42
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed in many Navy Lodges and at this location several times before. We never would have rated any of the lodges above average. This one was definitely better managed and all employees were friendly, efficient ,and helpful. They had a small welcome party the first day with several employees there talking to guests and we met several guests and talked to the manager.
We had a comfortable clean room with a firm bed with a small refrigerator and microwave. There was a courtyard and San Diego Bay view. It was in the new tower and really an upgrade from the other rooms we stayed in. There was a breakfast included each morning with coffee, bagels,juices,fruit,cereal, and one hot item-oat meal or make your own waffles. It was often jammed with families and but you could take food and coffee outside or to your room. The breakfast was well monitored and replenished before items ran out.To us a place can only be rated as average at the highest no matter how great the facility unless the people there make it better. This Navy Lodge had the spirit and pride of Westins we have stayed at which cost many times over. Considering the price we give them an A+

Room Tip: Request what you want when you get to the check in desk. Be friendly and you will get the best they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgeidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,707 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 814 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was at the Navy Lodge on North Island last week as part of a business (Navy) trip to Coronada. What a wonderful place! To me, it felt like a real vacation resort, complete with all the ammenties. The rooms were nice a spacious, and the hotel itself was made for relaxing. They have a HUGE lobby which can be used as a meeting place, if necessary. The interior grounds are beautifully planted and maintained, and they have a great pool with other "plusses" for those traveling with a family (and young kids).

The hotel is located on the North Island Naval Air Base, and is in really scenic part of the island. You can stroll along the waterfront, or take a walk to the gorgeous golf course that cuts throught the area. It is all very green and lush.

Because this is a Navy Lodge, the prices are relatively low, and an exellent bargain for the accommodations. I will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just spent 5 nights here and it was awesome! We had a family suite that overlooked the ocean. Our room was spacious and included a full kitchen (no stove but a two burner cooktop), huge bathroom, separate bedroom with queen bed and bunk beds. We also had a balcony with the most gorgeous view of the ocean.
We arrived in the evening and had no wait for check in. If you want to take advantage of the free breakfast, get there early. Lines get long. We prepared breakfast in our room since we had the full kitchen and it worked out great.
The beach was incredible and was never crowded.
We were also walking distance to the Sea N Air golf course, which we played 3 times while we were there.
The pool wasn't open (not sure why) but we still had lots of fun on the beach.
Excellent facility and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Family suites are great for families. More room and full kitchen, dining area and living area. If an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleCooke_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We LOVED this facility! Our room overlooked the ocean on the 3rd floor and it was really beautiful. Would absolutely stay again. The negatives were check in - took an hour, there was absolutely no order/organization to the process. The pool was closed (it was March Spring Break). While I doubt I would have gone in, my daughter certainly would have (she was in the ocean the whole time we were there). We booked on the website and it would appear all the rooms had kitchenettes (full sized refrigerator, utensils, microwave). Ours had a small frig and micro but that was it so, just an FYI, clarify what type of room you are getting. We made it work but I was glad I didn't bring a lot of food! We didn't have their breakfast, however when passing through saw that the rest of the hotel did participate - quite a long line. We brought our own beach chairs etc, though it would be great if that were a service they had for those that fly in. We BBQed one night, and other than the seagull stealing 2 of our hot dogs, it was just gorgeous! A great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just spent 4 nights here, and it was wonderful. This facility is clean, spacious, and cheap! For $94 a night, we had a large room with 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, and free Internet. The bathroom was huge, with a separate toilet/shower room. Yes, the complimentary breakfast is crowded and it could be better organized. But hey, it's free. My only complaint is not about the lodge. Rather it is about the retirees who come to the lodge with non-military adult children grandchildren, friends and cousins twice removed etc. etc. This lodge is first, and foremost, for active duty personnel and their families. I hope the lodge has a way of ensuring that active duty personnel and their families have the highest priority for reservations. BTW - I am a military retiree. Under no circumstances would I dream of reserving a room at this lodge, or at any military facility, for a non-military family member or friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebann1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you get a chance to visit San Diego, this is the place to stay. Right on the beach and great reates. Hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Plus, you have direct access right to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commuterstevespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Property: Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing